cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down arrow date read date added
 
Borderline
3.62
v. v. nice tautly paced....makes-you-think-about-the-world-we-live-in thriller. recommend highly...esp for teen boys...and a truly positive portrayal ...more
Dec 11, 2009
Nov 13, 2009
 
The Princess in Black
3.98
Similar in level and quality to dicamillo's mercy Watson books.
Feb 23, 2015
Feb 23, 2015
 
Widows Wear Stilettos: A Practical and Emotional Guide for the Young Widow
3.74
cheesy and lacking in perspective. no acknowledgement of suicide as a separate cause of young widow-hood (a huge oversight). This just came out, but w ...more
not set
Jun 15, 2009
 
A Tale for the Time Being
3.95
Love novels that change he way I think about the world and my place in it.
May 15, 2015
Dec 11, 2013
 
Penny Dreadful
3.96
<3 Like the Penderwicks, Penny Dreadful is evocative of many of the classics of children's literature...but in a more overt way. Penny keeps wantin ...more
Oct 06, 2010
Oct 04, 2010
 
The Noonday Demon: An Atlas of Depression
4.09
Not going to finish this one...may be the abridgement of the audio, but too much about his specific depression and not enough about depression in gene ...more
not set
Sep 27, 2009
 
Hyperbole and a Half: Unfortunate Situations, Flawed Coping Mechanisms, Mayhem, and Other Things That Happened
4.13
It would be five stars but I've read most of this on her blog. Can be awkward to read in public because of all the lol-ing!
Jul 21, 2013
Jul 20, 2013
 
Precious
3.80
Very powerful...like the title Push better than Precious tho, wish they'd kept it...darned marketing people.
Jan 07, 2010
Dec 23, 2009
 
Touch Blue
3.87
cute...but better (and funnier) when I read it the first time, when it was called surviving the applewhites ;)
Feb 09, 2011
Oct 07, 2010
 
West of the Moon
3.75
Loved this for what it is...but it will be hard to find a young reader who will "get" this book.
Jan 06, 2015
Oct 06, 2014
 
The Bees
3.65
Enjoying, but decided to stop because The Rosie Project just arrived!
not set
May 24, 2014
 
Golden Son (Red Rising Trilogy, #2)
4.50
Compelling story, twisty plot. Dear god, the monologing though.
Mar 27, 2015
Jan 26, 2015
 
Dime
4.18
Horrible and gut wrenching, but, ultimately awesome.
Jan 25, 2015
Dec 29, 2014
 
Waistcoats & Weaponry (Finishing School, #3)
4.12
Cute...just not as good as the parasol protectorate series.
Sep 21, 2014
Jul 07, 2014
 
Kiss Me First
3.39
Good read alike for gone girl.
Sep 03, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
 
Prom and Prejudice
3.84
This book doesn't really work as a YA novel unless you've read P&P. The dialogue is too stilted and doesn't ring true otherwise. Clearly this is t ...more
Jan 29, 2011
Jan 26, 2011
 
Rapunzel's Revenge (Rapunzel's Revenge, #1)
3.81
In this graphic novel fractured fairy tale retelling of Rapunzel, she rescues herself from the tower and saves the kingdom from the evil witch. It tur ...more
not set
Jan 10, 2009
 
The Impossible Knife of Memory
3.93
**spoiler alert** This is exactly what you expect from Laurie Halse Anderson. She definitely knows her way around the problem novel! The impacts of wa ...more
Sep 11, 2013
Aug 10, 2013
 
The New Cultural Atlas of the Islamic World
4.33
NO STARS. New editions should have information ADDED to them, not taken away. All this is is a re-edited version with newer pictures. This is basicall ...more
not set
Jan 06, 2010
 
Luv Ya Bunches (Flower Power, #1)
4.05
cute middle grade read. love the diverse group of characters and the way their differences are treated matter of fact-ly...and don't pander to stereot ...more
Jan 04, 2010
Jan 02, 2010
 
A Girl, a Ghost, and the Hollywood Hills
2.99
I typically really enjoy modernizations of Shakespeare...and I was enjoying this until I hit this sentence: "And our eyes were pools, but not pools of ...more
not set
Jul 01, 2011
 
Impossible (Impossible, #1)
3.65
While this is a nice read-a-like for Twilight fans...with a reasonably strong female protagonist, the major fantasy element is not the fairy lore, but ...more
Jan 16, 2009
Jan 10, 2009
 
Notes from an Accidental Band Geek
3.87
There was something authentic here...yes, there may have been too much telling and not enough showing...but the band geek experience was really authen ...more
Nov 17, 2011
Nov 15, 2011
 
The Secret of the Crocodiles
3.28
no idea why I bothered finishing this one...usually I stop when they're stinking it up this badly. Can only blame it on being sick and not thinking st ...more
Oct 23, 2009
Oct 22, 2009
 
Thanks and Have Fun Running the Country: Kids' Letters to President Obama
3.97
Funny and sweet: letters to President Obama written by children from an afterschool tutoring program in several major metro areas. Do not skip the ind ...more
Mar 02, 2009
Mar 02, 2009
 
X: A Novel
4.05
Very much worth reading. Culminating with his conversion to Islam while in prison, this novel focuses on the life of Malcolm x as a teen. Written by o ...more
Oct 11, 2014
Sep 16, 2014
 
The Wikkeling
3.71
I picked this one up because the book design was fabulous. However, there are far too many moving parts in this story for j fiction...even tho there a ...more
Jun 24, 2011
Jun 22, 2011
 
The Playboy Sheikh's Virgin Stable-Girl (The Royal House of Karedes #2)
3.14
Oh, my...so horribly hilarious it defies description. nipples hard as diamonds...ebony eyes that shine with ebony fire...princes who declare that prin ...more
Nov 10, 2009
Nov 06, 2009
 
Black Pearls: A Faerie Strand
3.59
Good collection of fairy tale retellings. Published as adult, OK for older teens (the last 2 stories are on the mature side). Jack and the Beanstalk f ...more
Feb 04, 2009
Jan 31, 2009
 
I Kissed a Zombie, and I Liked It
3.34
as a satire of the vampire genre this works...even if the motivations of the characters are occasionally unclear. funny. Would change: cover appeals o ...more
Feb 10, 2010
Feb 09, 2010
Rss
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 85 86