bookshelves

all (16568)
« 1 3 4 5 »

cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down_arrow date read date added
 
Beowulf: A New Verse Translation
3.38
We have several versions of Beowulf. I'll have to slowly document them all.

We have the Seamus Heaney New Verse Translation: Beowulf: A New Verse Trans...more
not set
Oct 11, 2009
 
The Iliad
3.78
Jane Gleeson-White in Classics said this of the Robert Fagles translation: "His version is not only compelling, it is immensely readable".

Free ebook...more
not set
Oct 11, 2009
 
Jane Eyre
4.07
I accidentally let the book get packed up in a box somewhere when I moved house and reading was on hold until I found it and got back into it.

I resum...more
May 18, 2011
Mar 01, 2009
 
Frankenstein
3.70
We own this as part of a gothic omnibus: Three Gothic Novels: The Castle of Otranto; Vathek; Frankenstein

We also own this as one half of a book with B...more
not set
Oct 11, 2009
 
Heart of Darkness
3.38
This book was mentioned in a blog post of the 'Nine Subversive Travel Novels', where author Thomas Kohnstamm 'celebrates fiction that uncovers deeper...more
not set
Mar 01, 2009
 
Oedipus Rex
3.64
We own the Richard Claverhouse Jebb translation, Sophocles: Oedipus Tyrannus.

Sophocles  Oedipus Tyrannus (Classic Commentaries on Latin & Greek Texts) by Richard Claverhouse Jebb

The whole trilogy is available free to fear in public domain here.
not set
Nov 28, 2009
 
Catch-22 (Catch-22, #1)
3.96
Well, I've finally seen the official definition of Catch-22 (see quote), so that's exciting.

Here's a great summary from a reddit user of why this boo...more
not set
Mar 01, 2009
 
A Tale of Two Cities
3.76
not set
Mar 01, 2009
 
The Call of the Wild
3.77
Free ebook and audiobook available here

We really own an omnibus with White Fang: The Call of the Wild / White Fang
not set
Nov 27, 2009
 
The Odyssey
3.68
We've got a few versions floating around, including a version for kids:
The Iliad & Odyssey of Homer  Retold for Children by Barbara Leonie Picard by Homer
not set
Oct 11, 2009
 
Crime and Punishment
4.14
According to this Reddit thread, this book is some seriously thought-provoking fiction.
not set
Mar 01, 2009
 
A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man
3.57
According to this Reddit thread, this book is some seriously thought-provoking fiction.
not set
Oct 12, 2009
 
Slaughterhouse Five
4.01
According to this Reddit thread, this book is some seriously thought-provoking fiction.
not set
Oct 11, 2009
 
L’étranger
3.92
According to this Reddit thread, this book is some seriously thought-provoking fiction.
not set
Oct 11, 2009
 
Macbeth
3.86
We own lots of versions of Macbeth: single novel, part of the complete works and at least one version for teens.

Aug 26, 1993
Dec 29, 2008
 
Robinson Crusoe
3.62
We own an Usborne abridged version for kids, but not the whole book:

Robinson Crusoe (Young Reading) by Daniel Defoe
not set
Oct 11, 2009
 
A Doll's House
3.62
We own an omnibus of Ibsen's plays: A Doll's House and Other Plays
not set
Dec 24, 2009
 
War and Peace
4.08
not set
Mar 01, 2009
 
The Metamorphosis
3.73
not set
Oct 12, 2009
 
The Glass Menagerie
3.63
We own this as an omnibus of Penguin Plays: Tennessee Williams: Sweet Bird of Youth; A Streetcar Named Desire; The Glass Menagerie.
not set
Mar 12, 2010
 
Madame Bovary
3.61
not set
Mar 01, 2009
 
The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
3.78
The ebook and free human-read audiobook are available here.
not set
Oct 11, 2009
 
Walden
3.77
not set
Nov 27, 2009
 
Candide
3.74
not set
Oct 11, 2009
 
A Death in the Family
3.91
None
not set
Dec 13, 2009
 
Lord of the Flies
3.60
None
not set
Mar 01, 2009
 
One Hundred Years of Solitude
3.99
None
not set
Mar 01, 2009
 
The Three Musketeers
4.03
None
not set
Mar 01, 2009
 
Moby Dick
3.40
None
not set
Mar 01, 2009
 
The Scarlet Letter
3.32
None
not set
Oct 11, 2009
Rss More books shelved as '101-books-for-college-bound' »
« previous 1 3 4