cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down_arrow date read date added
 
The 39 Steps (Richard Hannay, #1)
3.58
So dated and yet still enjoyable.
May 05, 2011
May 02, 2011
 
Fahrenheit 451
3.94
I am so totally stunned that I found this book disappointing as I'd really been looking forward to it.

All I found interesting about it in the end was
...more
May 30, 2011
May 27, 2011
 
Dead Ever After (Sookie Stackhouse, #13)
3.25
Out with a (dog) whimper rather than a (fang) bang.
May 24, 2013
May 07, 2013
 
Alias Hook
3.50
Very interesting and enjoyable until it got bogged in the last quarter by drawn out explanations of dream world law and boy loses girl scenarios.
Jul 25, 2014
Jun 28, 2014
 
John Dies at the End (John Dies at the End, #1)
3.93
I made it half way through this, but I'm calling it completed because this should never have been anything other than a short story.

There are some goo
...more
Jul 03, 2013
Jan 18, 2013
 
The Hole
3.59
Meh.
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
 
The Language of Flowers
4.06
Very interesting, trailed off towards during the final third despite the ending.
Nov 17, 2014
Oct 23, 2014
 
World Without End (The Pillars of the Earth, #2)
4.19
I'm guessing Follett does not mean "generously edited."
Aug 04, 2013
Jul 13, 2013
 
Lost and Found
3.65
COVER TOO HIP! CHARACTERS TOO QUIRKY!
I adored the old lady and really enjoyed the book.
3.5 stars
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
 
Small Island
3.86
Had it not been for the section at the end about the husband, this would have been 4 star.

His story was so boring and irrelevant that I'm stunned tha
...more
Sep 08, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
 
The Scent of Rain and Lightning
3.79
3.5 stars.

Kept me interested the whole way. I took off .5 star for the slightly Scooby Doo wrap up.
Sep 23, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
 
The Goldfinch
3.88
Lose 50 + pages from Vegas, Kitsey and all of Amsterdam altogether --> very good book.
Apr 22, 2014
Apr 04, 2014
 
Unbearable Lightness: A Story of Loss and Gain
3.81
Nicely written, open and honest I thought it was a good read.
Didn't really shirk from painting herself in a bad light like another bio on the same top
...more
May 26, 2011
May 25, 2011
 
Teacher Man
3.70
The foreword and first couple of chapters were remarkable. Worth the price of purchase for these alone.

The rest was a treasure hunt. A bit like a nur
...more
Oct 21, 2013
Aug 04, 2013
 
A Touch of Dead (Sookie Stackhouse, #4.1, #4.3, #5.1, #7.1, #8.1)
3.80
After watching True Blood I picked this up and was astonished at how well written and how engrossing it was.
I'm not a fan of twilight and the current
...more
Jun 18, 2011
May 25, 2011
 
The Time Traveler's Wife
3.92
My God, how can you make time travel boring?! That's the only remarkable thing I have noticed about the book so far.

Kurt Vonnegut would have been hor
...more
not set
Aug 24, 2011
 
Little Bee
3.66

Page after page of disappointing, patronising, waffling nonsense.

Really bad.
Everything I liked in this book was on the back cover.
Just read that.
Gah.
Oct 23, 2012
Sep 23, 2012
 
Life After Life
3.71
Bollocks.
Jul 14, 2013
Jun 07, 2013
 
Belinda
3.63
Closer to Georgette Heyer than Jane Austen. The best sections are similar to Frances Burney, but they are sadly outnumbered.
Aug 27, 2014
Jun 03, 2014
 
Bronte's Story: Tears, Trials And Triumphs:  A Personal Battle With Anorexia
3.28
If you want a good account of anorexia, try reading Portia de Rossi's autobiography "Unbearable Lightness" instead.

Feb 17, 2011
Feb 14, 2011
 
World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War
4.01
If a lesser known community news channel covered the zombie apocalypse, it would still be more interesting than this.
Jan 19, 2013
Jan 06, 2013
 
The Blue Zones: Lessons for Living Longer From the People Who've Lived the Longest
3.84
This really should have been an article rather than a book.
Jan 06, 2013
Nov 11, 2012
 
Wicked Appetite (Lizzy & Diesel #1)
3.75
I failed to progress beyond the first sentence.
not set
Aug 02, 2013
 
The Good Earth (House of Earth, #1)
3.94


Chinese Grapes of Wrath.
Jul 24, 2011
Jul 20, 2011
 
The Glass Castle
4.20
I am agog.
Sep 03, 2014
Apr 18, 2014
 
The Girl with All the Gifts
3.92
2.5 stars
Sep 19, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
 
Round the Sofa. Elizabeth Gaskell
3.41
None
not set
Nov 10, 2009
 
The Mystery of the Missing Millionaire (Trixie Belden Mystery Series #34)
3.99
None
not set
Dec 11, 2008
 
The Mystery at Mead's Mountain (Trixie Belden #22)
4.01
None
not set
Dec 11, 2008
 
The Mystery of the Ghostly Galleon (Trixie Belden #27)
3.97
None
not set
Dec 11, 2008
Rss