cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down arrow date read date added
 
Christine
3.67
Ever wondered about those guys who say: “I love my car”, and look like they really mean it? Have you ever sympathized with wives and girlfriends who h ...more
not set
Jul 20, 2011
 
Pet Sematary
3.84
I was reminded of King’s novel by – of all things! – a clip from the 1980 episode of The Muppet Show, featuring Linda Ronstadt. One of the sketches in ...more
Jul 2012
Sep 13, 2011
 
The Choirboys
4.04
In 1975, a police unit working the night watch in Los Angeles indulges in off-duty drunken hedonistic orgies. For them, the ‘choir practice’ sessions ...more
not set
Mar 27, 2011
 
Schindler's List
4.34
At first, Oskar Schindler seems an unlikely hero: egotistical, hedonistic and adulterous. As an industrialist, the outbreak of World War II appears to ...more
not set
Mar 08, 2009
 
The Far Arena
4.15
One of the best sci-fi/fantasy adventure novels that would make a great movie, especially after the success of Ridley Scott’s Gladiator, but sadly (to ...more
not set
Jan 02, 2011
 
Close Encounters of the Third Kind Diary. Behind-the-scenes Diary of How They Made the Decade's Greatest Movie!
3.75
This is my second reading of this journal and it’s been a long time since the first. From 1982–84, as I finished up my last two years at school and lo ...more
not set
Jan 14, 2011
 
The Sword and the Dragon (The Wardstone Trilogy, #1)
3.77
Fans of Tolkien and C.S. Lewis will find much to enjoy to enjoy in M.R. Mathias’ debut fantasy novel, The Sword and the Dragon (Book 1 of a trilogy). ...more
Sep 08, 2010
Sep 01, 2010
 
Bigger than Hitler – Better than Christ
3.50
Rik Mayall's anarchic sense of humor has always appealed to me and I've been a fan of his work since first seeing him on TV in the early '80s, when he ...more
May 10, 2010
May 13, 2010
 
Equus
3.94
Psychiatrist Martin Dysart is almost sleeping walking through middle-age on the downward slope to his twilight years. His marriage is passionless and ...more
not set
Apr 14, 2011
 
A Harbinger's Tale
4.40
If God asked you to be the Harbinger of the Apocalypse … would you do it? This is the question posed to both narrator and reader alike as both are tak ...more
not set
Feb 24, 2011
 
Serranto's Redemption (Breaking Out, #2)
4.00
This powerful sequel to Once Wild has Nick Serranto attending his beloved wife’s funeral under heavy police guard. Two years later, Nick is an emotion ...more
Oct 16, 2010
May 27, 2010
 
Reluctant Hero
4.29
Author, John Hickman, recalls memories of life with his father, Bill. Writing fact in the form of creative fiction, he merges testimonies from those w ...more
Sep 13, 2011
Aug 06, 2011
 
First Blood
3.95
When morose and haunted Vietnam veteran John Rambo walks into Madison, Kentucky, all he wants is something to eat before he moves on. That’s is until ...more
not set
Sep 22, 2011
 
Dead Game
4.19
To some, death and murder are sport and the serial killer in Dead Game turns it into a contest. Victims who lose at this game ultimately lose their li ...more
Nov 2009
Dec 16, 2009
 
Who Would Have Thought? (Men of Adonis, #1)
4.00
Written with language as deliberate, raw and explicit as the steamy sex acts it describes, author Trenice Carter tells the story of three pleasure-see ...more
not set
Jun 19, 2011
 
Quatermass
3.69
Back in 1979, I was a horror and science fiction hungry pre-teenager when I saw the serialized adaptation of this book on TV. The series (back in its ...more
not set
Jan 02, 2011
 
American Psycho
3.80
The Yuppie culture … they put the consume in consumerism and the self in selfish. Set in New York, during the 1980s, this story shines a powerful ligh ...more
not set
Sep 22, 2011
 
Blue Blood for Life (My Blood Runs Blue, #2)
4.09
The story opens with cop Kristin working night patrol. She spots a prowler lurking in the dark between the buildings easily with her heightened vampir ...more
not set
Sep 22, 2011
 
Murder at the Luther
4.24
Confident and free-spirited redhead, Sydney Jean Lockhart, has shunned the entrapments of marriage and domesticity in order to maintain her independen ...more
Sep 10, 2010
Sep 09, 2010
 
The Mothman Prophecies
3.54
The book came my way after I saw the movie, starring Richard Gere. I’m including both versions in this review as I feel the movie’s the better of the ...more
Mar 12, 2011
Mar 06, 2011
 
The Anaïs Assignment (The Bowin Novels #3)
5.00
This third book in the Tom Bowin series of thrillers begins with a daylight kidnapping in Bethesda, Maryland. Teenager, Diego Mendoza, is snatched as ...more
Aug 26, 2012
Aug 04, 2012
 
Megan's Way
3.46
Beginning in Cape Cod, 1988, Megan and Holly are teenagers and best friends enjoying the lights and laughter of a carnival. Acting on impulse, they fi ...more
not set
Oct 13, 2011
 
My Blood Runs Blue
3.79
The story opens with Kristin, a cop with control issues, working the quiet night shift with the hours dragging by uneventfully. She and her colleagues ...more
not set
Jun 24, 2011
 
Skeleton Crew
3.89
Short story compilations are almost always hit-and-miss, but this well-written and enjoyable collection from Stephen King who, credit where it’s due, ...more
not set
Jan 01, 2011
 
Black Shadows
3.86
Just when you might think: they don’t write ‘em like they used to … an author comes along with a true passion for classic rat-a-tat-tat, shoot ‘em ful ...more
not set
Jul 14, 2011
 
Bottom Dwellers
4.00
In Rural north Georgia, a new lake changes the landscape after four years in development. An entire township is flooded and becomes the waterbed of th ...more
not set
Jul 14, 2011
 
Compulsion
3.91
Compulsion is a fresh and exciting debut focussing on crime and the devastating, life-changing effects it can have on everyone involved, including the ...more
Jun 19, 2009
May 21, 2009
 
The 101 Most Influential People Who Never Lived
3.23
How much you are likely to enjoy this book largely depends on how you feel about the characters listed within. Whether you agree with the writers on j ...more
not set
Aug 06, 2010
 
The River Runes
4.16
Enter the fantasy world of Caithiir, a woodland kingdom inhabited by magicians and their apprentices as they work on the Runes, protectors of the magi ...more
not set
Jul 01, 2011
 
Boxer Hobo
3.88
When self-styled professional boxer and hobo, Johnny Noctor, regains consciousness in hospital the world is never the same for him. Johnny has sustain ...more
not set
Apr 24, 2012
Rss
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 32 33