cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down_arrow date read date added
 
Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman
3.83
Murakami's short story formats are witty, fun, poignant, and surreal.
not set
Oct 26, 2008
 
The Learners
3.54
Incredible graphic design, but the story lacks the same dry wit as the Cheese Monkeys. Still an enjoyable read with some graphic design lessons thrown...more
not set
Oct 26, 2008
 
Consolation
3.73
A wonderful story based on a true event, that being the discovery of the Commodore Jarvis remains in the excavation of the Air Canada Centre.
not set
Oct 26, 2008
 
Skim
3.74
A cynical and genuinely charming story by Toronto local lit queen, Mariko Tamaki, with beautiful drawings by illustrator Jillian Tamaki.
not set
Oct 26, 2008
 
The Death and Life of Great American Cities
4.31
An incredibly down to earth look at the urban landscape. Somehow Jane Jacobs' words can still be told today, nearly fifty years later.
not set
Oct 26, 2008
 
Access All Areas: A User's Guide to the Art of Urban Exploration
4.07
The father of contemporary urban exploration, Ninjalicious (RIP) shares his experiences and expertise through humour and wit.
not set
Oct 26, 2008
 
Norwegian Wood
4.02
My first book from Murakami, I enjoyed the first half immensely, but struggled with the second half.
not set
Oct 26, 2008
 
Corporate Wasteland: The Landscape and Memory of Deindustrialization
3.42
An interesting look at the stories behind US Rustbelt cities and some cases closer to home in Canada.
not set
Oct 26, 2008
 
The State of the Arts: Living With Culture in Toronto
3.83
The title of this book should be "The State of the Arts: Living with Culture in Toronto"
not set
Oct 26, 2008
 
Ticknor: A Novel
3.20
It's hard to get through the first time, but Sheila Heti writes in a most unique voice
not set
Oct 26, 2008
 
Men and Cartoons
3.44
A strange collection of strangely charming stories. Super Goat Man is my favourite.
not set
Oct 26, 2008
 
Motherless Brooklyn
3.91
A detective with Tourette syndrome. It becomes comic relief and tools for pity
not set
Oct 26, 2008
 
The Cheese Monkeys
3.74
If you go to or have gone through art school, this is a must read.
not set
Oct 26, 2008
 
Everything Is Illuminated
3.89
At the time, this book made me want to write more. Then that feeling left.
not set
Oct 26, 2008
 
uTOpia: Towards a New Toronto
3.71
One of the best books for any urban enthusiast from Toronto or elsewhere.
not set
Oct 26, 2008
 
What We All Long For
3.41
A poetic journey through the lives of four memorable characters.
not set
Oct 26, 2008
 
Courage My Love: A Novel
2.80
A quick read about one woman's brief life in Toronto's Kensington Market
not set
Oct 26, 2008
 
Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close
3.97
Very touching at times. The use of photography is also powerful
not set
Oct 26, 2008
 
Emerald City: Toronto Visited
3.80
Like a walk through Toronto's most diverse neighbourhoods.
not set
Oct 26, 2008
 
In the Skin of a Lion
3.88
Lyrically written, it's Toronto mythology at its finest.
not set
Oct 26, 2008
 
A Field Guide to Sprawl
3.89
Great photos and rather poignant descriptions
not set
Oct 26, 2008
 
The middle stories
3.47
One of my favourite collections of short stories. Period.
not set
Oct 26, 2008
 
32 Stories: The Complete Optic Nerve Mini-Comics
3.81
A retrospective of Adrian Tomine's Optic Nerve
not set
Oct 26, 2008
 
Sprawl: A Compact History
3.02
A respectable argument against Sprawl critics.
not set
Oct 26, 2008
 
Ten Sorry Tales
3.76
Absolutely wonderful and brilliantly mysterious.
not set
Oct 26, 2008
 
One Hundred Years of Solitude
3.99
This book is potentially life changing
not set
Oct 26, 2008
 
Archetypes: Social Animals in Our Midst
3.29
Clever and hilarious. Fab illustrations.
not set
Oct 26, 2008
 
Shortcomings
3.64
Tomine is a superb storyteller.
not set
Oct 26, 2008
 
Building Suburbia: Green Fields and Urban Growth, 1820-2000
3.71
Easy to read and fruitful.
not set
Oct 26, 2008
 
Black Hole
3.83
Charles Burns is the best.
not set
Oct 26, 2008
Rss
« previous 1