cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down_arrow date read date added
 
The People of Sparks (Book of Ember, #2)
3.62
338

I thought the 1st book was more of an adventure. This book deals with different groups trying to survive and how small differences can become big d
...more
Jan 02, 2009
Dec 31, 2008
 
The Last Patriot (Scot Harvath, #7)
4.12
This is my second Brad Thor book. I enjoyed it. The book is a fast read and very similar to Vince Flynn. So if you like Vince Flynn you will probably ...more
Jul 15, 2009
Jul 18, 2009
 
The 4-Hour Workweek
3.76
292

I came across his web site and figure it might be worth reading. Parts of the book were fun to read and heck it might even be fun to have an VA fro
...more
Aug 27, 2009
Aug 27, 2009
 
Lone Survivor: The Eyewitness Account of Operation Redwing and the Lost Heroes of SEAL Team 10
4.32
400

I wanted to like Lone Survivor more than I like it. The story is amazing, a seal team that gets ambushed and fights to the death with one team memb
...more
Jul 26, 2009
Jul 29, 2009
 
The Prophet of Yonwood (Book of Ember, #3)
3.22
289

I enjoyed the first two books in the City of Ember series, that is why I read this book and will read "The Diamond of Darkhold." "The Prophet of Yo
...more
Feb 07, 2009
Feb 11, 2009
 
Catching Fire (The Hunger Games, #2)
4.31
391

I'm really enjoying this series. The best line, "See,this is why no one lets you make the plans." It is kinda funny how Katniss is mostly clueless
...more
Sep 04, 2009
Sep 03, 2009
 
The Omnivore's Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals
4.16
464

This book is worth a qualified 5 stars. I enjoyed the 4 meals that Michael Pollan Made the their history. The two meals that I enjoyed the most wer
...more
Dec 31, 2008
Dec 19, 2008
 
Gregor the Overlander (Underland Chronicles, #1)
3.97
308

I enjoyed this book. Suzanne Collins is becoming one of my favorite authors. This book was easy to read and fun. I'm not much of a fantasy reader s
...more
Sep 05, 2009
Sep 05, 2009
 
The Diamond of Darkhold (Book of Ember, #4)
3.77
285

I read this book because I liked the first two books "The City of Ember" and "People of Sparks" in the 'book of ember' series. I didn't like and wa
...more
Feb 13, 2009
Feb 11, 2009
 
The End of Food
3.80
416

This book is an overview of the way the world grows and buys food. I don't know that much about agriculture. We had a garden growing up, more it se
...more
Apr 26, 2009
Apr 26, 2009
 
The First Commandment (Scot Harvath, #6)
4.19
Book 19 416


This is my first Brad Thor book. I enjoyed it. The book is a fast read and very similar to Vince Flynn. So if you like Vince Flynn you will
...more
Feb 28, 2009
Feb 28, 2009
 
Terror at Beslan: A Russian Tragedy with Lessons for America's Schools
4.07
392

John Giduck goes through the events that happened to the middle school in Beslan where 1200 kids, parents and teachers were taken hostage by 50 or
...more
May 10, 2009
May 11, 2009
 
The Scarecrow (Jack McEvoy, #2)
3.96
419

This was my first Michael Connelly thriller. It was fast paced and held my attention. There was a bit in the middle that was kinda slow, but over a
...more
Aug 30, 2009
Aug 30, 2009
 
The Great Divorce
4.27
128

Not my usual read. I started this book years ago and didn't finish it. So in some sense this is the first and second time I've read the book.

Overal
...more
Jun 12, 2009
Apr 19, 2009
 
Cheyenne Autumn
3.92
290

I read this book as a history and it was a hard book for me to read. If I read it as a fictional story I probably wouldn't have finished it. The st
...more
Feb 11, 2009
Jan 14, 2009
 
Brimstone (Pendergast, #5; Diogenes, #1)
4.10
726

This is my first Pendergast book. I will probably finish this series. Pendergast seems to be the James Bond of FBI agents, except without the women
...more
Aug 25, 2009
Aug 26, 2009
 
The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games, #1)
4.39
374

I really enjoyed this book. I didn't know that it was part of the trilogy so I was surprised and disappointed by the ending. This book is set in th
...more
Jan 05, 2009
Nov 19, 2008
 
Leadership and Self-Deception: Getting Out of the Box
4.10
I enjoyed this book more than I thought I would. It was better than any of the 'leadership/management' books I read this summer. It reminded me a bit ...more
Oct 11, 2009
Oct 11, 2009
 
Blink: The Power of Thinking Without Thinking
3.84
254

I liked the first part of this book and the last chapter. The book is an easy read. At first I thought Gladwell was trying to make a point the life
...more
Dec 25, 2008
Dec 25, 2008
 
I Love You, Beth Cooper
3.30
253

Some coworkers recommended this book to me.

It started like it could be really funny. Denis, the captain of the debate team and valedictorian tells
...more
Jul 11, 2009
Jul 12, 2009
 
The Shack
3.68
256

My sister wanted me to read this book. A friend at work had it and loaned it to me. In short, I didn't like it. I just couldn't get into the book.
...more
Jun 11, 2009
Jun 12, 2009
 
Glenn Beck's Common Sense: The Case Against an Out-of-Control Government, Inspired by Thomas Paine
3.82
Glen Beck is a libertarian. He is for less government. In this book he goes over the top, but I think he is just trying to get people talking. Overall ...more
Jul 28, 2009
Jul 29, 2009
 
The Collectors (Camel Club, #2)
3.97
511

This book was just fair. The best part of the book was when Annabelle cons the money from the big bad evil casino owner, Mr Bagger. And that was ju
...more
May 14, 2009
May 14, 2009
 
The Tale Of Despereaux
3.97
267

It was okay. I read this book up at my in-laws after we saw the movie. I didn't care for the movie. The book, as most books are, was better then th
...more
Jan 03, 2009
Jan 03, 2009
 
To America: Personal Reflections of an Historian
3.81
288

This was a book of essays and stories that Ambrose wanted to share with America. I enjoyed reading it. Much of what America is and shares with the
...more
Feb 18, 2009
Feb 11, 2009
 
The Great Gathering (Standing in Holy Places, 1)
3.62
189

Disappointing. I don't know what else to say. I really thought the book wasn't thought out at all. The idea was good the execution horrible. I will
...more
Sep 06, 2009
Sep 06, 2009
 
The Rise of Zion (Standing in Holy Places, 3)
3.81
Now that the bar is set low. I liked this book more than the first 2 books. It isn't great written at all and some of the story lines and sub plots ar ...more
Oct 11, 2009
Oct 11, 2009
 
The Zombie Survival Guide: Complete Protection from the Living Dead
3.86
247

I think Brooks is pointing out a lot of the absurdity with the 'end of the world as we know it' type of books. I need to practice my head shots mor
...more
Sep 30, 2009
Sep 29, 2009
 
The Road
3.94
320

I need to make sure I have shoes/boots in my 72 hour kit and few pair of shoes/boots in my food storage.

It is amazing what people will do to survi
...more
Nov 29, 2008
Nov 29, 2008
 
Guns, Germs, and Steel: The Fates of Human Societies
3.97
440

I liked this book. According to Diamond, the world is how it is because of the location of the native plants and animals. This started a chain reac
...more
Dec 19, 2008
Dec 06, 2008
Rss More books shelved as '52-52' »
« previous 1