cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down arrow date read date added
 
The Secret of the Fortune Wookiee  (Origami Yoda #3)
4.12
I swear these just keep getting better. The current crisis at Ralph McQuarrie Middle School is... how will everyone get by without the guidance of Ori ...more
Aug 12, 2012
Aug 13, 2012
 
Knucklehead: Tall Tales and Almost True Stories of Growing up Scieszka
4.12
Jon Scieszka has five brothers. Jon Scieszka is a funny writer. Ergo, Jon Scieszka's stories about growing up with his five brothers = funny. Oh yeah ...more
Feb 05, 2009
Feb 08, 2009
 
Guys Read: Thriller (Guys Read, #2)
3.72
Gennifer Choldenko gives us a Hollywood-ready action story involving snakes and conspiracy; Bruce Hale 's protagonist has to go up against monsters in ...more
Jul 02, 2011
Jun 01, 2011
 
The Strange Case of Origami Yoda (Origami Yoda #1)
3.88
...The Strange Case of Origami Yoda is Tommy's casebook. He documents his own interactions with Origami Yoda and asks his friends to contribute theirs ...more
Mar 30, 2010
Mar 30, 2010
 
The Small Adventure of Popeye and Elvis
3.66
Sweet. Sweet, and full of mud. That's a nice combination, kind of like T.R. Pearson for kids. Also, any book involving kids and a creek (at least one ...more
Jan 18, 2010
Jan 19, 2010
 
Nightmare on Zombie Island (Twisted Journeys, #5)
3.58
The art is good. The colors are especially nice (although I would add more green goo to the zombies). The choose your own adventure format is one that ...more
Oct 14, 2008
Oct 07, 2008
 
Lunch Lady and the Summer Camp Shakedown (Lunch Lady, #4)
4.15
Grade 2-5 Fun and funny. Brave Lunch Lady her reliable sidekick Betty, and those inquisitive kids Hector, Dee, and Terrence move the mystery and adven ...more
May 2010
Sep 28, 2010
 
Dragonbreath (Dragonbreath, #1)
3.97
It's possible that my opinion of this book has been influenced by the appearance in my bed this morning (at, possibly, 7am, I don't know, I didn't hav ...more
Aug 09, 2009
Oct 28, 2009
 
The Willoughbys
3.76
I just finished this book, sitting on the front porch drinking lemon soda and giggling out loud. Summer is so great.

The Willoughbys is a tour de force
...more
Jul 2008
Sep 20, 2008
 
SPHDZ Book #1!
3.53
Any book that name-checks the nastiest old old-man dive bar in Park Slope automatically gains my respect. I was happily muddling through this latest g ...more
Jul 05, 2010
Jul 05, 2010
 
Attack of the Growling Eyeballs
3.91
Feeling picked-on and underappreciated in your own family? Surrounded by people who don't understand you? What you need is a one-inch-tall identical t ...more
Aug 2008
Oct 04, 2008
 
Knucklehead: Tall Tales and Almost True Stories About Growing Up Scieszka
4.12
We have revisited Knucklehead this summer, now that it is available on audio, read by Mr. Scieszka himself. I checked it out of the library specifical ...more
Jul 02, 2011
Jul 02, 2011
 
Manners Mash-Up: A Goofy Guide to Good Behavior
3.83
Maybe we should have paged through this funny book, to which each artist has contributed a virtuoso piece (Tao Nyeu embroidered hers! overachiever!) b ...more
Apr 25, 2011
Apr 30, 2011
 
Big Nate: In a Class by Himself (Big Nate Novels, #1)
4.12
You can tell by the way Big Nate is packaged that somebody - probably lots of somebodies - are hoping that Nate will slot directly into the "If you li ...more
Apr 03, 2010
May 30, 2010
 
Guys Read: Funny Business (Guys Read, #1)
3.81
It's like an old-fashioned hippie potluck, but with a big sack of Halloween candy where you'd expect the tabbouleh salad to be. But JEEZ I have been h ...more
Jun 2010
May 30, 2010
 
Attack of the Fluffy Bunnies
3.71
Like 'Captain Underpants' for a slightly older crowd. Or like 'Friday the 13th' for a slightly younger, slightly less bloodthirsty crowd. Light and fl ...more
Sep 29, 2010
Sep 30, 2010
 
Diary of a Wimpy Kid (Diary of a Wimpy Kid, #1)
3.95
Diary of a Wimpy Kid is big. Movie contract, 4 sequels in the works, 40-some weeks on the Best Seller list, including a stint at NUMBAH ONE. It's on o ...more
Jan 2008
Sep 29, 2008
 
Sonia Sotomayor: A Judge Grows in the Bronx/La juez que crecio en el Bronx
4.13
Bonus for being bilingual!

Brief Lives: A list of biographies for kids is on Pink Me: http://pinkme.typepad.com/pink-me/201...
Mar 02, 2012
Mar 31, 2012
 
The Bathing Costume: Or the Worst Vacation of My Life
3.75
I love a picture book for older kids. This is like Two Boys Have the Best Week Ever but with downs alongside the ups. Lots of text, but lots to enjoy.
not set
Jun 05, 2013
 
The Adventures of Ook and Gluk, Kung-Fu Cavemen from the Future
4.08
YES. Very slapstick, borderline rude, fast-paced, and virtually content-free. Cartoony? I'll say. In addition, our caveman heroes speak an English cal ...more
Sep 07, 2010
Sep 03, 2010
 
Amulet, Vol. 1: The Stonekeeper (Amulet, #1)
4.11
I just kept counting the elements that were similar to other stories - Spiderwick, His Dark Materials, The Last Mimzy, Howl's Moving Castle, I can't r ...more
Oct 28, 2008
Nov 01, 2008
 
Kaput & Zosky
3.72
It's terrible. Lots of guns, and aggression, and little mean funny guys... I should try to keep it far far away from my two little boys, but they love ...more
Nov 14, 2008
Nov 15, 2008
 
Calamity Jack (Rapunzel's Revenge, #2)
3.82
Strap in, folks, because it'll whisk you off your feet. Every page contains a delight, from screaming Brownies who when placated look like sobered-up ...more
Mar 09, 2010
Nov 29, 2009
 
How to Grow Up and Rule the World, by Vordak the Incomprehensible (Vordak #1)
3.81
I can't even speak to the quality of the illustrations or the writing in this book, mostly because I'm just giggling. It's dumb, it's silly, it's MAD ...more
Sep 12, 2010
Jun 08, 2010
 
Zombiekins
3.88
It's Halloween! Time for flesh-eating zombie stuffies to limp menacingly out from beneath your bed and into your dreams! Let Zhou tell you all about i ...more
Jul 21, 2010
Jul 25, 2010
 
Meanwhile
3.89
...The plot involves a time machine, a doomsday machine, slapstick, probability, and ice cream. I have to go melt into a puddle of joy right now. Get ...more
Mar 29, 2010
Mar 29, 2010
 
Just Too Cute!: And Other Tales of Adorable Animals for Horrible Children
3.92
ZOMG! Check it:

The Oyster
What is moister
Than an oyster?
Grandpa's Pamper
Can be damper.

Full review on Pink Me: http://pinkme.typepad.com/pink-me/201...
Oct 03, 2010
Oct 03, 2010
 
Stinky
3.72
Sep 2008
Oct 06, 2008
 
Robot Dreams
3.91
None
not set
Sep 25, 2008
 
Food Hates You, Too and Other Poems
3.47
None
not set
Jun 07, 2009
Rss More books shelved as 'if-you-liked-diary-of-a-wimpy-kid' »
« previous 1 3