bookshelves

all (1451)
« 1 »

cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down_arrow date read date added
 
Gone Girl
3.96

I've been completely fangirling over Gillian Flynn since her debut Sharp Objects six years ago. It remains one of my all-time-favorites, along with Fl
...more
Jul 14, 2012
Mar 27, 2011
 
The Goldfinch
3.88
Winner of the 2014 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction. Congratulations, Ms. Tartt on such a stunning return.

The Goldfinch is a doorstopper, weighing in at ove
...more
Nov 22, 2013
Mar 22, 2013
 
Life After Life
3.71

I'm pretty sure the idea of being forced to live my life over and over again is something plucked from my worst nightmares, but who among us hasn't be
...more
Mar 29, 2013
Dec 27, 2012
 
Tell the Wolves I'm Home
4.03
The sun kept on with its slipping away, and I thought how many small good things in the world might be resting on the shoulders of something terrible.
...more
Nov 10, 2012
Sep 28, 2012
 
The Martian
4.36
4.5 stars

This whole book left me stupid happy and deliriously impressed and I spent most of my time declaring:



Jesse would have loved Mark Watney. I lo
...more
Apr 23, 2014
Mar 08, 2014
 
The Fault in Our Stars
4.41
Alright, alright! I admit it, it got to me -- it freaking absolutely got to me. If I were Superman this little book would be my Kryptonite. Why did I ...more
May 02, 2012
May 01, 2012
 
Gerald's Game
3.41

I've re-read Gerald's Game several times since its 1992 publication, and have just finished listening to it as an audiobook. Here's what I know for su
...more
Jun 09, 2012
Aug 11, 2008
 
Let's Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir
3.88

Jenny Lawson (aka The Bloggess) is seriously effed up, and that doesn't always equate with being seriously bleeping funny but in her case, this book w
...more
Aug 07, 2012
May 17, 2012
 
Defending Jacob
3.95

I'm trying to put my finger on what makes Defending Jacob such a compulsive read. Landay clearly has a killer storytelling instinct. The pacing of thi
...more
Dec 07, 2012
May 14, 2012
 
Joyland
3.91

Written for the Hard Case Crime line of paperback novels, Stephen King's Joyland may look like a duck -- with its tantalizing pulp cover making promis
...more
Jun 14, 2013
Aug 14, 2012
 
Revival
3.80

What the hell do you read next after you finish a book like this!?

While not a full on frontal assault horror novel in the tradition of The Shining or
...more
Dec 21, 2014
Jan 31, 2014
 
Mr. Mercedes (Bill Hodges Trilogy, #1)
3.87

This is a case where the star system really fails me, or I feel like I must explain my rating. Four stars does not make Mr. Mercedes one of King's bes
...more
Jun 15, 2014
Dec 10, 2013
 
Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark
4.01


I'm not giving any stars here, only a warning: beware which edition of this collection you choose, for if you choose unwisely, you will be sorely ripp
...more
Jun 23, 2013
Jun 23, 2013
 
The Ritual
3.63

Wow. This one came soooo very close to getting five stars from me. I am a horror buff and I LOVE to be scared ...really, truly freaked out. Not grosse
...more
Mar 23, 2012
Jun 06, 2011
 
The Girl with All the Gifts
3.91
Despite the gushing praise this book has been receiving -- including a blurb by Josh Whedon -- I approached The Girl With All the Gifts with a fair am ...more
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 14, 2014
 
In the Tall Grass
3.63

Well, well, well, what do we have here? A bona fide horror story my friends and Constant Readers, sprouted from the father/son imagination team of Ste
...more
Oct 09, 2012
Oct 08, 2012
 
Wool Omnibus (Silo, #1) (Wool, #1-5)
4.26

Outstanding!

WOOL began its life as a self-published short novella in July of 2011. That's hard to believe. I feel like I've been hearing about this th
...more
Nov 13, 2012
May 15, 2012
 
Me Before You
4.31
This book ripped my heart right out of my goddamn chest and crushed it while I watched curled helpless and whimpering in the fetal position on the flo ...more
Feb 14, 2013
Feb 04, 2013
 
The Shining Girls
3.47

There's a lot for me to love about this book:

1) The main character Kirby is fantastic. She is a survivor (literally), independent, courageous and dete
...more
May 15, 2013
May 08, 2013
 
The Killer Inside Me
3.92

First of all, a warning: if you happen to pick up the edition I did that includes an introductory essay from Stephen King, make sure you read it after
...more
Jan 18, 2015
Jul 31, 2012
 
The Deep
3.60

***Now Available!***

Save your last breath to scream

I've been a lifelong fan of horror and the older I get, it seems to me the harder it's getting to
...more
Oct 08, 2014
Jun 23, 2014
 
The Silent Wife
3.30
4.5

Wow. This book -- flipping fantastic. But your enjoyment of it is probably going to hinge on the expectations you're carrying going in. Despite som
...more
Feb 2014
Nov 02, 2013
 
The Troop
3.68

First of all, when Stephen King goes out of his way to blurb a book, I pay attention. About The Troop he says:
"This is old-school horror at its best.
...more
Feb 12, 2014
Jan 01, 2014
 
A Breath of Snow and Ashes (Outlander, #6)
4.41
The paperback edition of what is the sixth book in the Outlander series is over 1500 pages long and sorry to say, I did not hang on every word. Who co ...more
Sep 02, 2008
Aug 12, 2008
 
Bird Box
3.93
4.5 stars

Whoah. This is some really good shit. Color me very impressed. I'm not sure what I was expecting when I picked this one up, but it totally de
...more
Jun 22, 2014
Jun 01, 2014
 
Zone One
3.25
Damn, this book is cold. Like, really, really, C-O-L-D. The language is magnificent; there is no doubt Whitehead can write, but he writes with no heat ...more
Nov 21, 2011
Nov 04, 2011
 
Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail
3.92
Finally finished listening to this as an audio. Meh. I have my problems with it. I may or may not review it, we'll see.

***

Alright, I've given it some
...more
Nov 27, 2012
Nov 06, 2012
 
The Bees
3.65

Bees are exceptional creatures. Their hive characterized by drama and high stakes, intelligence and a sophisticated organization that is a marvel to s
...more
Jun 10, 2014
May 04, 2014
 
11/22/63
4.25
All hail the King! Talk about ending the reading year of 2011 on a high note. Review to follow. Happy New Year everyone!

I may be a mad dog fan of Ste
...more
Dec 31, 2011
Mar 03, 2011
 
The Devil All the Time
4.07
Jesus wept, but this is the real goods people -- gritty, raw, uncompromising prose that snaps and bites at your soft spots. I find it curious that so ...more
Mar 03, 2012
Jul 08, 2011
Rss
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 48 49