bookshelves

all (6052)
« 1 »

cover title author rating rating my rating review Down arrow read added
 
The White Princess (The Plantagenet and Tudor Novels. #5)
3.84
did not like it

I don’t know, I don’t know, I don’t know.

Hey there, Elizabeth of York, what happened to the princes in the Tower? What happened at Bosworth? Where wer
...more
Jul 28, 2013
Nov 15, 2011
 
A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court
3.75
it was amazing
Most people think they know this story - but they don't - they just know the fish-out-of-water story that is just the surface of this book; this is r ...more
not set
Nov 23, 2008
 
The Valley of Horses (Earth's Children, #2)
3.98
it was ok

I didn’t mind that it devolved (devolved, get it? hehehe) anyway, I didn't mind that the book turned out to be porn-for-women-who-pretend-they-don’t-l
...more
not set
Jan 05, 2012
 
Mistress
3.93
did not like it
In the Beginning, there was Jane Austen, and She wrote the Word, and the Word was Good. And She did Create the Regency Novel in all its Glory.

Then the
...more
not set
May 13, 2009
 
Hawksmaid: The Untold Story of Robin Hood and Maid Marian
3.81
did not like it
First, there is something I have to get off my chest that really bugged me:

There were NO POTATOES in 12th century England! Got that? THERE WERE NO POT
...more
not set
Dec 29, 2009
 
The Last Days of Pompeii
3.60
did not like it

A veiled Roman lady walks down the cobble stone street of ancient Pompeii. She smiles when she sees her friend and modestly removes only half her veil
...more
Jun 17, 2014
Jun 17, 2014
 
The Creation of Anne Boleyn: A New Look at England's Most Notorious Queen
3.84
it was amazing

“What do you mean different versions? She isn’t Catwoman!”

This was my boyfriend’s bemused reaction to hearing what I was reading about. Laughing, I we
...more
Jan 30, 2013
Jan 29, 2013
 
Joheved (Rashi’s Daughters #1)
3.96
it was ok

I wanted to like this book, I really did.

Anton seeks to bring to life a place, time and people who have been overlooked. She obviously did a lot of r
...more
Oct 11, 2012
Jan 26, 2011
 
How to Be a Victorian
4.13
it was amazing

I already knew that Victorian life had plenty of downsides – but this book left me convinced 120% that I would want NO part of that time period.

The bo
...more
Nov 10, 2014
Oct 21, 2014
 
Jane Boleyn: The True Story of the Infamous Lady Rochford
3.66
liked it
Julia Fox swings back and forth between brilliantly well researched presentation of the lesser known members of King Henry’s court, to a style of faux ...more
not set
Oct 13, 2008
 
A Curse Dark as Gold
3.56
it was ok
**spoiler alert** This is a good book - but I didn't enjoy reading it.

Good writing, good dialogue, tightly woven plot, good research - BUT for 90% of
...more
Apr 05, 2009
Mar 17, 2009
 
A Day of Fire: A Novel of Pompeii
4.14
it was amazing

Warning: the book is very blunt about the ancient Roman Empire’s thriving industries of sexual slavery and entertainment murder.

That said -

This. Was.
...more
Dec 09, 2015
Nov 16, 2014
 
The White Queen
3.75
it was amazing

Imagine trying to explain succession wars to a child:


“Well, honey, Upper Class Twit A has 5/8’s a cup of royal blood and Upper Class Twit B has 4/7’s
...more
Mar 21, 2013
Feb 27, 2013
 
Alison Wonderland
2.44
did not like it
The best thing about this book was the four blank pages at the end.

I needed to make a note of something and luckily had this book on hand.

Meanwhile, t
...more
Mar 04, 2012
Mar 03, 2012
 
Dick and Jane and Vampires
3.69
really liked it

While the book is clearly jumping on the P&P&Z bandwagon, and is also very clearly extremely impressed with its own cleverness, I am willing t
...more
Jan 19, 2011
Dec 14, 2010
 
The King's Curse (The Plantagenet and Tudor Novels #7; The Cousins' War #6)
3.97
did not like it
**spoiler alert**
Well, it’s not quite a clip show.

Rather than straight up clips assembled from all her other Plantagenet and Tudor Books, Gregory re
...more
Sep 20, 2014
May 29, 2014
 
The Lady in the Tower: The Fall of Anne Boleyn
3.99
it was amazing

Alison Weir examines the last five months of Anne Boleyn's life - from riding high as expectant mother of the next king, to dead on the block, in this
...more
Feb 2010
Jan 23, 2010
 
Mary Boleyn: The Mistress of Kings
3.80
really liked it

It doesn't grab you by the throat and shake you the way her Lady in the Tower does, but it is very, very thoughtful, leaving the reader pondering poss
...more
Oct 30, 2012
Jan 29, 2011
 
After Rome: A Novel of Celtic Britain
3.18
it was ok

After a beautiful prologue describing the history of England from the Ice Age to the Fall of Rome in lyrical prose and exquisite detail, we are then t
...more
Mar 07, 2013
Feb 07, 2013
 
Redshifted: Martian Stories (Third Flatiron Anthologies, Volume 2, Winter 2013)
4.72
it was amazing

Eurydice in Capricorn by Neil James Hudson
Hope can be painful, and we poor humans are superstitious creatures who will cling to anything to try and i
...more
Dec 11, 2013
Dec 03, 2013
 
Esther: Royal Beauty (Dangerous Beauty, #1)
4.10
liked it

There’s a rather infamous Star Wars fanfic floating around the internet about Darth Maul (yes, Darth too-much-fun-with-face-paint Maul) going to a Har
...more
Feb 10, 2015
Jan 12, 2015
 
The Adventures of a South Pole Pig: A novel of snow and courage
3.81
really liked it

At the end of the day Charlotte's Web is the better book and will always be the better book for reasons any grad student would love to write an 80 pag
...more
Mar 29, 2013
Mar 28, 2013
 
Love, Remember Me (Wyndham Saga, #2)
4.12
did not like it
When I was in college, someone (I honestly can't remember who) literally placed this in my hands and cheerfully said, "You like the Tudors, you should ...more
Jan 2004
Jun 03, 2009
 
Wisdom's Daughter: A Novel of Solomon and Sheba
3.84
really liked it

Edghill really wanted to showcase the world of Solomon and Bilqis, and her choice to do so was to give us so, so, so many Point-Of-View characters, fi
...more
Oct 07, 2016
Dec 15, 2011
 
Harry Potter and History
4.36
liked it
It’s an interesting book, and I learned a few things, like where the term “hocus pocus” comes from, and learned more about things such as Nicolas Flem ...more
not set
Aug 07, 2011
 
The Essence of Style: How the French Invented High Fashion, Fine Food, Chic Cafes, Style, Sophistication, and Glamour
3.85
it was amazing

DeJean’s thesis is that the modern luxury market originated from the reign of Louis XIV, “The Sun King.”

She backs up the idea beautifully chapter by
...more
May 13, 2016
May 13, 2016
 
Song for a Dark Queen
3.88
really liked it

The problem with growing up under the earnest tutelage of people like Spielberg and Lucas is you come to believe that the world is split into Good peo
...more
Feb 22, 2015
Dec 19, 2013
 
Building Red: Mission Mars
5.00
it was amazing

So close and yet so far – that’s how Mars is right now. Humans on Mars is still a dream, though one that might be getting rapidly closer to reality. I
...more
Dec 29, 2015
May 08, 2015
 
The King's Rose
3.52
it was amazing
Alisa Libby tackles the events of Henry VIII's fifth marriage, and takes a shot, like so many historical fiction writers before and after her, at gett ...more
not set
Apr 10, 2009
 
DIY Magic: A Strange and Whimsical Guide to Creativity
3.87
it was ok

Unfortunately I have to take knock points off for the unintentional theme of unexamined privilege that I felt runs through the book.

Many of these exer
...more
Mar 22, 2016
Mar 16, 2016
Rss infinite
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 201 202