bookshelves

all (6088)
« 1 »

cover title author rating rating my rating review Down arrow read added
 
The Creation of Anne Boleyn: A New Look at England's Most Notorious Queen
3.84
it was amazing

“What do you mean different versions? She isn’t Catwoman!”

This was my boyfriend’s bemused reaction to hearing what I was reading about. Laughing, I we
...more
Jan 30, 2013
Jan 29, 2013
 
Jane Boleyn: The True Story of the Infamous Lady Rochford
3.66
liked it
Julia Fox swings back and forth between brilliantly well researched presentation of the lesser known members of King Henry’s court, to a style of faux ...more
not set
Oct 13, 2008
 
The Lady in the Tower: The Fall of Anne Boleyn
3.99
it was amazing

Alison Weir examines the last five months of Anne Boleyn's life - from riding high as expectant mother of the next king, to dead on the block, in this
...more
Feb 2010
Jan 23, 2010
 
Mary Boleyn: The Mistress of Kings
3.80
really liked it

It doesn't grab you by the throat and shake you the way her Lady in the Tower does, but it is very, very thoughtful, leaving the reader pondering poss
...more
Oct 30, 2012
Jan 29, 2011
 
Catherine of Aragon
4.11
it was amazing
Not a good read - an EXCELLENT read.

I had no idea this book existed until I saw it on the shelf in a used bookstore. I gasped with happiness to find a
...more
not set
Dec 14, 2008
 
The Women of the Cousins' War: The Duchess, the Queen, and the King's Mother
3.75
it was amazing

I was going to give this 3 stars for shoddy workmanship, but decided on 5 stars for pure entertainment value.

Ms. Gregory found two hungry Plantagenet
...more
not set
Jan 18, 2011
 
The Men Who Would Be King: Suitors to Queen Elizabeth I
3.58
it was amazing

An excellent examination of Queen Elizabeth I that looks at her life through the lens of all the times she almost got married, and points out how she
...more
Dec 30, 2016
Dec 16, 2016
 
Catherine of Aragon: The Spanish Queen of Henry VIII
4.08
it was amazing

Amazingly well done biography. Tremlett combs through account books and diplomat reports and uses them to present a on the ground picture of the life
...more
not set
Dec 21, 2010
 
The Wives of Henry the Eighth and the Parts they Played in History (Illustrated)
3.69
it was amazing

I loved how this book placed the history of Henry VIII’s six wives in the bigger picture of 16th century European politics.

I was also intrigued by the
...more
Dec 13, 2014
Dec 05, 2014
 
Elizabeth of York: The Forgotten Tudor Queen
4.01
it was amazing

I’m tempted to label this a “perfect” biography.

Licence follows Elizabeth of York’s life from beginning to end, giving the reader both information abo
...more
Sep 29, 2014
Mar 24, 2013
 
How To Be a Tudor: A Dawn-to-Dusk Guide to Tudor Life
3.95
it was amazing

There is dedicated research and then there is you-wore-what-for-three-months???

Goodman falls into the latter category as she lays out everything she d
...more
Dec 13, 2016
Dec 05, 2016
 
1536: The Year that Changed Henry VIII
4.07
liked it

I think in the hands of someone like Starkey or Weir this could have been great - here it is just OK. Really amazing content, research, analysis and t
...more
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 26, 2010
 
The Boleyn Women: The Tudor Femmes Fatales Who Changed English History
3.89
it was amazing

Norton traces the beginnings of the Boleyn family and shows that there were quite a number of Boleyn women worthy of attention before Anne and her dau
...more
May 04, 2016
Dec 11, 2013
 
The Wars of the Roses: The Fall of the Plantagenets and the Rise of the Tudors
4.23
really liked it

Dan Jones is good when it comes to presenting known facts – doing a very good job presenting in an understandable and linear fashion, the crazy of the
...more
Nov 22, 2014
Oct 02, 2014
 
Mary Tudor: The Spanish Tudor
4.01
really liked it
This book was written in the early twentieth century and has become increasingly dated with age – Prescott keeps apologizing for the fact that Mary wa ...more
not set
Dec 29, 2009
 
The Mistresses of Henry VIII
4.03
it was amazing

With hyperactive excitement, Hart reports every piece of gossip, every breath of scandal, quotes every historian, chases down every rumor, determined
...more
Jan 19, 2017
Jul 17, 2010
 
The Life of Thomas More
3.98
it was amazing

Very much a biography’s biography, we start with Thomas More’s birth, then childhood, schooling, and so on, solidly chronological from there, always t
...more
Sep 23, 2015
Nov 21, 2009
 
Margaret Beaufort: Mother of the Tudor Dynasty
3.88
really liked it

While this could have been simply yet another re-telling of the War of the Roses, Norton really digs in deep to pull out every primary source she can
...more
Jan 07, 2013
Jan 04, 2011
 
Anne Boleyn: Fatal Attractions
3.63
it was ok

If this book was an action movie, the tag line on the movie poster would be: "Everything you thought you knew is wrong!"

G.W. Bernard timidly offers th
...more
not set
Jun 29, 2010
 
Mary Boleyn: In a Nutshell
3.78
it was amazing

Despite so little to go on, Bryson does a wonderful job examining Mary Boleyn's life in a fair and balanced way, celebrating her accomplishments, and
...more
May 17, 2016
May 03, 2016
 
Dress at the Court of King Henry VIII
4.72
it was amazing

A huge, over-sized book, stuffed full of full color plates, black and white pictures, statistics, figures, biographies, world context, and unending fa
...more
Feb 05, 2017
Dec 30, 2008
 
Catherine Howard: The Adulterous Wife of Henry VIII
3.31
liked it

David – can I call you David? – what are you doing here? I get that Katherine Howard is a difficult biography to tell in a straight, linear fashion, b
...more
Dec 24, 2013
Dec 04, 2013
 
Mary Boleyn: The True Story of Henry VIII's Mistress
4.09
really liked it

I think it’s a stretch for Wilkinson to suggest Mary Boleyn was the great love of Henry VIII’s life – Henry loved Henry – but other than that, Wilkins
...more
Jan 23, 2017
Oct 11, 2009
 
Wicked Women of Tudor England: Queens, Aristocrats, Commoners
3.65
really liked it

An examination of the sources more than the people themselves, it is well presented and makes some good points about new interpretations of the data,
...more
Jan 28, 2014
Jan 22, 2014
 
Thomas Cromwell: The Untold Story of Henry VIII's Most Faithful Servant
4.10
it was amazing

This reads as somewhat of a movie-tie-in book. You’ve seen Wolf Hall! Now read the non-fiction biography that agrees with Mantel’s thesis that Cromwel
...more
Mar 05, 2017
Nov 16, 2014
 
The Temptation of Elizabeth Tudor: Elizabeth I, Thomas Seymour, and the Making of a Virgin Queen
3.70
it was amazing

I don’t think “The Temptation of Elizabeth” is the right title for this book – “Young Elizabeth: Trial By Fire” might be a more accurate sum up of thi
...more
Mar 08, 2017
Apr 23, 2016
 
Henry VII
2.73
it was ok

The author starts out with an academic's version of The Little Red Hen:

Who will help me find the primary sources? Who will help me analyze the primary
...more
not set
Apr 25, 2011
 
Foundation: The History of England from Its Earliest Beginnings to the Tudors (The History of England, #1)
3.96
really liked it

For a country where words like “stodgy,” “quaint,” “stiff,” and “civilized” are tossed about to describe the people, it appears to have a history abso
...more
Nov 26, 2012
Sep 04, 2012
 
Winter King: Henry VII and the Dawn of Tudor England
3.83
it was amazing

Between the bloody War of the Roses and the sexploits of Henry VIII and his six wives, Henry VII tends to be overlooked.

If he’s mentioned at all its
...more
Mar 24, 2012
Jan 31, 2012
 
Elizabeth of York, the Mother of Henry VIII
3.35
it was ok


As the rough draft of a historical fiction book about Elizabeth of York, it’s great, as the final draft of a factual biography about Elizabeth of York
...more
Aug 15, 2013
Aug 04, 2013
Rss infinite More books shelved as 'tudor-fact' »
« previous 1 3 4 5 6