cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down_arrow date read date added
 
Shakespeare (The Illustrated and Updated Edition)
3.76
I've been fascinated with Shakespeare since I took a course on his works in college. I love the democracy of his work--he was the genre writer of his ...more
Jul 2010
Jun 24, 2010
 
Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice
4.05
Enjoyed this. A little younger than I usually read, but illuminated a relatively unknown (until recently) bit of history.
not set
Mar 09, 2011
 
The Forest for the Trees
3.95
An unusual book that goes beyond craft issues to navigating the mental and emotional pitfalls of writing and the publishing business. Recommended.
not set
Jun 14, 2010
 
Trail of Tears: The Rise and Fall of the Cherokee Nation
4.12
This was an interesting, somewhat contrary take on the story of The Trail of Tears. The ending was something of a surprise, for a nonfiction book. Thi ...more
Jun 14, 2010
May 11, 2010
 
Just Kids
4.13
I wasn't especially a Patti Smith fan, but the woman can write, and it really took me back. Deserves the accolades it's getting.
Mar 09, 2011
Jan 27, 2011
 
Life
3.82
Fascinating for any Stones fan. Lots of music-related info as well.
not set
Jun 21, 2011
 
Public Enemies: America's Greatest Crime Wave and the Birth of the FBI, 1933-34
3.91
This book took a long time to get through, but it was immensely engaging.
not set
Aug 29, 2009
 
And a Voice to Sing With
3.79
None
Jan 27, 2011
Nov 16, 2010
Rss More books shelved as 'nonfiction' »