cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down arrow date read date added
 
Chariots of The Gods
3.46
Wishful thinking/Speculation with no reasoning.

From the chapter : Feiry Chariots From The Heavens : "This book puts forward a hypothesis made up of ma
...more
Dec 12, 2010
Dec 08, 2010
 
Animal Farm
3.81
The creatures outside looked from pig to man, and from man to pig, and from pig to man again; but already it was impossible to say which was which.
Apr 23, 2011
Apr 23, 2011
 
What Money Can't Buy: The Moral Limits of Markets
3.85
2.5

Enjoyed the first half of the book. Makes you think. Second half of the book feels like Freakonomics A Rogue Economist Explores the Hidden Side of
...more
Jan 03, 2013
May 28, 2012
 
Losing It (Losing It, #1)
3.80
mmm. read it on recommendation. Not sure if this was the book after I finished it. I don't really read these.
Jul 25, 2013
Jul 23, 2013
 
Into the Wild
3.90
I'd recommend the movie instead. Author's discourse on his solo climb of Devil's thumb in Alaska is just a page filler and an unnecessary distraction. ...more
Oct 29, 2011
Oct 17, 2011
 
The Planets
3.62
Its a romantic/poetic account of the solar system. Disappointed - Had different expectations when I picked it up.
Jan 11, 2011
Jan 05, 2011
 
Mortality
4.10
Deeply affected. (Felt the needle searching a vein)
Sep 11, 2012
Sep 09, 2012
 
Reach for the Stars: The Evolution of India's Rocket Programme
3.00
The subject of the book trumps its flaws : Redundant lines and lack of coherence in timeline.

A recommended read for anybody interested in Indian Space
...more
May 11, 2012
Apr 26, 2012
 
Letters of Note: An Eclectic Collection of Correspondence Deserving of a Wider Audience
4.41

its better that this book is read in a tablet than a e-reader. Very interesting and an amusing read.
Dec 15, 2013
Dec 01, 2013
 
Nine Algorithms That Changed the Future: The Ingenious Ideas That Drive Today's Computers
3.74
If you are already into programming you would have come across all these algorithms or tricks. I would have enjoyed it if there was more history assoc ...more
Jan 28, 2014
Apr 30, 2012
 
Broken Republic: Three Essays
4.05
Makes you think ...
Sep 27, 2011
Sep 17, 2011
 
Going Solo: The Extraordinary Rise and Surprising Appeal of Living Alone
3.37
Documentary of the growing trend of people living alone. Very balanced book. Consciously tries to be unbiased. Beside the statistics, no new informati ...more
May 29, 2012
Apr 10, 2012
 
Gomorrah
3.72
2.5

Book gives a comprehensive insight into the criminal world of Italy and the influence of markets. The prose style is mixed journalism and fiction.
...more
Feb 14, 2013
Jan 23, 2012
 
Reality Is Broken: Why Games Make Us Better and How They Can Change the World
3.81
The book has very good ideas... It explores this: playing games is very interesting and it pushes its participants to the limits of creativity, collab ...more
Jun 02, 2011
Feb 08, 2011
 
The Prince
3.74

Be it known, then, that there are two ways of contending, one in accordance with the laws, the other by force; the first of which is proper to men, t
...more
Sep 26, 2012
Jul 12, 2012
 
SuperFreakonomics: Global Cooling, Patriotic Prostitutes and Why Suicide Bombers Should Buy Life Insurance
3.90
Enjoyed this book very much. Especially the chapters on "Apathy and Altruism" and "What do AL Gore and Mount Pinatubo have in common". There are few s ...more
Oct 11, 2010
Jan 11, 2010
 
The Giver (The Giver, #1)
4.11
The worst part of holding memories is not the pain. It's the loneliness of it. Memories need to be shared.
Jun 14, 2011
Sep 28, 2010
 
Masters of Doom: How Two Guys Created an Empire and Transformed Pop Culture
4.25
Loved it! Of course me a fan-boy. Recommend this to every body who has played any sort of video game and wanted to write one! Inspiring!
Mar 30, 2011
Dec 29, 2010
 
Outliers: The Story of Success
4.07
Got bored at the end. Its the way he writes .. A little too narrative to make a simple point i guess .. A good easy nice read.
Jan 08, 2011
Sep 15, 2010
 
Resistance, Rebellion and Death: Essays
4.17
Wish I knew a little more of European history - Would have enjoyed the book more. "Reflections on the Guillotine" is my favorite!
Jul 18, 2011
Feb 11, 2011
 
The Theory That Would Not Die: How Bayes' Rule Cracked the Enigma Code, Hunted Down Russian Submarines, and Emerged Triumphant from Two Centuries of Controversy
3.55
Book doesn't really deal with the "How" Bayes rule was used over the years. Its more of a chronicle.
Nov 30, 2013
Oct 07, 2011
 
The Martian
4.36
Easy quick read. Does make you feel like an astronaut stranded in Mars for a while :)
Nov 18, 2014
Jun 04, 2014
 
The Great Railway Bazaar
3.93
Brief, brutal, honest and witty.
Apr 21, 2012
Dec 08, 2011
 
The Red Market: On the Trail of the World's Organ Brokers, Bone Thieves, Blood Farmers, and Child Traffickers
3.79
Disturbing.

Recommended.
Oct 21, 2011
Jun 07, 2011
 
Hammer of the Gods: The Led Zeppelin Saga
3.82
Me a fanboy :)
Feb 24, 2011
Feb 09, 2011
 
Ghost in the Wires: My Adventures as the World's Most Wanted Hacker
3.94
None
Sep 06, 2012
Aug 04, 2012
 
The Iron Cage
3.98
None
Jun 11, 2011
Jun 02, 2011
 
Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance: An Inquiry Into Values
3.73
None
Feb 04, 2010
Jan 11, 2010
 
Faster: The Acceleration of Just About Everything
3.51
None
not set
Jul 04, 2008
 
Childhood's End
4.07
None
Sep 2012
Apr 17, 2012
Rss
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7