cover title author avg rating rating my rating review Down_arrow date read date added
 
The Hour of the Star
3.95
This is the sixth or seventh time I have read this book and it simply gets better each time I return to it. A masterpiece in about seventy pages. If y...more
Apr 2008
Apr 27, 2008
 
Endless Things (The Aegypt Cycle, #4)
4.05
More than 20 years after I read Aegypt, I finally have reached the end of the cycle. It could have ended no other way. Though I was a bit disappointed...more
Aug 26, 2009
Aug 22, 2009
 
Æstival Tide
4.02
A worthy sequel to Winterlong. I could read Hand's sf forever but, alas, she has no desire to return to this alternate world. Just as good as the firs...more
Apr 22, 2011
Apr 22, 2011
 
Friend Is Not a Verb
3.07
Two thirds of the way in, I got hit by the realization that this was a book about rich kids going through stuff. Who cares about rich kids and their p...more
Nov 06, 2011
Nov 06, 2011
 
Olive's Ocean
3.78
I understand why so many of my students have read this book. It avoids triteness and offers no easy answers. It's the kind of truth to which kids resp...more
Dec 25, 2008
Dec 25, 2008
 
Wide Sargasso Sea
3.52
I might have to read this one again because this first reading was disappointing. The pace and style are out of synch with what I think of as a Wester...more
Aug 09, 2009
Aug 09, 2009
 
The Moor's Last Sigh
3.92
Couldn't quite give it five stars because the protagonist's voice was too reminiscent of the same from Midnight's Children. What a joy to read literat...more
Nov 14, 2011
Nov 13, 2011
 
Shakespeare: The World as Stage
3.76
An excellent, highly accessible biography. Nothing new to the initiated but a wealth of historical data that brings the past to life in vivid detail.
Jun 12, 2010
Jun 12, 2010
 
Of Fire and Night (The Saga of Seven Suns, #5)
3.91
I got the action I wanted. With two more books in the series it wasn't surprising to see new plot threads emerge right at the end.
Mar 28, 2009
Mar 28, 2009
 
The Ladies of Grace Adieu and Other Stories
3.82
I thought this one was a bit of a letdown. Not surprisingly, the best stories were the first about Strange and the last about the Raven King.
Jan 03, 2010
Jan 03, 2010
 
Sexy
3.18
Is there anything Oates can't do? Here is a young adult novel that's pretty good but should probably be reserved for older students.
Jan 15, 2009
Jan 17, 2009
 
A House for Mr Biswas
3.80
Ann Henderson suggested this title long ago and I resisted but with the upcoming move to Kingston was forced to read it. I quite enjoyed it.
Aug 06, 2009
Aug 06, 2009
 
The Body of Christopher Creed (Steepleton Chronicles, #1)
3.87
I thought this was a strange book but liked the protagonist's realization that he had been unkind to someone he knew. It was oddly affecting.
Oct 18, 2011
Oct 18, 2011
 
Breathless
3.39
After years of not reading Koontz, picking this up at the beach was a mistake. Trite, hokey, and plot holes galore. Koontz has gone off the rails.
Sep 28, 2011
Oct 01, 2011
 
So Long a Letter
3.78
I finally got around to this one and, though I understand why it's such a well-known text, it is not a book that I would necessarily recommend.
Oct 18, 2009
Oct 19, 2009
 
A Feast for Crows (A Song of Ice and Fire, #4)
4.03
This plot-driven story does move right along. Soon it will be six years since it was written. Wonder when the sequel will arrive?
Sep 30, 2010
Sep 30, 2010
 
The God Box
3.97
Good but a bit too didactic for me though, I suppose, that's the point of the book--to figure out what it means to be gay and Christian.
Jul 2010
Jul 01, 2010
 
I Am the Messenger
4.11
Though I found the protagonist likable and the writing adequate, the premise for this story rankled, the more so for its veneer of realism.
Dec 05, 2009
Dec 05, 2009
 
The Shakespeare Stealer (Shakespeare Stealer, #1)
3.64
The focus of this book was not so much on Shakespeare as on the times. Perfect for middle school kids interesting in WS.
Jan 11, 2009
Jan 11, 2009
 
Monster
3.66
There's a bit of ambiguity in this young adult novel that makes it very appealing. Also, the presentation is unusual and engaging.
Oct 17, 2009
Oct 19, 2009
 
The Clay Marble
3.72
I enjoyed this book but the motivations and behavior of many of the characters were not properly developed and rang false.
Feb 18, 2012
Feb 18, 2012
 
Learning the World: A Scientific Romance
3.66
I was expecting too much from this one that truly underwhelmed me. I kept waiting for the big climax that never happened.
May 08, 2009
May 07, 2009
 
Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell
3.74
The ironic tone in this book really worked for me. All the hype was true and the one thousand pages went very quickly.
Jan 05, 2009
Jan 06, 2009
 
It's Kind of a Funny Story
4.15
My tenth grade class here in Kingston recommended this one. It was as good as promised. I want to read more by this author.
Nov 22, 2009
Nov 22, 2009
 
The Best American Essays 2009
3.76
First time reading a book from this series. Interesting articles though not all were to my liking. "First" was the best.
Oct 18, 2010
Oct 18, 2010
 
Paper Towns
4.07
Some great lines and observations. Love Q but the camaraderie of the trio of best friends seems forced and unrealistic.
Apr 16, 2013
Apr 18, 2013
 
Solibo Magnificent
3.68
I finally got around to reading this one. I wasn't blown away but I did appreciate its humor and the storytelling aspect.
Apr 03, 2010
Apr 03, 2010
 
The Chocolate War (Chocolate War, #1)
3.47
I never get tired of reading this great young adult novel. My students always like it and there's a reason for that.
Dec 03, 2008
Dec 05, 2008
 
The Diving Bell and the Butterfly: A Memoir of Life in Death
4.00
This one hit close to home as it reminded me of my father in his nursing home and, of course, of Merchant's "Verdi Cries."
Apr 27, 2013
Apr 27, 2013
 
If I Stay (If I Stay, #1)
3.99
Simply written. The main character comes alive even as she hovers near death. This story resonated for obvious reasons.
Jan 17, 2010
Jan 17, 2010
Rss
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 13 14