From the Bookshelf of YA Book Council

Grave Mercy
by
Start date
September 10, 2012
Finish date
October 7, 2012
Discussion
Official Selections
Discussion leader
Alethea A

Find A Copy At

Group Discussions About This Book

When You Reach Me // A Wrinkle in Time
By Jane · 12 posts · 20 views
last updated Mar 24, 2011 12:33PM
Forest of Hands & Teeth
By Tracy · 10 posts · 46 views
last updated Oct 12, 2010 07:42PM
showing 1 of 1 topics    view all »
Other topics mentioning this book
This topic has been closed to new comments. 2012 Discussion Archive
By Jane · 1 post · 14 views
last updated Jun 27, 2012 10:19PM

What Members Thought

Laura
Dec 13, 2012 Laura rated it liked it
There is so much love for this book - and I do understand that love - but there was also the dreaded padding to contend with. I wanted more in the convent itself, getting to know about the training and the poisons, as well as Sybella(!!) and less of the embroidery at the feet of the duchess.

Basing this on an episode of Brittany v France's long struggle (I did check; the duchess, the "French whore" and all those are actual historical figures) and rooting it in the Old Gods (checked that, too, an
...more
David
Oct 08, 2012 David rated it liked it
Grave Mercy is a decent book. That said, I'm marking it down because I felt that it wasn't sufficiently engaging and it reminded me of other books I've read. Perhaps better books. I think perhaps the author was trapped because quite a bit of it is based on an actual situation with a historical duchess. Also was fairly predictable.

(view spoiler)
...more
Jenn
Mar 05, 2012 Jenn rated it it was amazing
Shelves: ya, sf-and-fantasy
Fantastic. Five stars for sure. A rich, detailed alternate world similar to historic Brittany, but with magic and old gods and mysterious cults. Many likable characters -- including our heroine Ismae -- and a romantic subplot without any of the dangerous gender politics I see in so many other YA books. An engrossing read that makes me itch for the next book in the series.

Fans of GRACELING and THE GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS will definitely want to read this!

Note: I read this via NetGalley, but will
...more
missART
Mar 10, 2013 missART rated it liked it
Solid premise with great action and intrigue, I thoroughly enjoyed it!! Thinking back though, I feel like there were instances where Ismae's conclusions were drawn for her, for instance - She plans to spy on the nobles but they are all out hunting, instead of thinking to herself "Drat, that dashes that idea," Gavriel is the one to tell her as much. Derp. Perhaps I am spoiled with the highly independent characters and complex internal monologues of Assassins Creed. Regardless, this was a fun read ...more
Roxy
Oct 08, 2012 Roxy rated it it was ok
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Bethany Miller
Summary:
Life hasn’t been easy for Ismae. When her mother’s husband realized that his wife was carrying a baby that was sired by Death, he beat her savagely and then took her to an herbwitch to have the baby poisoned. The poison left a deep red scar but did not kill Ismae; her mother, however, did not survive the birth. After seventeen years of her father’s abuse, Ismae is finally married to Guillo, a man who turns out to be just as brutal. With the help of the herbwitch who had tried to poison h
...more
A.M. Hughes
May 16, 2012 A.M. Hughes rated it liked it
I'm torn as to how I should actually rate this read. It's somewhere between a three and a four, with moments of a 4.5 and others of a 2.5 - can I be any less vague?

This book had beautiful moments, and then (obviously according to my rating) moments that weren't so much...

Bottom line - there were was enough to keep me intrigued even through slower sections, and enough at the end that leaves me wanting to read the next in the series.
Amy
Jul 09, 2012 Amy added it
Assassin nuns--how can you pass this one up? :-) It's such a unique concept, I was hooked before I opened the cover. In a nutshell, Ismae's daddy is Death, and a convent of killer nuns trains Ismae to serve Dad as an assassin. As the book progressed, it was more about political intrigue than assassinations (not that I should admit to being disappointed by that), but I liked the developing romance, the historical feel and the development of the characters.
Katie
Oct 16, 2012 Katie rated it it was ok
A.O. Peart
Jan 21, 2013 A.O. Peart marked it as to-read
Jen
Jul 20, 2015 Jen rated it really liked it
Shelves: ya-fantasy
Alyson (Kid Lit Frenzy)
Oct 07, 2012 Alyson (Kid Lit Frenzy) rated it really liked it
Shelves: ya, 2012
Alfonso
Oct 07, 2012 Alfonso marked it as abandon
Marlot
Jan 28, 2016 Marlot rated it it was amazing
Shelves: ya, e-book
Ally C.
Mar 04, 2013 Ally C. marked it as to-read
Tammy
Jun 11, 2014 Tammy marked it as to-read  ·  review of another edition
Dori
Jun 18, 2012 Dori marked it as placeholder-for-a-series
Kristin
Jun 02, 2012 Kristin rated it liked it
Janis
May 26, 2012 Janis marked it as to-read
Laura
Oct 03, 2014 Laura rated it really liked it
Shelves: young-adult, 2014
Kate
Feb 10, 2013 Kate rated it liked it
Shelves: 2013
Sophia
Jul 05, 2012 Sophia rated it really liked it
Shelves: ya, fantasy
Jamie
Apr 03, 2012 Jamie marked it as to-read
Catherine
Oct 10, 2014 Catherine marked it as to-read
« previous 1