From the Bookshelf of What Shall I Read?

When You Were Older
Transworld Titles
Why we're reading this
Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult and Diane Chamberlain, the powerful new novel from the bestselling autho…more

Find A Copy At

Group Discussions About This Book

What Members Thought

Russell Ammiano is rushing to get ready and out through the door to go to work on September 11th 2011 when a phone call saves his life. As tragedy strikes New York, Russell must rush home to Kansas to take care of his brother, Ben.

Russell’s mother has died, turning his life upside-down. Ben is mentally disabled and now needs Russell’s help in order to function. Any change to routine is unacceptable and upsets Ben a great deal. Will Russell cope?

When You Were Older is a moving story set in a time
This is the first book by this author that I have read and I loved it. Russell and Ben are brothers but are so different. Ben is the older by six years however because of brain damage, he is childlike and has to follow a certain daily routine. When Russell returns home to arrange his mother's funeral and to care for Ben, because no-one else will, without any guidance he has to devise his own `manual' on how to deal with Ben's tantrums and difficulties. The frustrations felt by Russell are though ...more
Jan 26, 2012 Julie marked it as to-read
Lisa (scarlet21)
Jun 11, 2012 Lisa (scarlet21) marked it as to-read
Shelves: wishlist