From the Bookshelf of Ms. Reviews & Bookmarks

The Help
by
Why we're reading this
THE ROAD MORE TRAVELED
Erin Aubry Kaplan

Review of The Help
By Kathryn Stockett
Amy Einhorn Books

In her tale…more

Find A Copy At

Group Discussions About This Book

No group discussions for this book yet.

What Members Thought

Katrina
Jul 03, 2016 Katrina rated it liked it
I truly believe some books enter our lives just because we need them. This is one of those books. I had been thinking about reading it for awhile and just got around to reading it. I needed this book right now. Great read, wonderful touching story.
Emily Dahl
Sep 16, 2011 Emily Dahl rated it really liked it
Recommended to Emily by: Janet Lindsley
Shelves: book-club
I ended up enjoying this book much more than anticipated -- even though I cheated and saw the movie first. It was, as I've heard others describe it, "compulsively readable;" indeed, I couldn't put it down ("is there really going to be the Terrible Awful?" "when will Minnie find out about the babies??"). The thing I enjoyed about the book even more than the movie is the pacing of it. The movie, I think, compacted things into a pretty little digestable pieces. The book, on the other hand, slowed e ...more
Linda
The more time passes, the more I dislike this book. I finished it four days ago. If I wait any longer to write the review, I am sure it will drop another star. It was definitely not a terrible *reading experience* - that is to say, it wasn't boring or stupid or really bizarrely constructed or written upside down on every other page or anything. But it was awful on a couple of levels, not the least of which is that I am fairly certain the author did not at ALL learn the lessons she is apparently ...more
Mary Jo
Feb 17, 2011 Mary Jo rated it really liked it
I really liked this book. It made me think about a time and a place in American history that I have not explored - the deep south in the early 60s mostly from the perspective of 'the help' - the domestic servants. The writing is decent. The 3 main characters are fairly well developed and different. I got into the book and couldn't put it down.
Johanna
Aug 21, 2011 Johanna rated it really liked it
Better than I expected, and (of course) better than the movie. Try to read the book before going to the theater!
Kristen
Loved all of these characters! I couldn't put this book down.
Megan Hoover
Mar 30, 2015 Megan Hoover marked it as to-read
Sara
Dec 07, 2011 Sara rated it liked it
Amy
Feb 20, 2012 Amy rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Amanda
Aug 29, 2011 Amanda marked it as to-read
Chris
Sep 03, 2011 Chris rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Alma
Feb 15, 2012 Alma marked it as to-read
Angie
Aug 18, 2011 Angie marked it as to-read  ·  review of another edition
Anuka
Mar 29, 2016 Anuka rated it it was amazing
elizabeth
Jul 11, 2011 elizabeth rated it liked it
Katie
Jul 23, 2012 Katie rated it really liked it
Dee
Jun 05, 2011 Dee rated it it was amazing
Crystal
May 22, 2011 Crystal marked it as to-read
Shelves: mine-to-read
Nikita T. Mitchell
May 19, 2011 Nikita T. Mitchell marked it as to-read
Courd
May 12, 2011 Courd rated it it was amazing
Shelves: favorites, fiction
Carrie
Mar 24, 2011 Carrie rated it liked it
Rachel
May 29, 2013 Rachel rated it really liked it
Jen Petras
Aug 23, 2011 Jen Petras rated it really liked it
Jennifer
Feb 07, 2011 Jennifer rated it really liked it
Shelli
Apr 01, 2016 Shelli rated it liked it
Janaki
Mar 30, 2012 Janaki rated it it was ok
Kierston
Jun 23, 2010 Kierston marked it as to-read
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9