From the Bookshelf of The Readers Review: Literature from 1800 to 1910

The Death of Ivan Ilych
by
Start date
September 10, 2011
Finish date
September 30, 2011
Discussion leader
Silver
Why we're reading this
Interm read between "The Hunchback of Notre Dame and our next Major read for October-November

Find A Copy At

Group Discussions About This Book

No group discussions for this book yet.

What Members Thought

Laura
Free download available at eBooks@Adelaide.

Opening lines:
During an interval in the Melvinski trial in the large building of the Law Courts the members and public prosecutor met in Ivan Egorovich Shebek’s private room, where the conversation turned on the celebrated Krasovski case.
Katy
Dec 13, 2011 Katy rated it it was amazing
Shelves: favorites
This was the first book by Tolstoy I ever read. What impressed me about it was that I honestly believed that Tolstoy actually knew what it was like to die. How he could have possibly known, I can't say. But, I believe him on every point.

I then went on to read Anna Karenina, and was again struck by his ability to somehow know things he couldn't have personally experienced (for example, what it's like to nurse an infant).

Tolstoy seems to know everything, and he conveys what he knows with such grac
...more
Lisa
Jun 25, 2011 Lisa rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Recommended to Lisa by: 19thC Lit Yahoo group
Ivan Ilyich is a shallow man who makes the mistake of making an unfortunate marriage and dies at the end of the story in monstrous pain.
In real life this ill-matched couple would probably have been nicer people if they'd married someone else, but this is a story and Tolstoy being a 19th century man has characterised her as a termagant. So that's what she is, it's all her fault, and Ivan does his best to sidestep the situation by focussing on his own self-interest and on material comfort. He ign
...more
Kerri
Mar 01, 2011 Kerri rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommended to Kerri by: Reader's Den
Shelves: classics
I gave it four stars because it took me two days to read and I finally got through a Tolstoy book without saying "huh." Unfortunately I did say "will you just die already" as I did in Anna Karenina. But I liked it.

This was also last month's Reader's Den pick and I think its a great introduction to Tolstoy for those who never read him before. http://www.nypl.org/voices/blogs/blog...

Laurel Hicks
Sep 07, 2011 Laurel Hicks rated it it was amazing
Wow! I don't know what to say.
Amanda Wise King
Dec 08, 2011 Amanda Wise King marked it as to-read
Catty
Nov 19, 2013 Catty marked it as to-read
AC
Sep 06, 2013 AC rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: novels-russian
Clare Shepherd
May 20, 2016 Clare Shepherd marked it as to-read
Cassi
Dec 22, 2012 Cassi rated it really liked it
martin
Mar 20, 2012 martin rated it really liked it
Valerie
Aug 22, 2015 Valerie marked it as to-read
Shelves: ex-books
Carlos
Dec 21, 2011 Carlos marked it as to-read
Natalie Tyler
Mar 21, 2012 Natalie Tyler rated it it was amazing
Shelves: classics
Nicki
Jul 17, 2014 Nicki marked it as to-read
MichelleCH
Oct 19, 2011 MichelleCH marked it as to-read
Khugunin
Sep 20, 2011 Khugunin rated it liked it
Silver
Sep 12, 2011 Silver rated it really liked it
Shelves: 1001books, russian
Cynthia
Jun 21, 2011 Cynthia rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Cindy Gelpi
Apr 23, 2011 Cindy Gelpi rated it really liked it
Hope
Mar 25, 2011 Hope marked it as to-read
Shelves: classics, russian
Kristina
Jul 14, 2015 Kristina marked it as to-read
Jim
Nov 23, 2009 Jim rated it it was amazing
Andreea
Aug 01, 2009 Andreea rated it liked it
« previous 1 3 4 5
37567

The Readers Review: Literature from 1800 to 1910