From the Bookshelf of The Readers Review: Literature from 1800 to 1910

The Hunchback of Notre-Dame
by
Start date
July 11, 2011
Finish date
September 9, 2011
Discussion leader
Silver
Why we're reading this
Selected to be our next group read after Jane Eyre

Find A Copy At

Group Discussions About This Book

No group discussions for this book yet.

What Members Thought

Gaijinmama
Jun 04, 2015 Gaijinmama rated it really liked it
Shelves: fiction, classics
Well, first and foremost, this is not a Disney movie!
The title is a misnomer. The original French title is Notre Dame de Paris and the cathedral itself is the star of this show. The unfortunate hunchback is only in maybe a third of the scenes.
I actually wept at the end of Hugo's Les Misérables ...the book not the musical...so I was expecting the same level of brilliance and connection. It didn't happen. This story was sad and violent and just so terribly unfair, but the characters did not touch
...more
Rebecca Reid
Jan 03, 2012 Rebecca Reid rated it liked it
Shelves: b-fic-pre-1900
Notre-Dame de Paris is often translated with the title The Hunchback of Notre Dame, but I don’t like that title as much as the original. Quasimodo, the hunchback of the story, is not the only focal point: the architecture of Notre Dame and the relationship between the two societal outcasts, Esmeralda and Quasimodo, is what drives the novel.

Although much in the beginning of the novel bored me, the action in the last half brought me around again. By the end, I liked it. The novel is firmly in the
...more
Cassi
Sep 02, 2011 Cassi rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Since this book is such a well-known classic, I expected it to be much more enjoyable. The first half of the novel was very slow-moving and I couldn't get interested in it. The plot and characters were too superficially developed for my taste, and the lengthy descriptions of the city bored me. In the second half of the story when the action develops there was a sense of suspense that kept me reading. I particularly enjoyed a passage in the climactic chapter about the fate of Claude Frollo where ...more
Cynthia
Mar 17, 2012 Cynthia marked it as to-read  ·  review of another edition
Catty
Dec 22, 2013 Catty rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Emlymom
Oct 27, 2013 Emlymom marked it as to-read
Scott
Apr 27, 2013 Scott rated it it was amazing
Shelves: read_before_2007
Amanda
Nov 25, 2015 Amanda rated it it was amazing
Rebecca
Dec 24, 2012 Rebecca marked it as to-read
Dana Resch
Nov 09, 2012 Dana Resch rated it liked it
Ryan
May 17, 2012 Ryan rated it it was amazing
Janie
Apr 30, 2012 Janie marked it as to-read
Andrea
Apr 20, 2012 Andrea marked it as to-read  ·  review of another edition
Ruby
Dec 27, 2015 Ruby marked it as to-read
Alexis
Oct 26, 2014 Alexis rated it really liked it
Katy
Dec 08, 2011 Katy rated it really liked it
Terry
Sep 23, 2011 Terry rated it did not like it
Lori
Sep 19, 2011 Lori rated it really liked it
Silver
Aug 01, 2011 Silver rated it really liked it
Lani
Jun 09, 2011 Lani marked it as to-read
SusannaW
Jun 05, 2011 SusannaW rated it really liked it
Cindy Gelpi
Apr 23, 2011 Cindy Gelpi rated it really liked it
Alan
Mar 16, 2011 Alan marked it as to-read
Sandra
Apr 22, 2010 Sandra marked it as to-read
Shelves: rory-s-book-club
Kristina
Apr 14, 2010 Kristina marked it as to-read
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7
37567

The Readers Review: Literature from 1800 to 1910