Marjorie Friday Baldwin Marjorie's Comments (member since Mar 11, 2012)


Marjorie's comments from the Creative Reviews group.

(showing 1-20 of 159)
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8

46156 Book 1 of The Phoenician Series is finally out and on free promo this weekend. Try this post-apocalyptic, far-future series about what happens when humans colonize an alien world as a last ditch attempt to fight extinction.

Man Made Man (Phoenician #1) by Marjorie F. Baldwin
blurbage
Raif was never meant to be a Proctor. He was specifically designed for another life entirely. Before he's even gone into production, Dramond steals his genetic material from the Administrator, Joshua Andrew Caine. Dramond wants to settle a lifelong vendetta against the Caines, but this one moment of vengeance puts Raif on a collision course with the Phoenicians--and the Seven Chiefs have a Plan!

Man Made Man is FREE FOR BLACK FRIDAY WEEKEND at http://amzn.to/MMM-KindleUS or http://amzn.to/MMM-KindleUK

Free offer expires midnight Pacific Time Saturday, Nov. 30, 2013. The new artwork is finished and uploaded so you can finally see Raif (notwithstanding my cartooning skills).



Sorry but the book is still exclusive to Amazon Kindle but will be coming soon to Apple, Nook, Kobo and more! (around December 5th) The URL at Smashwords will be http://bit.ly/MMM-Smash (right now this second it still says "no longer published" because I had to remove it to use Amazon's restrictive KDP Select program).

If you get a copy and read / review it and would like me to cross promo you/your book review blog, please @ me on Twitter @phoenicianbooks and/or tag me on Facebook (FridayBaldwinAuthor). You can "like" the series page or the book's individual page (so you can tag me) at http://www.facebook.com/phoenicianseries or https://www.facebook.com/ManMadeMan.P...
Jul 11, 2013 01:09PM

46156 Barbara wrote: "I had seen something on Cassie McCown's FB page - I was wondering if anyone would mention it here!"

JAC Thank you so much for posting here. I saw some mention on Cassie's newsfeed about his battle going on but from the last week of May until middle of June, when his battle peaked and ended, I was kind of battling for my own life. I was literally hours away from being homeless and kind of freaked out. I was NOT posting much beyond prayer requests on Facebook and certainly did not have time to read here on Goodreads let alone be active here or on FB or on Twitter or anywhere else I might've heard about this.

I'm so saddened to hear about his passing. I barely knew him. He's one of 5 FB friends I knew who had cancer last summer, 3 of the others have actually fought through chemo and one (38yo father of 2) is having bone marrow transplants still but otherwise totally recovered. Another (39yo mother of 3) is just finishing her last chemo and scan and seems to have escaped a relapse. It's so frightening to hear of so many YOUNG people coming down with such horrific maladies. It also makes me marvel at the world that we can actually TREAT these things now. Some of us can. I have no health care. If I get cancer, I just die and I haven't been able to afford a doctor for a regular checkup in well over a decade. Good reasons to stay healthy and fit, eh?

I'm really sad to hear Splitter's energetic sense of humor will be gone from this group. He always had a way of spinning things to make you smile.

and also...
I've been missing from this group for a long time, and noticed there's only Amy left as moderator... where is everybody else?"

Me, too on the missing from here and I'm surprised at the lack of Mods.

AMY: Are you managing the group okay? Do you need help? Did you post somewhere asking for volunteers and I missed it? I'm still just gathering up my time here and there to try to get myself back online before I release another book this fall.

If I didn't have my writing to get me through, I don't know what I'd do! That and the grace of *G*D*!!

Thanks again for posting, JAC. It's a smaller world than we think y'know?

Barb: I'm a librarian too but I think you should leave it up to the Goodreads Administrative staff to determine what they want to do with a deceased author's page. There are author pages for a LOT of authors who are deceased and were dead long before Goodreads existed. Maybe contact Goodreads Admin to tell them of his passing but I wouldn't jump to remove his existence. It's his LEGACY, after all. Isn't it?

((had to actually check and see which ID I used to log in today *haha*))

-Friday
@phoenicianbooks
Mar 13, 2013 03:53AM

46156 I actively HATE autocorrect and I only have an Android but I've heard iPhone autocorrect is worse. My sympathies :)
Mar 13, 2013 02:45AM

46156 Back on Page 2 (Jan 16, 2013) Jillian wrote:

"I'd love to beta read for someone. I'm going to school to be a teacher, so I'm pretty good detecting grammar mistakes and giving constructive criticism.


Genres/sub-genres I like:
-romance
-fantasy
-zombie novels (I'm obsessed with Carrie Ryan)
-sci-fi (most)
-dystopian (my favorite)
-post-apocalyptic
-YA (some--I love J.K. Rowling for example)
-New Adult
-Adventure
-chick lit
-paranormal
-urban fantasy
-literary with a hook
-Anything character-driven"


I'm so glad Leti replied to you, Jillian, because I hadn't even noticed your post (was incredibly busy in January and didn't get on GR much).

I'd love to see about getting you involved in the Beta Reader group for upcoming new book in The Phoenician Series.

The series is Dystopian SciFi set in a post-apocalyptic world and has some sexy, romantic threads (though if you have sex, you die and if you great sex, you die horribly so it's not really a SciFi Romance style, given romance readers really do like their Heroes and Heroines to live and have a HAE not die and leave a distraught lover in grief). The books have a specific tone, though it's hard to describe. You'd have to read it yourself.

If you'd like to sample my writing style in one of the two books out, I can offer you a coupon code in exchange for a review. Both are done (published for quite some time) so these are not "beta reads" but you are invited to comment on what you'd have wished was different. Those kinds of reviews help me make decisions for future books--like the one I'm about to work on. They also help me identify and solicit new Beta Readers.

A couple of words of caution:

When Minds Collide (A Phoenician Series Short Story) by Marjorie F. Baldwin has 2 gay characters but is not GaySF or Gay fiction just because *gasp* they do actually touch and kiss like real people! Imagine that!) The opener of WMC drags a lot, too so it's not my favorite example of my writing.

The follow-on novel Conditioned Response (A Phoenician Series Novel) by Marjorie F. Baldwin is about 230k words long, so about twice the length of a typical novel these days, but it is better-written (tighter) than WMC.

The new book will fall on the timeline in between these two stories but you shouldn't need to have read anything to read any story in this series. It helps and enhances your Reader Experience, but shouldn't be "necessary" if you get my distinction. I am trying to crowdfund the new book's production costs now. Therefore, I have no clue when the reading and feedback sessions will begin but I have a system I use that takes 4-6 weeks for a group of 3-5 readers to get through the book, a chapter at a time, so it's fairly quick-paced once I start working with the Beta Readers. Some readers have been really (and I mean really) put off by the pace I ask for, claiming it was supposed to be fun for them.

I try to warn Beta Readers that by definition, being a Beta Reader is (a) unpaid work and (b) work, not "for fun" but it can be fun if you enjoy reading and critiquing stories. Being a book reviewer is usually what these Beta Readers want to do but that's for post-release stories. Beta Reading is done prior to publication and intended to help an author get to that story to market in a release-ready state. It's participating in the process, which can be very rewarding...but it's not reading at your leisure, just for fun. Or IMO it should not be regarded that way and to do so is disrespectful of the fact an author is doing work.

A writer writes for fun; an author publishes--and that's work.

If you (or anyone else on this thread reading this) would like to be considered for one of the Beta Reader slots on my new book, best thing to do is read and review one of the existing books :) Next best thing is send me gmail.com at the marjoriefbaldwin inbox (reworded that sentence to avoid writing out an email address for easy spammer harvest, sorry). At a wild guess, the reading will happen sometime this summer July to September timeframe. The book is currently 75-80% done now.

-Friday
@phoenicianbooks
Mar 13, 2013 02:43AM

46156 Leti wrote: "Hi Jillian,

I'm looking for a beta reader for my Young Adult, Dsytopian Sci-Fi (is that even a genre?). Would you be interested?"


Leti, that is definitely a genre, if you spell it correctly :) I write Dystopian Sci-Fi and in your case, presumably, the protagonist and/or main characters are young adults, making it a YA subgenre.

Your subgenre is probably more popular than mine but who's measuring? (haha)
Mar 13, 2013 02:39AM

46156 Danielle wrote: "I write a review blog called Coffee and Characters, also a group here on GR (same title) and I am always open to offer a beta read to authors who are in the PRN and UF genre's"

You mean "genres," plural, not possessive, right? :) Do you read any other genres besides the two you mentioned?
Mar 03, 2013 04:34AM

46156
For anyone who didn't already know, it's READ AN EBOOK WEEK at Smashwords and books are going on sale like crazy!

Readers/Reviewers If you're a reviewer and need to get free or cheap books, this week would be the time to stock up! Just visit the main page http://www.smashwords.com/ and click the link to the Read an eBook Week catalog to filter and only see books that are on sale or free this week. So many are going to be free!

I've got my two eBooks in the Phoenician Series on sale for deeeeep discounts as follows:

Use code RW100 at checkout to get When Minds Collide for free
Buy Link: http://bit.ly/WMC-Smash

Use code REW50 at checkout to get the long novel Conditioned Response for 50% off
Buy Link: http://bit.ly/SW-CondResp

If you don't own my books yet, get 'em now for cheap while you can. The new book (which falls in between these two) is coming soon (I just finished the outline and started soliciting beta readers).

Authors: If you don't have your books entered into the week-long sale yet, go to the Smashwords site now to enter your books. You can make them 25%, 50%, 75% off or free (100%) and the coupons are auto-generated. The sale is site-wide and the codes automatically expire at midnight (Pacific Time) next Sat March 9, 2013. Then come back and post on this thread to let readers in this group know they can get your book on sale this week!

-Friday
@phoenicianbooks
Dec 22, 2012 06:14AM

46156 I'd be interested in knowing both what kinds/genres you like and which you do not like - plus if you're willing to read genres you don't usually and still be objective about critiquing them for the intended audience (which granted, won't necessarily include you). That last bit is a very hard thing to do but if you're willing and able to do it, please say so!

-Friday
@phoenicianbooks
Oct 19, 2012 02:35AM

46156 Flu wrote: "Someone recently joined GR to 1-star my book, saying I stole cover art. I didn't feel like waiting for the artist's reply, and my book was free so it qualified as fair use (like on blogs and stuff)..."

Flu, it's good to see you're willing to admit you were in the wrong but don't assume anyone will think anything--good OR bad.

You are allowed to "review" your own book, just not allowed to pretend you are not the author when doing it, so here's my suggestion: write a "review" for your own book and explain--in FAR LESS DEFENSIVE terms than you used here--that your original artwork (removed) was created using copyrighted material for which you had failed to purchase rights; therefore, you've replaced the cover art and hope your readers will appreciate the new look. Leave it at that. Leave it as an explanation of your cover art, NOT an explanation of a 1-star review. Then leave it. Just let it go.

Focus instead on getting more reviews and letting the writing warrant better ratings than a 1 star out of 5 stars. If you need to give the book away to get reviews, do that, but garner more reviews and the 1-star you got will be "drowned out" by the 4- and 5-stars you get (assuming your story is going to earn 4- and 5-star reviews?)

Since I started this whole discussion and have continued to remain quiet on the subject after coming to my own decision, let me just report that I took my own advice here, got more reviews and in fact, the 1-star a-holes are still there, still annoy the living crap out of me but are definitely "drowned out" by the higher ratings I got in larger numbers. The bullies and mean people out there are mean not because they hate YOU, but just because they hate. Period. Let it go. You cannot battle hate with hate, only kill them with kindness. It actually drives trolls crazy NOT to get a rise out of you so saying NOTHING (no review of your own explaining the artwork, just NOTHING) will kill them even more :)

-Friday
@phoenicianbooks
Aug 17, 2012 03:53PM

46156 Susan, if you haven't already, be sure to advertise your book in the SciFi and Heroic Fantasy group here on Goodreads :)
46156 Josh wrote: "Hey writers, see if this has happened to you:
You finish the (hopefully) last revision on your latest bit of short writing, and get it properly formatted. Now all the fun stops, because you now hav..."


Hey, Josh, not to rain on your parade--and yay, you, for trying to do this massive undertaking--but did you know this has already been done...sort of? There's a super-useful free database and guide to writing markets, how to find them, when to submit, etc. It's called Writing for Dollars and is run by a guy name Dan Case. He's been running it for a bazillion years :) Okay, maybe not a bazillion but a while.

To subscribe to WFD, you just submit your email address and he mails you notices when a new one is out and provides links on where to find the full articles (and links to the searchable database)

If nothing else, you might learn from his "lessons learned" right? Check out Writing for Dollars and see how Dan does things. He's had enormous success but he's not making money off it (he monetizes his web site ;-))

Interestingly enough, his most-recent issue (a "return" to publication after a hiatus) spoke directly to the dilemma of what to do when the summer schedules come to bear and make it seem like no one's buying. Ironically, however, the article talked about how writers are going on summer break and magazines DO still need submissions! haha, pretty funny huh?

-Friday
@phoenicianbooks

p.s. I'll go get your guide and try to look through it and give you feedback. Did you mention a cut off date for feedback? I didn't see it in your post so if you want to say you're taking comments until....in order to actually get your guide released on a schedule, please mention the date :)

p.p.s no awkward hugs; I'm a world-class hugger and if you get a hug, it's not gonna be awkward but I'm a recluse so only the animals who live with me get my superduper hugs ;-)
Aug 17, 2012 08:53AM

46156 I'm posting for 2 reasons:

1) to tell you folks about this so that if anyone is looking for something new to read and review, you can consider the added benefit of helping a good cause by choosing a book by an author who donates proceeds to a charity.

The group is informal, started by R.S. Guthrie (Rob) and is managed in his spare (hahahaha) time. There is no one checking to be sure anyone gives anything anywhere. This is just a means of gathering together authors who want to tell the world, "Hey, reading my book is going to help this cause" and you have to assume they are not lying.

2) I'm trying to pick the cause for my donations ;) I'm 99% sure I'm going with Team X-T.R.E.M.E. but I have this blog here where I list 7 possibilities. I'm already a member of Soldiers Angels so I know they are actually OVER-funded and personally, I'd like to see SA donate some of THEIR funds to other groups (*wink*) Oh and now that Dean Cain is in the show Stars Earn Strips donating his winnings to Wounded Warrior Project that's kind of getting a lot of sudden income.

I'm looking to support a group that is doing good, is not shutting down tomorrow or going to quit next month and will benefit vets or military families. Team X-T.R.E.M.E. seems to be "it" for me.

I'll also be choosing one of the 3 organizations recommended to me by Dog Advocate Kevin Hanrahan to support Military Working Dogs (MWDs) which are still considered equipment and not even guaranteed a flight back to the States after they finish their deployment! It's so outrageous how we use and then discard these animals after they do so much FOR US. If you haven't voted for "Gabe" at the Hero Dog Awards yet, do it now. If he wins, some of those dogs who've sniffedout IEDs and saved the lives of countless military lives will get a ride home and funded for adoption in their retirement--instead of being discarded like a used up milk carton :-(

Yeah, I need to support the dogs but I am already :) I need help deciding on the primary charity for The Phoenician Series. Is Team X-T.R.E.M.E. it, you think? I have a poll on Facebook if you want to vote - just click here.

-Friday
@phoenicianbooks
46156 After a long 2 weeks of waiting, finally, When Minds Collide has arrived in iTunes. Now you can get it FREE on your iPad or iPhone here: http://bit.ly/WMC-iTunes

While you've been waiting for its arrival at iTunes, WMC has been saved to 35 Smashwords libraries and moved almost 300 copies at Smashwords -- that's in addition to over 500 other copies at free sites in the UK (http://bit.ly/WMC-Biblio and http://bit.ly/WMC-obooko).

Yes, almost 800 people have read this long short story (or short novella). Have you checked it out yet? If you don't like any of those sites (or Smashwords? http://bit.ly/WMC-Smash) try the free download right here on Goodreads: http://bit.ly/WMC-Goodreads (PDF or ePub formats only)

Please leave me a review and let me know what you think :) And thank you to everyone who's already downloaded and enjoyed the book. It's so exciting to see such interest in The Phoenician Series!

-Friday

NOTE: The one and only place this book is not free is at Amazon's Kindle Store because Amazon does not allow Indie Books to be free unless they are granted exclusive rights. I declined to give them exclusive rights so it's $0.99 at http://bit.ly/WMC-KindleUS and £0.77 at http://bit.ly/WMC-KindleUK



When Minds Collide (A Phoenician Series Short Story) by Marjorie F. Baldwin

Can two men co-exist inside one mind? Andrew Caine and Joshua Scherrer can barely co-exist outside, on the same planet. After they're involved in a fatal car accident, the enigmatic native Phoenicians have sent someone to "help" them blend together, into a new man. Can they accept the new existence together, or will their minds collide as fatally as the car crash that killed them?

#

When two brilliant scientists die together in a careless traffic accident, the Community, a fledgling human colony on an alien world, suffers a devastating blow. Joshua Scherrer and Andrew Caine might have loathed each other personally, but their collective knowledge was vital to humanity’s survival on this Phoenician world. Without them and their contributions, Administrator Stafar Baghendi fears for the very survival of humanity’s last stand.

In a desperate attempt to salvage both men, Stafar Baghendi uses an untried, theoretical gene therapy process, infusing the genetically-encoded memory of Andrew Caine into the DNA of Joshua Scherrer. The two men awaken to find themselves living together inside one mind, but their clashing personalities might prove a more fatal collision than the one that killed them the first time.

What none of the humans realize is that here on the Phoenician home world, the Seven Chiefs have a Plan for everything—and this time, the Plan will change the course of human history forever.

(The end of this short eBook contains an 8000-word excerpt of a Phoenician Series novel; actual length of this story is 29,000 words)
46156 After a long 2 weeks of waiting, finally, When Minds Collide has arrived in iTunes. Now you can get it FREE on your iPad or iPhone here: http://bit.ly/WMC-iTunes

While you've been waiting for its arrival at iTunes, WMC has been saved to 35 Smashwords libraries and moved almost 300 copies at Smashwords -- that's in addition to over 500 other copies at free sites in the UK (http://bit.ly/WMC-Biblio and http://bit.ly/WMC-obooko).

Yes, almost 800 people have read this long short story (or short novella). Have you checked it out yet? If you don't like any of those sites (or Smashwords? http://bit.ly/WMC-Smash) try the free download right here on Goodreads: http://bit.ly/WMC-Goodreads (PDF or ePub formats only)

Please leave me a review and let me know what you think :) And thank you to everyone who's already downloaded and enjoyed the book. It's so exciting to see such interest in The Phoenician Series!

-Friday

When Minds Collide (A Phoenician Series Short Story) by Marjorie F. Baldwin

Can two men co-exist inside one mind? Andrew Caine and Joshua Scherrer can barely co-exist outside, on the same planet. After they're involved in a fatal car accident, the enigmatic native Phoenicians have sent someone to "help" them blend together, into a new man. Can they accept the new existence together, or will their minds collide as fatally as the car crash that killed them?

#

When two brilliant scientists die together in a careless traffic accident, the Community, a fledgling human colony on an alien world, suffers a devastating blow. Joshua Scherrer and Andrew Caine might have loathed each other personally, but their collective knowledge was vital to humanity’s survival on this Phoenician world. Without them and their contributions, Administrator Stafar Baghendi fears for the very survival of humanity’s last stand.

In a desperate attempt to salvage both men, Stafar Baghendi uses an untried, theoretical gene therapy process, infusing the genetically-encoded memory of Andrew Caine into the DNA of Joshua Scherrer. The two men awaken to find themselves living together inside one mind, but their clashing personalities might prove a more fatal collision than the one that killed them the first time.

What none of the humans realize is that here on the Phoenician home world, the Seven Chiefs have a Plan for everything—and this time, the Plan will change the course of human history forever.

(The end of this short eBook contains an 8000-word excerpt of a Phoenician Series novel; actual length of this story is 29,000 words)
Aug 02, 2012 02:59AM

46156 Our very own Cassie just wrote an amazing review for this long-short (or short novella!) here--and I didn't even ask for a review, just editorial help! Wow, thank you, Cassie! Below is what Cassie posted here on Goodreads and here on her Gathering Leaves Reviews blog. NOTE: The first chapter of Conditioned Response is included/excerpted at the end of When Minds Collide, and WMC is "priced" at free indefinitely.

-Friday
@phoenicianbooks

When Minds Collide (A Phoenician Series Short Story)
by Marjorie F. Baldwin
Published August 1, 2012
ISBN: 9781476235936
Available Format: ebook

My Rating: ★★★★★

When Minds Collide is a bit of a short story preview into the world of the Phoenician Series and Conditioned Response. Not only do we get a little intro to the planet where Earth's inhabitants are now living, we get a peek at the Phoenicians and their creatures, and a major look into the lives of William Harrington and Andrew Caine right when their lives truly changed forever.

Having already read Conditioned Response (find my review and an interview with Friday HERE), I really enjoyed getting to go back and get the more in depth story of Will and Drew and Joshua Scherrer—basically where it all began. It really makes me curious how things play out between this story and the beginning of book two. Of course, I would love for the story to be longer (though Friday admits it is really a short novella instead of a short story J), but it is a great little taste of the series for anyone who might not be sure if this will be their cup of tea.

As always, Friday's writing style is easy and she is fantastic with the details that really make a story shine. Readers are immediately drawn in and find themselves fully invested in the lives of the characters. The pacing is perfect and the sci-fi/fantasy aspect is completely believable from start to finish.

You can snag this story FREE on Smashwords right now, so you have no excuse not to give this series a try! https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/209623

While you're there, go ahead and purchase Conditioned Response, because if you haven't read it already, you will definitely want to when you finish When Minds Collide! https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/150558

^)^
Aug 01, 2012 01:59PM

46156 So since no one else seems to have used this, I took the plunge and tried it. Turns out you have to have either a PDF (one that is not from Smashwords; I generated one with my PDF Printer Driver from Adobe Acrobat Professional) or an ePub (from Smashwords is okay) and then they provide readers with an ePub (just like GoogleBooks did) either for download or embedded in the web browser.

What I discovered, however, is a little glitch in the process of viewing the file here on Goodreads. Normally, in an eReader, you view an eBook and see "arrows" on the right and left of the "page" to go forward or back. There aer arrows here but they are not normal. Instead of going forward/back a "page" (or screen of text) clicking the arrow moves to the next/previous CHAPTER, which of course means the entire book is one "page" long unless you have a TOC built and even then, the NCX of an ePub generates a "midpoint" as the "next chapter"

Bottom line, depending on your NCX file (which many Indie Authors don't even know what it is) your "Goodreads eBook" may turn out to be crap to read/navigate.

Otherwise, this works beautifully. They have a checkbox you can tick to ask to see/preview it before making it available to Goodreads and I did this and got a link to preview and another link to click when it was how I liked it. Other than the TOC / NCX issue (which is endemic to the ePub format actually) I think the Goodreads eBook option is lovely. For free books anyway. I don't know if I'd want them selling my books. ((gggrin))

-Friday
@phoenicianbooks
46156 My new SciFi short story (long short) is releasing tomorrow, August 1st, and I could really use some reviews. Interest in it has been really keen in the first 24 hours it's been posted over at Smashwords, having been downloaded about 2 times an hour and saved to 11 Smashwords Libraries so far. The book is "priced" at FREE and is a "prequel" to my novel Conditioned Response (I include the full first chapter of CondResp at the end of WMC as a teaser).

There's something very different about WMC though, less romance (the primary relationship is basically a marriage at that moment just before someone asks for a divorce) and no sex (unless you count one very quick and not very sexy kiss in the opening scene). It's all about the science and the fiction.

All popular formats (ePub, Kindle, PDF) are available FREE from Smashwords and the book has a page here on Goodreads already so you can shelve it here if you'd like to read/review it. I'd really appreciate having reviews both here and on Smashwords if you're interested. Moving a lot of copies is nice but I won't generate real interest in it without reviews!

Here's the deets on the story:

When Minds Collide (A Phoenician Series Short Story) by Marjorie F. Baldwin
Title When Minds Collide
Length 29,000 words (85 pages) *
Genre Classic Science Fiction Adventure / Thriller
Price FREE (no code required)
Buy Link http://bit.ly/WMC-Smash
Blurbage:
Can two men co-exist inside one mind? Andrew Caine and Joshua Scherrer can barely co-exist outside, on the same planet. After they're involved in a fatal car accident, the enigmatic native Phoenicians have sent someone to "help" them blend together, into a new man. Can they accept the new existence together, or will their minds collide as fatally as the car crash that killed them?

#

When two brilliant scientists die together in a careless traffic accident, the Community, a fledgling human colony on an alien world, suffers a devastating blow. Joshua Scherrer and Andrew Caine might have loathed each other personally, but their collective knowledge was vital to humanity’s survival on this Phoenician world. Without them and their contributions, Administrator Stafar Baghendi fears for the very survival of humanity’s last stand.

In a desperate attempt to salvage both men, Stafar Baghendi uses an untried, theoretical gene therapy process, infusing the genetically-encoded memory of Andrew Caine into the DNA of Joshua Scherrer. The two men awaken to find themselves living together inside one mind, but their clashing personalities might prove a more fatal collision than the one that killed them the first time.

What none of the humans realize is that here on the Phoenician home world, the Seven Chiefs have a Plan for everything—and this time, the Plan will change the course of human history forever.

* The end of this short eBook contains an 8000-word excerpt of the novel Conditioned Response; actual length of this story is only 29,000 words / approx. 85 pages.
Jul 31, 2012 03:40AM

46156 There are a lot of places to upload free eBooks. I know of a few (Smashwords, Bibliotastic, apparently Goodreads eBook function) but where do you have yours?

I am specifically and deliberately NOT interested in Amazon's KDP Select program since that is NOT uploading a free ebook, but rather "pricing" the eBook at free if--and ONLY if--it is enrolled in the program and Amazon is granted exclusive rights to it for 3 months. No thanks. I'd like to give the book away everywhere, not just ONE site. That's kind of the point of this post ((grin))

So where do you upload YOUR free eBooks? List the sites here (please make them links)

Thanks!

-Friday
@phoenicianbooks
46156 Update: It had 150 page views in the first 24 hours and has been shifting about 2 copies per hour in that same time period. Wow. So much action on a new, short story? What'd I do so right? :)

I FINALLY have it uploaded to Amazon but I slipped and it's priced at $2.99 there. (still FREE at Smashwords - where it'll remain FREE through August and probably through Christmas)

So exciting to see this action...now I just need some reviews. Gonna post for that over in the correct discussion. Just had to squeeee at the success of When Minds Collide in its "pre-release" :)

p.s. it's going to be included in Mysti Parker's 20,000 Hit Giveaway (over 80 authors donated books to give away) so should get more hits then (to say the least)
46156 I'm pretty amazed. In the 20 or so minutes it took me to upload the Word file to Smashwords and fill in the forms and tweak all the settings to be just how I wanted them (and upload 2 or 3 revisions to the file after I checked ePub and MOBI files), almost a dozen people downloaded it and it was added to 2 libraries!! OMG, how'd these people even get the URL???

I know how, they saw it on the Smashwords catalog as a "new" book and a "free" book so the double-whammy attracted attention but still....yowza! I'm not even done setting it up and it's moving!

It feels pretty darn good to finally have a SECOND piece of work out, even if it *is* free and "just a short story" (well, at 29,000 words it's not all that short!) I just love seeing 2 books in the series instead of the one. Conditioned Response was sooooo lonely-looking (LOL)

Add to this, my excitement at nearly being done with the artwork for my RomCom under my real name and the first non-fiction under that other pen name and wow, 3 projects all coming due at once! FINALLY!! I'm getting something done. Whew.

-Friday
@phoenicianbooks
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8


topics created by Marjorie