Frank Acland Frank's Comments (member since Aug 18, 2011)


Frank's comments from the Creative Reviews group.

(showing 1-12 of 12)

Sep 09, 2011 08:18AM

46156 Hi Jennifer, if you'd like to do an interview with me, please let me know. I have just released my first ebook novel and would love to chat about it!

Thanks :)

Frank

The Secret Power Beneath by Frank Acland
marketing ideas (178 new)
Sep 02, 2011 01:59PM

46156 Here are some things I've learned about Twitter over the years.

Your own personal profile is really important if you want to get people to follow you. You have 160 characters to tell your story. An image helps too. Many people won't follow someone without an image or a profile.

If you want people to follow you, follow people. Many people choose to follow back people who follow them.

Use the twitter search tool to find people who have a common interest. The # tag can be helpful here. For example to find people interested in Star Trek you could search for #startrek.

Make your tweets interesting and useful -- most people tune out people who only self promote.

Putting links in your tweets can lead people to sites you want them to go to -- e.g. your own site! But be judicious -- you don't want to be considered a spammer.

You can unfollow people easily, and people can just as easily unfollow you! If you are useful, friendly, polite and interesting you will hold onto your followers better than if you are not.

Over time you can quite easily build up a decent network of followers. Very useful for sharing your talents with the world!

These are just a few things I have learned -- I am not an expert or even a very frequent tweeter, but I think there is good potential in Twitter if used smartly.

Frank
marketing ideas (178 new)
Aug 26, 2011 09:53AM

46156 I'm getting ready to launch a Twitter campaign. With time and persistence it isn't too hard to get followers -- getting them to pay attention to your tweets is a different matter! I just opened a new Twitter account for my author name: @frank_acland

I will follow you back! :)

Any Twitter tips would be appreciated!

Frank
Aug 25, 2011 06:40PM

46156 Yes, MTM, I think the style that suits you is the best -- but it's interesting to read what others do.

The best way for me is to try to be as clear as possible. For me, clear = natural. As a reader I find artificial and contrived voices to be jarring and annoying.
Aug 25, 2011 12:59PM

46156 Hi Amy, thanks for sharing this info about Journal-Store. Are there any cool features about the site that you think makes this site worthwhile for authors to self-publish on? Is there decent traffic from a certain kind of audience? I'm intrigued, and since you work for JournalStone, I thought you might have some useful inside scoop!

Thanks!

Frank
46156 Thanks, Amy :)

The question is, does the book match the promise of the blurb?

Only the reader can decide that!

Frank
NaNoWriMo? (91 new)
Aug 19, 2011 08:37PM

46156 Not a bad idea if you have the time to spend at it. Usually not the case for me -- I have to steal an hour here and there for concentrated writing.
Aug 19, 2011 07:59PM

46156 Amy, please let me know how, or where I can donate a copy of my book for a giveaway.

Frank Acland
Aug 18, 2011 08:04PM

46156 Yes, a very good interview -- great advice and insight. Thanks to both of you.
46156 Thanks, Ana!
46156 Hi!

I would like to know if anyone would be interested in reviewing my brand new YA SciFi adventure: The Secret Power Beneath.

It's a fast-paced story about two young vacationers who accidentally stumble across an advanced civilization hidden in subterranean caves in a Scandinavian mountain wilderness. This nation is able to exist below ground and in secret because they possess a technology that provides an inexhaustible source of energy.

This nation, however, is under threat from internal pressures, and one of its most important citizens is struggling to ensure its survival.

Will and Natalie Duncan are taken captive and become involved in events that threaten themselves, the nation itself, and the secret source of energy that powers it.

I will be happy to provide free ebook copies of the book for people here who would like to review.

The book is 63,000 words in length -- you can read sample chapters at http://www.frankacland.com

Thanks! This seems like a very nice GR group!

Frank


topics created by Frank