SporadicReviews.com (Kevin Bayer) SporadicReviews.com's Comments (member since Mar 06, 2010)


SporadicReviews.com's comments from the The Sword and Laser group.

(showing 1-20 of 329)
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 16 17

4170 Cute!
Nerdy Pet Names (40 new)
Apr 10, 2015 07:57AM

4170 My first cats were named Mozart (Mo') and Tribble. I wanted a third at the time named Berlioz (Bear for short). My wife's cat that recently died from cancer was named after Willow's cat on Buffy: Miss Kitty Fantastico (but she was an orange tabby, not a black cat.)

Our current cats dont have genre-based names.

I've always wanted a yappy little lap dog to name Fizzgig, and another to name Sir Didymus.
Apr 05, 2015 05:35AM

4170 Avalon is immediately what i thought of, with the apples and recovering monarch reference - both frequent Avalon connections.
Mar 21, 2015 07:41AM

4170 I think I'll give some of those a try. Thanks!
Mar 12, 2015 09:52AM

4170 Jim C. Hines stuff definitely. Rachel Aaron's Eli Monpress Series, especially the first book in the series. E. E. Knight's Age of Fire series.
Mar 10, 2015 02:43PM

4170 Tom mentioned on the podcast maybe starting a thread to take suggestions for some Indie books to read, possibly as a Club Pick.

I haven't found that thread... and I have some suggestions to share, so I'll start!

You guys had talked about needing some lighter reads after the recents Picks. Starship Grifters definitely fits that bill. It's billed as a parody, but it's just so darn entertaining! The parody pieces are woven into an exciting story in a way that, while you laugh out loud sometimes at how ridiculous it is, it completely makes sense in-universe.

Bypass Gemini also will cleanse your palette of the grimness of recent fare. It's also a laser pick - features a delivery guy and a mad scientist, just to start out. It's sequel it's just as good.

Now, Heart of a Traitor goes dark again. This book really fascinated me, and I would love to read more in this universe (there's nothing else so far, though). Far future, galaxy-spanning empires, sorcerers, and demons. Had a bit of sword and laser feel to it (maybe with a side of anime). Oh also, most of the main cast are women, including the main character. For some reason, the setting gave me a Warhammer 40K feel, though I haven't read much in that universe, or maybe even the Riddick universe to a lesser extent. With a strong Asian influence.

Farmers & Mercenaries is a fantasy novel I got at GenCon in 2010, and I enjoyed it. This one will also hit that lighter-fare button. There's at least one sequel I know of, but I my TBR pile is out of control already and I haven't gotten back to it yet. It's not your normal elves and orcs fantasy. It's an easy read.

The Phoenix Conspiracy goes back to my main love of sci-fi. Ship to ship combat, some kind of conspiracy involving governments and wars and ships. This is the start of a series of, I think, 5 books. The last one is supposed to come out some time this year.


Thanks for reading! Hopefully some of you will try some of these.
4170 Is there a thread yet and I just missed it for suggesting Indy authors/books for Tom?
4170 I read the first two or three books in the series and really enjoyed them. Be a good pick for the club.

I also read Diving the Wreck and absolutely LOVED and ADORED it, and devoured its sequels too.

Diving is a novella, if I recall.
Most Read Authors? (123 new)
Feb 18, 2015 05:51PM

4170 Interesting. Because the Robotech serialization was 26 books, Jack McKinney is my #1 author.

#2 Margaret Weis w/24
#3 Peter David w/23
#4 Douglas Preston w/22
#5 Isaac Asimov w/17 (the short story collections on here count as one book!)
#6 James Rollins w/17
#7 E.E. Knight w/16 ( (those two have gone up, I haven't updated Goodreads in awhile.)
#8 F.Paul Wilson w/16
#9 Ben Bova w/15
#10 David Weber 15
Anne McCaffrey squeaked in at #11 w/14.
Nov 06, 2014 02:58PM

4170 Jeff Carlson has some good short story collections, and John Joseph Adams edits some good anthologies!
Seattle people? (17 new)
Oct 31, 2014 02:59PM

4170 Worth a shot!
Seattle people? (17 new)
Oct 25, 2014 09:14PM

4170 Nice to see more Seattle-area folk starting to represent! (Bothell here.) I've wanted to head down to the Tacoma group, but couldn't for the first two meetups, and now my work schedule has changed and I'll be working Sundays at least until the start of new year.
Oct 13, 2014 09:39PM

4170 Loved the Clone Wars overall (though certain episodes were quite lackluster). Rebels, so far, is fun. I agree that Star Wars could be so much more than Jedi characters. The Rebels characters are each quite interesting character themselves (though I'm partial to Chopper).

The first episode of Rebels was neat in that, while Lothal is the main setting of Rebels, we got to see Kessel as well.

The animation takes some getting used, just like it did with Clone Wars, and will probably get better as the series grows - but those Wookies... oh, those Wookies... those character models were not good.

I'll stick with it though. Love me some Star Wars!
Oct 13, 2014 09:28PM

4170 I subscribe to several "free and cheap ebook" emails that let you pick your preferred genre or genres for a daily list of free and cheap ebooks. There's often crossover between the emails. I'm very choosy of the titles I'll buy, even if it's for free. But I've found plenty of good stuff, even indie/self-pubbed stuff that has been really good from those kinds of sources.

Booksends, BookBub, The Fussy Librarian, eReaderIQ Daily, Early Bird Books...

Pretty sure I found most of those from another post on the S&L forums...
Oct 13, 2014 09:19PM

4170 Yay! More peeps recommending Rachel Aaron!
Also: agree with more James S.A. Corey.
And John Joseph Adams would be neat too!
Oct 12, 2014 10:17PM

4170 Jim C. Hines (again)
E. E. Knight
Rachel Aaron (Rachel Bach)
Myke Cole (again)
Jack McDevitt
seriously, Rachel Aaron - I mean, come on! Sword, and Laser! (Eli Monpress series, excellent, and Paradox series, excellent!)
...more to come as I think of them...
Quick Burns (404 new)
Sep 29, 2014 05:54PM

4170 Future of Pyr is a Science Fiction buffet? "... independent booksellers that their customers are hungry for science fiction again..."
http://pyrsf.blogspot.com/2014/09/the...

(This book lover never stopped being hungry for SF.)
Sep 28, 2014 08:31AM

4170 How'd the September meetup go?
Quick Burns (404 new)
Sep 24, 2014 09:44PM

4170 Kim Stanley Robinson's Mars trilogy optioned for TV! http://www.blastr.com/2014-9-24/kim-s...
Sep 21, 2014 09:01PM

4170 I'm more of a laser myself (burned myself out on sword awhile back after reading a bunch in a row), though I have always liked both SF and F.

I, too, don't read along with the group - I'm just here (hear?) for the conversation and podcast. I love the book discussions and use them to decide on books to add to my TBR pile. I do have sword books in my TBR pile - I just keep putting them off.

What I'd really like to read? A really good space opera that has dragon characters in it. Dragons that fly, talk, breath fire, maybe even have magic. Something like Pern, but far into Pern's future where they've rediscovered all their forgotten tech and have taken to the stars again and begun exploring and having space battles and colonizing other planets such.

Firefly with Dragons is what I'd like. Let's go there!
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 16 17


topics created by SporadicReviews.com