SporadicReviews.com (Kevin Bayer) SporadicReviews.com's Comments (member since Mar 06, 2010)


SporadicReviews.com's comments from the The Sword and Laser group.

(showing 1-20 of 364)
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 18 19

1 hour, 8 min ago

4170 I miss the SFBC editions. All the books I got from them back in the late 80s and 90s held up very well. I still have a few left, especially my well-read copies of Eon and Eternity from Greg Bear, that I had him sign at Emerald City Comic Con last year.

I got many books that way over the years: join up, get 10 books for $1 or whatever it was, buy the minimum, cancel membership. Rinse and repeat over the years.
Jun 04, 2016 05:06PM

4170 LoT - uneven season that made me and my son often say "this is a stupid show!" but we stuck with it. The last few episodes paid off for what they set up. Vandal Savage was a let-down. Snart and Sara need to be on every show ever.

Arrow - just ugh. Hope Season 5 gets better.

Flash - agreed about the bad/stupid decisions, and the Zooooom plot went on way too long (much like the Darke plot on Arrow) and didn't make a lot of sense. The Finale was great except for the really bad decision at the end.

Here's to hoping Supergirl can unite those three shows above in a really enjoyable way.

AoS - Really enjoyed this season for the most part. That stupid long break in the middle made it feel like two seasons though. Wish they'd be able to integrate more with MCU, but I read the articles...

Waiting for Person of Interest S5 to end so I can binge the entire thing. Trying to avoid spoilers.

Can't wait for Season Two of Dark Matter, KillJoys, and The Expanse, and Season Three of Star Wars: Rebels.
Quick Burns (329 new)
May 25, 2016 09:40PM

4170 I think it's because we're all a bunch of well-read geeks out here.
Quick Burns (329 new)
May 24, 2016 10:59AM

4170 Audiobooks keeping publishing afloat http://flavorwire.com/577375/do-you-d...
May 06, 2016 06:55PM

4170 Took the family last night. We all enjoyed it. Agreed that Ant-Man and Spidey added some much needed levity. Spidey, especially, was great. And Aunt May! Holy Crap! As Tony Stark indicated, that was unexpected.

As much as I did enjoy the movie, and understand why things happened, I much prefer my superheroes to fight bad-guys instead of each other.

All the bro moments were great.
Quick Burns (329 new)
Apr 29, 2016 08:35PM

4170 Don't recall hearing about this on the show or seeing posted here:

KickStarter for an anthology about Mecha! Mech: Age of Steel
From some of the good folk that brought you the Kaiju Rising: Age of Monsters anthology.


They're about $1200 away from reaching their goal with 13 days left as I post this - ends May 13th.
Apr 01, 2016 09:30AM

4170 I'm enjoying the AfterBuzzTV audio podcasts of my favorite TV shows. (They do live youtube video shows right after each TV episode airs, and post the audio as a podcast a short time later.)
4170 I like that moon one...
4170 What a great thread (no pun intended)! I have fond memories of this series.
Seattle Area (46 new)
Nov 24, 2015 06:10AM

4170 I'm interested. (Bothell Mill Creek area)
...if I were ever reading what S&L was reading.

Have to Google Drahons&Jetpacks: another bookclub?
Nov 24, 2015 06:04AM

4170 Iain wrote: "Eon by Greg Bear...

Clarke doesn't really qualify as space opera."


Eon and its sequel Eternity are two of my favorite books; I got Bear to sign my ancient SFBC copies st Emerald City Comicon last year.

I might have to look in to The Great North Road.
Nov 06, 2015 11:23AM

4170 I'd love to see it be sort of an anthology series. Primary setting on a space station, and have episode(s) following the crews of different ships as they come and go - following each off an adventure away from the station and back.
podcasts (34 new)
Sep 30, 2015 04:35PM

4170 Oh, and when they're on, the AfterBuzz TV podcasts for Flash, Arrow, Agents of SHIELD, and Agent Carter.
podcasts (34 new)
Sep 30, 2015 04:26PM

4170 Skeptoid
Mission Log - reviews of Star Trek episodes like they're watching them for the first time.
Stuff You Should Know
Stuff They Don't Want You To Know
Happen to your career
Fast leader podcast
Mysterious Universe
Some relationships podcasts
And various Christian podcasts I'm sure you're not interested in ;)
Sep 18, 2015 09:13PM

4170 And my stupid phone decided I was finished describing it...

It was good.
Sep 18, 2015 09:12PM

4170 Dave vs. The Monsters series by John Birmingham. It's new this year, rip-roaringly fun, rude,
Sep 15, 2015 08:21PM

4170 Next Expanse novel cover-reveal! June 2016 is too far away!

https://m.facebook.com/JamesSACorey/p...
Sep 02, 2015 08:36PM

4170 Another book podcast?! Nooooooo! I don't have time to listen to more podcasts!



(...starts downloading episodes...)
Sep 02, 2015 08:18PM

4170 There's a series that starts with Suited that has an interesting way structures are built.
Aug 26, 2015 10:32PM

4170 Fan of both, but I prefer SF. I think I burned myself out on fantasy a few years ago after reading a lot of it.
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 18 19


topics created by SporadicReviews.com