Western

Westerns are devoted to telling stories set primarily in the latter half of the 19th century in the American Old West, but there are also a number of works about Western-type characters in contemporary settings.

Westerns often stress the harshness of the wilderness and frequently set the action in an arid, desolate landscape.

One Hot Summer (One and Only Texas, #1)
Lone Heart Pass (Ransom Canyon, #3)
Last Promise
Take Me, Cowboy
Rebel of the Sands (Rebel of the Sands, #1)
Off The Grid (Joe Pickett, #16)
Lassoing the Virgin Mail Order Bride
Once a Rancher (The Carsons of Mustang Creek, #1)
News of the World
Sawbones
His Kind of Cowgirl
Trial by Fire
East of West, Vol. 5: The Last Supper
Back in the Saddle (Double S Ranch)
Under the Desert Sky
A Real Cowboy Never Says No (Wyoming Rebels #1)
The Bands of Mourning (Mistborn, #6)
Off The Grid (Joe Pickett, #16)
Rebel of the Sands (Rebel of the Sands, #1)
Shadows of Self (Mistborn, #5)
The Bartender's Mail Order Bride (Wild West Frontier Brides, #3)
The Alloy of Law (Mistborn, #4)
The Chef's Mail Order Bride (Wild West Frontier Brides #1)
Rock with Wings (Leaphorn  & Chee, #20)
Once a Rancher (The Carsons of Mustang Creek, #1)
A Real Cowboy Knows How to Kiss (Wyoming Rebels #2)
Walk on Earth a Stranger  (The Gold Seer Trilogy, #1)
A Real Cowboy Rides a Motorcycle (Wyoming Rebels #3)
The Builders
Spider Woman's Daughter (Leaphorn  & Chee, #19)
The Texan's Wager by Jodi ThomasThe Travels of Jaimie McPheeters by Robert Lewis TaylorThese Is My Words by Nancy E. TurnerGillian by Carré WhiteAn Unexpected Bride by Carré White
Wagons Ho!
30 books — 15 voters

Devil in Winter by Lisa KleypasRomancing Mister Bridgerton by Julia QuinnNine Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake by Sarah MacLeanThe Viscount Who Loved Me by Julia QuinnThe Bride by Julie Garwood
Best Humorous Historical Romances
606 books — 685 voters
McKettrick's Heart by Linda Lael MillerMcKettrick's Luck by Linda Lael MillerLone Star Trouble by Autumn PiperFrontier Woman by Joan JohnstonHer Unbridled Cowboy by Donna Michaels
Best Western/Cowboy Romance PB Books
31 books — 18 voters

True Grit
Blood Meridian, or the Evening Redness in the West
All the Pretty Horses (The Border Trilogy, #1)
The Gunslinger (The Dark Tower, #1)
The Sisters Brothers
Hondo
Sackett's Land
No Country For Old Men
The Daybreakers
Dead Man's Walk
Sackett
Shane
Streets of Laredo
Jubal Sackett
Comanche Moon


Mary Doria Russell
Mary Doria Russell Epitaph
Her Favorite Westerns: Not just for gunslingers, the real Wild West comes to life in these five frontier tales recommended by the author of Epitaph.
More Good Minds Suggest…
Forrest Carter
He loves deep... hates hard, ever'thing's that killed what he loves. All great warriors are sich men.
Forrest Carter, The Outlaw Josey Wales

B.M. Bower
Use your head for something more than to give your hat a ride, can't you?
B.M. Bower, Shadow Mountain

More quotes...
South Bay Writers TalkBooks South Bay Writers, located in the Silicon Valley, is the South Bay Branch of the California Writ…more

62 members, last active 4 hours ago

YABN YABN's (YA Book Nerd) Dream! This group is for those that eat breathe and dream YA! If you dig a…more

2 members, last active 3 years ago

*~Can't Stop Reading~* Everyone is welcome, this is a book club for all genres! For those of us who like to read everyt…more

2,387 members, last active 13 hours ago

Browncoats A group for fans of Joss Whedon's Firefly and Serenity.

269 members, last active 8 months ago

Thicker Than Blood
2 chapters — updated May 13, 2015 06:31PM — 1 person liked it
VENGEANCE FROM EDEN
1 chapters — updated Mar 29, 2010 04:33PM — 0 people liked it