Western

Westerns are devoted to telling stories set primarily in the latter half of the 19th century in the American Old West, but there are also a number of works about Western-type characters in contemporary settings.

Westerns often stress the harshness of the wilderness and frequently set the action in an arid, desolate landscape.

Rebel of the Sands (Rebel of the Sands, #1)
Off The Grid (Joe Pickett, #16)
Lassoing the Virgin Mail Order Bride
Once a Rancher (The Carsons of Mustang Creek, #1)
News of the World
Sawbones
His Kind of Cowgirl
Trial by Fire
East of West, Vol. 5: The Last Supper
Back in the Saddle
Under the Desert Sky
Revenge and the Wild
One to Take (One to Hold, #8)
Robert B. Parker's Blackjack
Stone Cold Cowboy (Montana Men, #4)
A Real Cowboy Never Says No (Wyoming Rebels #1)
The Bartender's Mail Order Bride (Wild West Frontier Brides, #3)
Rebel of the Sands (Rebel of the Sands, #1)
Lassoing the Virgin Mail Order Bride
The Cowboy's E-Mail Order Bride (The Cowboys of Chance Creek, #1)
A Real Cowboy Rides a Motorcycle (Wyoming Rebels #3)
Mason (Remington Ranch, #1)
A Real Cowboy Knows How to Kiss (Wyoming Rebels #2)
No Mercy (Lawmen Book 2)
Once a Rancher (The Carsons of Mustang Creek, #1)
The Chef's Mail Order Bride (Wild West Frontier Brides #1)
The Sisters Brothers
East of West, Vol. 1: The Promise
Walk on Earth a Stranger  (The Gold Seer Trilogy, #1)
Tougher Than The Rest (MacLarens of Fire Mountain, #1)
Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. JamesFifty Shades Darker by E.L. JamesGabriel's Inferno by Sylvain ReynardBeautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuireKiss of Snow by Nalini Singh
Best Hot Romances of 2011
72 books — 153 voters
Gone with the Wind by Margaret MitchellThe Adventures of Tom Sawyer & Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark TwainTo Kill a Mockingbird by Harper LeeSilent We Stood by Henry ChappellA Song for Carmine by M. Spio
Americana Fiction
40 books — 24 voters

The Redemption of Caralynne Hayman by Carole   BrownInfernal Gates by Michael J.   WebbAm I Okay, God? Devotionals from the Seventh Dimension by Lorilyn RobertsKeeper of Reign by Emma RightThe Master's Plan by Stephany Tullis
Christian Indie Authors
712 books — 402 voters
Cowgirl Up and Ride by Lorelei JamesLong Hard Ride by Lorelei JamesRough, Raw, and Ready by Lorelei JamesTied Up, Tied Down by Lorelei JamesAll Jacked Up by Lorelei James
SAVE A HORSE RIDE A COWBOY
616 books — 691 voters


True Grit
Blood Meridian, or the Evening Redness in the West
All the Pretty Horses (The Border Trilogy, #1)
The Gunslinger (The Dark Tower, #1)
The Sisters Brothers
Hondo
Sackett's Land
No Country For Old Men
The Daybreakers
Dead Man's Walk
Sackett
Shane
Streets of Laredo
Jubal Sackett
Comanche Moon


Mary Doria Russell
Mary Doria Russell Epitaph
Her Favorite Westerns: Not just for gunslingers, the real Wild West comes to life in these five frontier tales recommended by the author of Epitaph.
More Good Minds Suggest…
Rae Carson
It's the easiest thing in the world to get to California-you just aim yourself west and start walking.
Rae Carson

D.A. Carson
In the moral realm, there is very little consensus left in Western countries over the proper basis of moral behavior. And because of the power of the media, for millions of men and women the only venue where moral questions are discussed and weighed is the talk show, where more often than not the primary aim is to entertain, even shock, not to think. When Geraldo and Oprah become the arbiters of public morality, when the opinion of the latest media personality is sought on everything from aborti ...more
D.A. Carson, The Gagging of God: Christianity Confronts Pluralism

More quotes...
Ask romance author Sara Barnard Hello and welcome to Q & A with Sara Barnard, author of the historical romance series An Everlas…more

2 members, last active 3 years ago

Robert E. Howard Readers Justly remembered for his thrilling stories about Conan the Barbarian, Robert E. Howard wrote ab…more

267 members, last active 36 days ago

Browncoats A group for fans of Joss Whedon's Firefly and Serenity.

271 members, last active 7 months ago

Weird Westerns The western is a time-honored genre in the literature world, but it wasn't until lately that we'…more

146 members, last active 3 days ago

Two Gun Hart - Prologue
1 chapters — updated May 13, 2015 06:39PM — 0 people liked it
Venom In The Blood
1 chapters — updated Mar 29, 2010 04:35PM — 0 people liked it