Vietnam War


The Things They Carried
We Were Soldiers Once... and Young: Ia Drang - The Battle That Changed the War in Vietnam
Matterhorn
Dispatches
A Rumor Of War
Chickenhawk
Vietnam: A History
Going After Cacciato
A Bright Shining Lie: John Paul Vann and America in Vietnam
If I Die in a Combat Zone: Box Me Up and Ship Me Home
The Best and the Brightest
Inside Out & Back Again
The Sorrow of War: A Novel of North Vietnam
The Lotus Eaters
Steel My Soldiers' Hearts: The Hopeless to Hardcore Transformation of U.S. Army, 4th Battalion, 39th Infantry, Vietnam

Giveaways

  • The Way to Stay in Destiny by Augusta Scattergood
    The Way to Stay in Destiny
    by
    Release date: Jan 06, 2015
    From the author of the acclaimed GLORY BE, a novel that celebrates baseball, fast piano, and small-town living in the wake of the Vietnam War.

    When Th…more View Details »
    Giveaway dates: Dec 15 - Dec 31, 2014
    10 copies available, 231 people requesting
    Countries available: US
  • Wapsha and the Rabbi by Howard S. Selden
    Wapsha and the Rabbi
    by
    The unlikely link of two diverse cultural worlds is explored in this gripping fictional tale.There’s Wapasha-a-full-blooded American Indian, Shaman of…more View Details »
    Giveaway dates: Dec 01 - Dec 31, 2014
    5 copies available, 342 people requesting
    Countries available: US, CA, and GB more
  • In Wilderness by Diane Thomas
    In Wilderness: A Novel
    by
    For readers of Amanda Coplin and Chris Bohjalian, In Wilderness is a suspenseful and literary love story—a daring and original novel about our fierce…more View Details »
    Giveaway dates: Dec 03 - Jan 10, 2015
    25 copies available, 248 people requesting
    Countries available: US
  • Wild Orchids by Karen RobardsFire and Rain by Kathleen EagleMidway Between You and Me by Rogenna BrewerUnglorious War by Maxine FlamBeneath the Wall by Eryn LaPlant
    Vietnam War Era Romance Novels
    31 books — 2 voters
    The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne FrankThe Book Thief by Markus ZusakRed Scarf Girl by Ji-li JiangAll Quiet on the Western Front by Erich Maria RemarqueOne Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich by Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn
    What Dystopian Readers Should Know
    87 books — 29 voters

    Beneath the Bamboo by Jonathon Jones
    Vietnam War Biographies
    1 book — 2 voters
    The Orphan Conspiracies by James MorcanAmerica's Great Depression by Murray N. RothbardThe March of Folly by Barbara W. TuchmanOut Of Work by Richard K. VedderFinancial Fiasco by Johan Norberg
    Libertarian Guide to American History
    20 books — 10 voters

    The Vietnam War by Deborah KentInside Out and Back Again by Thanhha Lai
    Middle School Books on Vietnam
    2 books — 2 voters
    The Things They Carried by Tim O'BrienMatterhorn by Karl MarlantesDispatches by Michael HerrAbsolutely Nothing by Mark A. CooperWe Were Soldiers Once... and Young by Harold G. Moore
    Best Literature About the Vietnam War
    188 books — 362 voters


    I have to keep my mouth shut about Nam though. All of these guys want to believe they were fighting an honorable war, and that their conduct deserves respect. They want the public to treat them like they’re heroes—like the WWII vets were.” “Instead, smart ass, pampered kids call them names and throw dog shit at them.
    Bud Rudesill, Hurricane Ginger

    Noam Chomsky
    The idea that we must choose between the method of "winning hearts and minds" and the method of shaping behavior presumes that we have the right to choose at all. This is to grant us a right that we would surely accord to no other power. Yet the overwhelming body of American scholarship accords us this right.
    Noam Chomsky, Chomsky On Anarchism

    More quotes...
    ...November 02, 2012 to December 02, 2012...

    1 member, last active 2 years ago

    Catherine West's Readers Group Catherine West, award-winning author of Yesterday's Tomorrow and Hidden in the Heart, invites yo…more

    132 members, last active 3 months ago

    "Courier" is my first novel but hardly my first time around the track in Washington DC. I've cov…more

    1 member, last active one year ago

    Q&A with Richard Sharp This Q&A concerns the novels of Richard Sharp

    8 members, last active 10 months ago

    The Cu Chi Tunnel Experience in Vietnam
    1 chapters — updated Dec 20, 2011 09:56PM — 0 people liked it
    My journey so far
    1 chapters — updated Jan 19, 2011 12:23AM — 0 people liked it