Golden Age Mystery

The Golden Age of mysteries is usually considered the 1920s and 1930s, although the style was written at least as early as 1911; the term can also refer to later-written mysteries which follow the same formulas and style.

Certain conventions and clichés were established that limited any surprises on the part of the reader to the details of the plot and, primarily, to the identity of the murderer. The majority of novels of that era were "whodunits", and several authors excelled, after misleading their readers successfully, in revealing the least likely suspect convincingly as the villain. There

Popular Golden Age Mystery Books

The Mysterious Affair at Styles (Hercule Poirot, #1)
The Crime at Black Dudley (Albert Campion Mystery #1)
Gaudy Night (Lord Peter Wimsey, #12)
Strong Poison (Lord Peter Wimsey, #6)
Whose Body?  (Lord Peter Wimsey, #1)
Murder Must Advertise  (Lord Peter Wimsey, #10)
The Murder of Roger Ackroyd (Hercule Poirot, #4)
The Man in the Brown Suit
Clouds of Witness (Lord Peter Wimsey, #2)
Peril at End House (Hercule Poirot, #8)
The A.B.C. Murders (Hercule Poirot, #13)

Most Read This Week

Silent Nights: Christmas Mysteries


Tags contributing to this page include: golden-age-mystery, golden-age-mysteries, and mystery-golden-age