Espionage

Spy fiction, literature concerning the forms of espionage, was a sub-genre derived from the novel during the nineteenth century, which then evolved into a discrete genre before the First World War (1914–18), when governments established modern intelligence agencies in the early twentieth century. As a genre, spy fiction is thematically related to the novel of adventure, the thriller and the politico–military thriller.

Cross & Crown (Sidewinder, #2)
Rivals in the City (The Agency, #4)
The Secrets of a Scoundrel (The Inferno Club, #7)
The Zhivago Affair: The Kremlin, the CIA, and the Battle Over a Forbidden Book
Wicked Temptation (Nemesis, Unlimited, #3)
No Place to Hide: Edward Snowden, the NSA, and the U.S. Surveillance State
The Lincoln Myth (Cotton Malone, #9)
The Good Spy: The Life and Death of Robert Ames
Air Bound (Sisters of the Heart, #3)
The Director
Push and Shove (The Ghost Bird, #6)
Daylight Again (Hell or High Water, #3)
Blonde Ops
Sniper's Honor (Bob Lee Swagger, #9)
The Scoundrel's Seduction (House of Trent, #3)

Giveaways

  • The Black Rose by Sam Berretti
    The Black Rose (An O'Brien's Law Mystery #1)
    by
    “What do you want to be when you grow up, Meredith?” A dead attorney had not been her answer, she was pretty darn sure. After years of experience in t…more View Details »
    Giveaway dates: Jul 12 - Jul 28, 2014
    1 copy available, 320 people requesting
    Countries available: US
    read on goodreads
  • Dangerous Illusions by Joseph J. Gabriele
    Dangerous Illusions
    by
    Release date: Feb 09, 2014
    Signed ARC!

    In a beguiling tale of deception and murder, desire and theft, seduction and betrayal—where nothing is what it appears to be—a man is murde…more View Details »
    Giveaway dates: Jul 25 - Jul 28, 2014
    1 copy available, 58 people requesting
    Countries available: US, CA, and GB more
  • Foreign Correspondent by H.D.S. Greenway
    Foreign Correspondent: A Memoir
    by
    Release date: Aug 19, 2014
    David Greenway, a journalist’s journalist in the tradition of Michael Herr, David Halberstam, and Dexter Filkins. In this vivid memoir, he tells us wh…more View Details »
    Giveaway dates: Jul 22 - Jul 29, 2014
    10 copies available, 129 people requesting
    Countries available: US
  • I Am Pilgrim (Pilgrim, #1)
    The Target (Will Robie, #3)
    The Lincoln Myth (Cotton Malone, #9)
    The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches (Flavia de Luce, #6)
    United We Spy (Gallagher Girls, #6)
    The Runaway King (The Ascendance Trilogy, #2)
    The Rook (The Checquy Files, #1)
    The Naturals (The Naturals, #1)
    The English Girl (Gabriel Allon, #13)
    Out of Sight, Out of Time (Gallagher Girls, #5)
    Code Name Verity (Code Name Verity, #1)
    Grave Mercy (His Fair Assassin, #1)
    No Place to Hide: Edward Snowden, the NSA, and the U.S. Surveillance State
    The Hit  (Will Robie, #2)
    S.
    Black Ice by Anne StuartCold As Ice by Anne StuartIce Blue by Anne StuartHard Kill by Charlie FlowersThe Ninth Orphan by James Morcan
    Spy Romance
    112 books — 88 voters
    I'd Tell You I Love You, But Then I'd Have to Kill You by Ally CarterHeist Society by Ally CarterOnly the Good Spy Young by Ally CarterDon't Judge a Girl by Her Cover by Ally CarterCross My Heart and Hope to Spy by Ally Carter
    Best YA Spy/Mystery Novels
    378 books — 1,114 voters

    The Spy Who Came In from the Cold by John le CarréTinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy by John le CarréThe Day of the Jackal by Frederick ForsythThe Bourne Identity by Robert LudlumThe Hunt for Red October by Tom Clancy
    Espionage
    533 books — 589 voters
    Stormbreaker by Anthony HorowitzI'd Tell You I Love You, But Then I'd Have to Kill You by Ally CarterFledgling by Mark A. CooperThe Recruit by Robert MuchamorePoint Blank by Anthony Horowitz
    Spy Kids
    219 books — 566 voters

    Unthinkable Consequences by Bob RectorThe Saladin Strategy by Norm ClarkTinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy by John le CarréThe Da Vinci Code by Dan BrownThe Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson
    Tight Plot Novels
    114 books — 98 voters

    Popular Espionage Books

    Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy
    I'd Tell You I Love You, But Then I'd Have to Kill You (Gallagher Girls, #1)
    The Spy Who Came In from the Cold
    The Bourne Identity (Jason Bourne, #1)
    Casino Royale (James Bond, #1)
    Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy (Gallagher Girls, #2)
    Don't Judge a Girl by Her Cover (Gallagher Girls, #3)
    Only the Good Spy Young (Gallagher Girls, #4)

    Mai Jia
    Mai Jia Decoded
    His Favorite Modern Chinese Novels: China's best-selling author of the spy thriller Decoded shares his favorite works by his countrymen, all available in English.
    More Good Minds Suggest…
    Ally Carter
    Women of the Gallagher Academy, who comes here?" she asked. Just then, every girl at every table (even the newbies) stood and said in unison, "We are the sisters of Gillian." "Why do you come?" my mother asked. "To learn her skills. Honor her sword. And keep her secrets." "To what end do you work?" "To the cause of justice and light." "How long will you strive?" "For all the days of our lives," we finished and I felt a little like a character in one of my grandma's soap operas.
    Ally Carter, I'd Tell You I Love You, But Then I'd Have to Kill You

    Spy' is such a short ugly word. I prefer 'espionage.' Those extra three syllables really say something.
    Howard Tayler, Emperor Pius Dei

    More quotes...
    we read books

    1 member, last active 9 months ago

    A group for those who like stories with a strong Military/Government leaning that are set in the…more

    2 members, last active 4 months ago

    Formerly a library book group, this mystery book group now meets at member's houses monthly to d…more

    3 members, last active 8 months ago

    ...April 05, 2014 to May 05, 2014...

    1 member, last active 3 months ago

    Achilles Heart - Volume 1 - Rivalry
    1 chapters — updated Dec 09, 2010 06:13PM — 0 people liked it
    Glow
    1 chapters — updated Jan 20, 2014 07:52PM — 0 people liked it

    Tags

    Tags contributing to this page include: espionage, spies, spy, spy-books, and spy-fiction