Chapter Books

A chapter book is a story book intended for intermediate readers, generally age 7-10.
Unlike picture books for younger readers, a chapter book tells the story primarily through prose, rather than pictures. Unlike books for older readers, chapter books contain plentiful illustrations. The name refers to the fact that the stories are usually divided into short chapters, which provide children with opportunities to stop and resume reading if their attention spans are not long enough to finish the book in one sitting. Chapter books are usually works of fiction of moderate length and complexity.

Wonder
Brown Girl Dreaming
The Long Haul (Diary of a Wimpy Kid, #9)
The One and Only Ivan
El Deafo
The False Prince (The Ascendance Trilogy, #1)
Fortunately, the Milk
Sisters
Rain Reign
Counting by 7s
Out of My Mind
The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making (Fairyland, #1)
The Fourteenth Goldfish
Flora and Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures
The Wishing Spell (The Land of Stories, #1)

Giveaways

  • Sweet Tales by Laurie Hyman
    Sweet Tales: The Adventures of Miss Jade & Britt the Kit
    by
    Told from the point of view of lovable cats and their city and country animal friends, these four “Sweet Tales” – Tony Needs A Friend, Charcoal’s Stor…more View Details »
    Giveaway dates: Jan 01 - Jan 31, 2015
    3 copies available, 373 people requesting
    Countries available: CA and US
  • Good Crooks Book One by Mary Amato
    Good Crooks Book One: Missing Monkey!
    by
    FIVE PAPERBACK COPIES!

    A funny, silly new series perfect for fans of Dav Pilkey. Mary Amato is a star of state master and children's choice lists and r…more View Details »
    Giveaway dates: Jan 20 - Feb 20, 2015
    5 copies available, 220 people requesting
    Countries available: US and CA
  • Good Crooks Book Two by Mary Amato
    Good Crooks Book Two: Dog Gone!
    by
    FIVE PAPERBACK COPIES!

    A funny, silly new series perfect for fans of Dav Pilkey. Mary Amato is a star of state master and children's choice lists and r…more View Details »
    Giveaway dates: Jan 20 - Feb 20, 2015
    5 copies available, 202 people requesting
    Countries available: US and CA
  • Charlotte's Web
    Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Harry Potter, #1)
    Holes (Holes, #1)
    Matilda
    Bridge to Terabithia
    James and the Giant Peach
    The Giver (The Giver, #1)
    The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games, #1)
    Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (Charlie Bucket, #1)
    The BFG
    Dinosaurs Before Dark (Magic Tree House, #1)
    Because of Winn-Dixie
    A Wrinkle in Time (A Wrinkle in Time Quintet, #1)
    Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Harry Potter, #2)
    Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Harry Potter, #3)
    Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone by J.K. RowlingAfrican Safari with Ted and Raymond by Rhonda PattonMatilda by Roald DahlArtemis Fowl by Eoin ColferThe Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster
    Children's Books Worth Loving
    87 books — 62 voters
    The Fortune Teller's Spoon by Paige PetersonLunch Walks Among Us by Jim BentonThe 14 Fibs of Gregory K. by Greg PincusPhineas L. MacGuire . . . Erupts! by Frances O'Roark DowellThe Short Seller by Elissa Brent Weissman
    Math and Science Chapter Books
    7 books — 2 voters

    Science Fiction Book - Part 1 First Contact - Aoleon The Mart... by Brent LeVasseurCharlotte's Web by E.B. WhiteThe Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank BaumThe Cricket in Times Square by George SeldenHarry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone by J.K. Rowling
    SPL Middle Grade Recommendations
    45 books — 17 voters
    Happy Halloween by Othen Donald Dale CummingsFishing Into Potato Salad by Othen Donald Dale CummingsTurtle Wish by Murielle CyrWhen I Build with Blocks by Niki AllingMiss Nelson Is Back by Harry Allard
    Favorite Books For Kindergarten Boys
    34 books — 37 voters

    Minuk by Kirkpatrick HillLeyla by Alev Lytle CroutierAnita and Me by Meera SyalCecile by Mary CasanovaSaba by Jane Kurtz
    Girls of Many Lands
    10 books — 3 voters
    Boy and Bot by Ame DyckmanThe Robot King by Brian SelznickClink by Kelly DiPucchioThe Jupiter Chronicles by Leonardo RamirezRabbit and Robot by Cece Bell
    Robots For Kids
    35 books — 17 voters


    Tara Michener
    Looking at my reflection tonight, I see a new girl staring back at me. She has big hair and big eyes and a big heart. Not only is she the perfect size and pretty...she is smart. -Mackenzie
    Tara Michener, Summer Camp Survival

    Emma Lesko
    I don’t like banging on noisy instruments, I don’t like songs that get stuck in my head,and I don’t like eyeballs staring at me. That’s how come I don’t like music class. The other kids at school like music a lot. That’s no biggie, though. Everybody’s different from everybody, and I’m different about music.
    Emma Lesko, Super Lexi

    More quotes...
    Matching Kids to Books This is a group to find the right book for the right reader at the right time. It is a place to l…more

    137 members, last active 7 months ago

    Q&A with Karen Toz Hi - I'm so glad you stopped by! Feel free to join the conversation... we'll be discussing writi…more

    31 members, last active 2 years ago

    Children's Literature group comprised of undergraduate students during summer 2014

    15 members, last active 7 months ago

    We will be using this group to start our literature circle discussions.

    22 members, last active 3 years ago