Asia

Books that are set in Asia. Some popular settings for Asian books are China, India, Indonesia, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Japan, Phillipines, Vietnam, Iran, and Thailand

New Releases Tagged "Asia"

Rain (Paper Gods, #2)
Indonesia, Etc.: Exploring the Improbable Nation
The Girl in the Road
The Pearl that Broke Its Shell
The Year She Left Us: A Novel
Girl in Reverse
Age of Ambition: Chasing Fortune, Truth, and Faith in the New China
Dear Leader: North Korea's senior propagandist exposes shocking truths behind the regime
A Time to Dance

Giveaways

  • Crowds, Chaos, Colour by Jason Smart
    Crowds, Chaos, Colour: Visiting India, Nepal, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh
    by
    Release date: May 19, 2014
    A chance to get hold of a copy of my latest travel book, Crowds, Colour, Chaos: Visiting India, Nepal, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.

    View Details »
    Giveaway dates: Jun 29 - Jul 29, 2014
    1 copy available, 193 people requesting
    Countries available: US and GB
  • Foreign Correspondent by H.D.S. Greenway
    Foreign Correspondent: A Memoir
    by
    Release date: Aug 19, 2014
    David Greenway, a journalist’s journalist in the tradition of Michael Herr, David Halberstam, and Dexter Filkins. In this vivid memoir, he tells us wh…more View Details »
    Giveaway dates: Jul 22 - Jul 29, 2014
    10 copies available, 97 people requesting
    Countries available: US
  • Spirits Abroad by Zen Cho
    Spirits Abroad
    by
    Release date: Jun 21, 2014
    Win 1 of 3 signed copies of Campbell-nominated author Zen Cho's first short story collection.

    A Datin recalls her romance with an orang bunian. A teena…more View Details »
    Giveaway dates: Jul 01 - Aug 01, 2014
    3 copies available, 796 people requesting
    Countries available: US, CA, and GB more
  • The Lowland
    The Hundred-Foot Journey
    The Valley of Amazement
    The Reason I Jump: The Inner Voice of a Thirteen-Year-Old Boy with Autism
    The Art of Hearing Heartbeats
    All You Need Is Kill
    Cockroaches (Harry Hole, #2)
    The Pearl that Broke Its Shell
    And the Mountains Echoed
    I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and Was Shot by the Taliban
    A Tale for the Time Being
    Crazy Rich Asians
    The Orphan Master's Son
    South of the Border, West of the Sun
    The Windup Girl
    The Kite Runner by Khaled HosseiniA Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled HosseiniThree Cups of Tea by Greg MortensonKim by Rudyard KiplingSikander by M. Salahuddin Khan
    Books Set in the -stan Countries
    108 books — 79 voters
    Tao Te Ching by Lao TzuThe Art of War by Sun TzuWild Swans by Jung ChangBalzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress by Dai SijieMonkey by Wu Cheng'en
    Chinese Literature
    168 books — 67 voters

    Snow Flower and the Secret Fan by Lisa SeeThe Good Earth by Pearl S. BuckThe Joy Luck Club by Amy TanShanghai Girls by Lisa SeeThe Kitchen God's Wife by Amy Tan
    Best Novels That Take Place in China
    241 books — 680 voters
    River Town by Peter HesslerChina by Tom  CarterThe Cost of Hope by Amanda   BennettThe Good Earth by Pearl S. BuckPearl of China by Anchee Min
    Best CHINA Expat Books
    88 books — 56 voters

    A Fine Balance by Rohinton MistryBombay Bhel by Ken  DoyleSwimming Lessons and Other Stories from Firozsha Baag by Rohinton MistryFamily Matters by Rohinton MistryMaximum City by Suketu Mehta
    Best Mumbai/Bombay Stories
    35 books — 55 voters
    Diplomacy by Henry KissingerGhost Wars by Steve CollThe Cold War by John Lewis GaddisThe Looming Tower by Lawrence WrightBlowback by Chalmers Johnson
    American Foreign Policy
    246 books — 126 voters

    Memoirs of a Geisha
    Snow Flower and the Secret Fan
    Nothing to Envy: Ordinary Lives in North Korea
    The Good Earth (House of Earth, #1)
    The Joy Luck Club
    Wild Swans: Three Daughters of China
    The Kite Runner
    The Orphan Master's Son
    Shanghai Girls (Shanghai Girls #1)
    Norwegian Wood
    Kafka on the Shore
    Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress
    The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle
    A Thousand Splendid Suns
    The God of Small Things

    Kevin Kwan
    Kevin Kwan Crazy Rich Asians
    Ogle the jet-setting, couture-buying, back-stabbing ways of three Chinese families and their gossip-fueled romances in this opulent new satire, Crazy Rich Asians.
    More Debut Author Snapshot…
    Peter Tieryas
    Doubt is the only reliable source of creativity.
    Peter Tieryas, Watering Heaven

    Thomas Mann
    Protestantism harbors within it certain elements – just as the Great Reformer himself harbored such elements within his personality. I am thinking here of a sentimentality, a trancelike self-hypnosis that is not European, that is foreign and hostile to our active hemisphere’s law of life. Just look at him, this Luther. Look at the portraits, both as a young man and later. What a skull, what cheekbones, what a strange set to the eyes. My friend, that is Asia. I would be surprised, would be astoni...more
    Thomas Mann, The Magic Mountain

    More quotes...
    Ask Arthur Goodreads Author Arthur Crandon discusses his new book 'Deadly Eection' and all aspects of the P…more

    35 members, last active 5 months ago

    Conn Iggulden Fans This is a group for fans of Conn Iggulden. Please join and post a comment. Would love to hear fro…more

    15 members, last active 8 months ago

    A group of authors and books published by Signal 8 Press.

    7 members, last active one year ago

    I recently published my book The Good Luck Knot, which is based on my travels and experiences in…more

    3 members, last active 2 years ago

    You Are Here
    1 chapters — updated Mar 29, 2010 04:33PM — 0 people liked it
    Riding the Asian Dragon: Extraordinary Stories of Ordinary People
    1 chapters — updated Dec 21, 2011 12:36PM — 0 people liked it