Apocalyptic

Apocalyptic fiction is a sub-genre of science fiction that is concerned with the end of civilization either through nuclear war, plague, or some other general disaster. Post-apocalyptic fiction is set in a world or civilization after such a disaster. The time frame may be immediately after the catastrophe, focusing on the travails or psychology of survivors, or considerably later, often including the theme that the existence of pre-catastrophe civilization has been forgotten (or mythologized). Post-apocalyptic stories often take place in an agrarian, non-technological future world, or a world...more

New Releases Tagged "Apocalyptic"

Lock In
The Young World (The Young World, #1)
Idols (Icons, #2)
The Rain (The Rain, #1)
The Walking Dead, Vol. 21: All Out War Part 2
Some Fine Day
The Day the Dead Came to Show and Tell
The Horde Without End (The World Without End, #2)
The Walking Dead, Issue #129
Skylight (Arcadium, #2)
Point of Crisis

Giveaways

  • Partholon by D. Krauss
    Partholon
    by
    The Twin Towers are still smoldering when those odd little anthrax letters show up, killing a few people here and there. Some nutcase, everyone thinks…more View Details »
    Giveaway dates: Aug 18 - Sep 18, 2014
    10 copies available, 825 people requesting
    Countries available: US, CA, and GB more
  • The Alpha and the Omega by H.M. Charley Ada
    The Alpha and the Omega: An absurd philosophical tale about God, the end of the world, and what's on the other planets
    by
    Release date: Jun 21, 2014
    20 SIGNED COPIES!!

    For a full description (with artwork), please visit the book’s website: www.aothebook.com.

    Thank you for your interest! View Details »
    Giveaway dates: Aug 22 - Sep 19, 2014
    20 copies available, 530 people requesting
    Countries available: US, CA, and GB more
  • Rivers by Michael Farris Smith
    Rivers: A Novel
    by
    For fans of Cormac McCarthy and Annie Proulx, “a wonderfully cinematic story” (The Washington Post) set in the post-Katrina South after violent storms…more View Details »
    Giveaway dates: Sep 11 - Sep 20, 2014
    10 copies available, 258 people requesting
    Countries available: US
  • The Maze Runner (Maze Runner, #1)
    The Death Cure (Maze Runner, #3)
    The 5th Wave (The Fifth Wave, #1)
    Lock In
    Shatter Me (Shatter Me, #1)
    Dreams of Gods & Monsters (Daughter of Smoke & Bone, #3)
    The Girl with All the Gifts
    Ignite Me (Shatter Me, #3)
    The Darkest Minds (The Darkest Minds, #1)
    Annihilation (Southern Reach Trilogy, #1)
    Unravel Me (Shatter Me, #2)
    California
    The Kill Order (Maze Runner, #0.5)
    Angelfall (Penryn & the End of Days, #1)
    Wool Omnibus (Silo, #1)
    The Road
    World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War
    The Stand
    The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games, #1)
    Mockingjay (The Hunger Games, #3)
    Catching Fire (The Hunger Games, #2)
    Life As We Knew It (Last Survivors, #1)
    Oryx and Crake (MaddAddam Trilogy, #1)
    The 5th Wave (The Fifth Wave, #1)
    Alas, Babylon
    Divergent (Divergent, #1)
    Angelfall (Penryn & the End of Days, #1)
    The Maze Runner (Maze Runner, #1)
    Earth Abides
    I Am Legend and Other Stories

    Hugh Howey

    Author of Wool Omnibus

    I'm the author of WOOL, a top 5 science fiction book on Amazon. I also wrote the Molly Fyde saga, a tale of a teenager from the 25th cent...

    Ask a Question

    More Featured Authors Answering Questions…
    The hours on the road led inexorably to the bridge from where I could finally see the remains of the day.
    ― Patrick Yaeger

    Robert McCammon
    ...he was a scream wrapped up in straw, a little, weak, vicious thing gnashing inside a monstrous facade...
    Robert McCammon, Swan Song

    More quotes...
    Apocalypse Whenever The most active Goodreads group for apocalyptic, post-apocalyptic and dystopic fiction! Join the…more

    8,270 members, last active 1 hours ago

    A place where MrC and his students will post about what they're reading and comment on each othe…more

    1 member, last active 5 months ago

    The After The After is a period of time after... a few things. Nuclear explosions and humans dying off of…more

    10 members, last active 2 months ago

    Future Survivors, the Apocalypse Group For readers and writers of apocalyptic, post-apocalyptic, or dystopian novels, and fans of the d…more

    3,615 members, last active 14 hours ago

    Choice is like a bullet
    1 chapters — updated Mar 29, 2010 04:33PM — 1 person liked it
    Alice Ghosting
    1 chapters — updated Mar 15, 2011 12:11PM — 1 person liked it