N’s review of City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments, #1) > Likes and Comments

111 likes · like
Comments (showing 1-50 of 56) (56 new)    post a comment »

message 1: by Heather (new)

Heather Megs wrote: "Number one... get a life... if you have to write a novel to review a book then you really need to find one and fast.




Do you not understand what this website is about? To review books no matter what the length? And to tell someone to get a life because of it--not only crosses the line but certainly reeks of hypocrisy.



message 2: by travelmel (new)

travelmel I agree with your assessment of characher motivation flaws! Jace would have had to have lost his mind completely to have forgotten all the facts he knew to be true and had such a huge change of heart (albeit briefly). What a ridiculous ending. I've never been so irritated.


message 3: by Sandy (new)

Sandy I am sorry you guys did not like this because I really liked this book and if you continue to read the series it will all make sense in the end.
I thought the characters and plot were well thought out. This was a very fun read for me.
Oh well!


message 4: by Lining (new)

Lining Agreed. Actually, I only read 100 pgges of the book before throwing it across the room and screaming, "What kind of SH*T is this??!!!" And I guessed all the major plot points too. Only a half-dead llama wouldn't be able to figure them out- especially with the oh-so-clever hints she lobbed at our face?!

Mary Sues are rampant, too. Scoungy urban fantasy, nothing more. (Did I mention Clare was involved in a fanfiction plagizaring scandal? LOL)


message 5: by Jello (new)

Jello well if you actuually FINISHED the books it would probably seem harder than you stated to figure out what happens. I personally love this series. I used to be obsessed with twilight then i read this and its not the same when i pick up one of the twilight saga books. these are by far my favorite books and i think your just jealous you couldn't write a series like that. You could not have guessed all the major plots because half of them were in the last book!




message 6: by Jello (new)

Jello to: Natalie

you obviously havent read alot of books if thats saying somethin.


message 7: by [deleted user] (new)

I liked the book untill part 3 then it want downhill....
but I didn't wan't to give up yet!! so i did some reaserch (no too much mind you) and found out the part that made me hate the book actually isnt real!! so now I actually like love this book!


message 8: by Jello (new)

Jello see someone actually has some sense



message 9: by Terri-Louise (last edited Jul 22, 2009 10:25PM) (new)

Terri-Louise Wow, someone obviously has a brain and knows what good book is and what ones aren't. Thank you.

I read all the books much to my dismay and I wrote a review for each one.

Jello.. are for real? You must not read much at all like you accused Natalie... she has a brain. Where as you don't for the simple fact you loved this book.

The author can't could come up with something original even if it was staring her in her face.



message 10: by Jonathan (new)

Jonathan The thing that seems odd to me.... you read the whole book.

If I don't like a book. I don't read it.

And maybe you could try to [ I know its insane to think ] Just try to enjoy the book instead of rip it apart piece by piece while you are reading it.


message 11: by Terri-Louise (new)

Terri-Louise Jonathan.... if one doesn't read the whole book then what is the point of this site? To just allow a book to have nothing but good reviews?

What is the point of a review if you just read a chapter and stop there? Yes there is books I only read the first chapter and just stopped there because i hated it.

Sometimes one reads a book for could it be to let others NOT read the damn thing... to give a truthful review so that they aren't just judging it by the first chapter.

I personally enjoy reading it is why I read... but I know this is a shocker.. sometimes a book needs to be ripped to pieces because there is people out there that are not vapid pod people who flip out with whatever is said to be the next big thing.

Some people want to know why people hate the book... if you don't like the criticism of a book you love then don't freaking read the review.



message 12: by Erin (new)

Erin natalie I completely agree with you. I also find people who get all pissy just because someone didn't like a book that they did, to be ignorant morons.


message 13: by Katherine (last edited Aug 04, 2009 05:45PM) (new)

Katherine Natalie's review for 'City of Bones' is one of the most tidy and perfect reviews for this book. And to everyone who is saying to get a life? Well, do you want me to be a Paula or a Simon--sorry for the American Idol reference. Authors will write and they can't expect to NOT get critism, if they were fearful of what others would say we wouldn't have any books. What Natalie and the others who hate this book, including myself (it may make me seem bias to be siding with them but trust me, I liked Clare's earlier works on Fanfiction), are doing is what the publishing house and the editor should have done. And reading the next book? The plot holes that bothered me were the ones in this book and how she seemed not able to comprehend how to address her magic system. It's quite simple, write a chapter that is devoted to one of the characters setting out the rules. But there is one problem, there were no rules. It was a random let's-get-lucky-moment.
I had heard great reviews from my friends--of course they were the ones who liked Breaking Dawn--and was disappointed. I did TRY to like this book. But, sadly, failed.


message 14: by Cathy (new)

Cathy I don't mind the review, everyone has their opinion. But the review must be flagged as containing spoilers, you give away major info about the villian at least. I had to stop reading the review there because you may already have ruined the book for me, and I like it so far. Please mark this as containing spoilers right away or I'll have to flag it. Thnks in advance.


message 15: by Tatiana (last edited Aug 15, 2009 10:33PM) (new)

Tatiana Completely agree with your review. The "twist" in the end (although I know how it all ends) is beyond disgusting. No matter how you try to put it, the potentially incestuous love is in no way romantic. I do not know how you can possibly enjoy these books unless you know the ending.


message 16: by [deleted user] (last edited Dec 22, 2009 04:53AM) (new)

It's not right to be insulting the mental capacity of other people who you don't even know based on whether they liked a book or not. (I mean this to the comments above.) I personally enjoyed them, but I don't have any problems with those who didn't. People who get too worked up over reviews shouldn't bother reading them. I read them to see the responses of other people to stories I enjoyed. Bad reviews just make me think more about the book. If I still like the book after I've read the review, it just strengthens my liking for the book. Or I am put off the book for life if I agree with the review. Thanks for the review, Natalie, even if I didn't agree with it.
Sorry for blathering on for ages on your post!

P.S, I kind of liked Valentine. He was weird to me for a while, but throughout the series he started to make a lot more sense to me. I think his motives were quite obvious after awhile, (although he did come across as a bit psychotic, but then again, so do most evil characters)
x


message 17: by Katie (new)

Katie T I hate your review. I disagree.


message 18: by Alyce (new)

Alyce Her fanfiction turned out better than than her original fiction because it was plagerised from people who could write well. I decided to give the series a chance and borrow it from the library. I even enjoyed it as a bit of vapid entertainment until I came to the falcon story. Considering the *exact same story* appeared in a work of her fanfiction it seems that these are merely renamed versions of old characters existing in a world with a weaker premise.

Glad I didnt spend any money on this.


message 19: by Animacerca (new)

Animacerca THANK YOU! I loved your review. I just finished this disgrace of a book, and I did the same thing you did- i threw it. I searched online incredulous that anyone could have found this book as good as it is made out to be. What did i see? stupid and shallow "i love this book, i read it all the time! It should be made into a movie!" So much that i went downstairs and ranted to my father for an hour. Reading your review was so refreshing- you concisely put into words what it took me an hour of ranting to explain to my poor and unsuspecting father. I agree fully, Dues ex machine is all OVER this novel, as if she lacked the ability to convincingly write her characters out of their tight spots. I felt like the action was forced and predictable. Every time they went into "battle" i heard resounding Final Fantasy battle music in the back of my mind- it was ridiculous. Her characters were shallow, and underdeveloped. Her book was based on convenient coincidence. Oh... BY THE WAY... it just SO HAPPENS to bust in at the right moment and save them. She can't seem to make up her mind, and the entire moral system of the characters flop around at will. (Example: Luke "Go away- i don't care about you" to "Oh i love you, and i will protect you!", and Clary just takes it like oh... ok. cool.) The end part your talking about-- so agree. I'm sitting opened mouthed disgusted and they are like "oh... well that sucks but your still hott so...."

waste of life.


message 20: by Lining (new)

Lining YES! thank you! everyone else seems to think this is awesome..


message 21: by Liz (new)

Liz I hated this book with a passion. I made it halfway through before I finally had to stop or just sink down into a depressed little ball.

"(Not as shocked, though, as I was to read that there were at least three drafts of this book. Wow.)"

I think most authors go through, like, fifty drafts, not three. No wonder.


message 22: by Dani (last edited Dec 17, 2009 02:37PM) (new)

Dani I love reading in depth and lengthy reviews like this that really get down to it. They don't dance around issues or gloss over bad characterization and mistakes. I was never planning on reading this book. I find that books with a God like man standing over a city are normally the kind I dislike. (I know I know don't judge a book by its cover...but some of them I just can't help) I really enjoyed your review even if I was never planning on reading the books, its nice to know I didn't waste my time :D.

To all the people who disagree: Its fine to like a book that has a bad review. Hell I've read more than a couple bad reviews on books I adored! But I could see that the people had made some good points and found myself laughing like "yes she did do that didn't she?" It didn't stop me from liking the book and it didn't force me to comment things like "get a life," or "you're so stupid if you couldn't see that this book was heavensent"

So thanks for the enjoyable review Natalie ^_^
If you don't mind I've added you as a friend so I can stalk some of your other reviews.


message 23: by Summer (new)

Summer Thank you, Natalie, for pointing out what a waste of space this book is. And, just to comment on what you said concerning how her fan fiction is somewhat better than her original stuff: Well, it should be, shouldn't it? She copied pages upon pages from some of the most outstanding authors out there and nicked all the witty/funny one-liners she could from TV shows and movies alike.

By the way, I wanted to give this book a chance just so I could honestly say I tried, but dear Jesus on a craker is it bad. Also, she ripped off her own fan fiction in certain parts and there are some paragraphs that are lifted from other authors. I don't think anyone has investigated this in an official way yet, but it was pointed out somewhere on the Amazon boards and I went and checked myself.

Fancy that! A known plagiarist who claimed no responsibility last time she was accused not abandoning her old ways? Who would have thunk it.


message 24: by Liz (new)

Liz Summer, would you mind digging up a link to the Amazon post that said that? I'm curious...


message 25: by Kimberlee (last edited Jan 25, 2010 03:18PM) (new)

Kimberlee I'm not Summer, Liz, but I believe this was the post she was referring to:
http://www.amazon.com/how-bout-that-p...

Here are some websites talking about the plagiarism:
http://www.fanhistory.com/wiki/Cassan...
and
http://www.journalfen.net/community/b...


message 26: by Liz (new)

Liz Thanks for the Amazon review link, Kimberlee! I've already seen the other sites, but thanks for those, too :). We should spread the word...


message 27: by Kimberlee (new)

Kimberlee No problem. (: I read this book a few weeks ago and hated it, but only found out about the plagiarism thing when I was about to do a review on Amazon and saw that topic in the forum.
I definitely think the word needs to get out; I don't care what anyone says, there is too much evidence that she plagiarized. :/


message 28: by Liz (new)

Liz Lol, did you actually manage to finish it? Props to you!


message 29: by Kimberlee (new)

Kimberlee I really couldn't believe I finished it haha.
I did quite a bit of skimming, though.


message 30: by Liz (new)

Liz Lol. I was so excited about reading it, too. It promised so much... :(


message 31: by Kimberlee (new)

Kimberlee I was too--on Shelfari I asked if I should read it and every single person said yes.
While I was reading it, I was thinking "...did I pick up the wrong book?"


message 32: by Liz (new)

Liz Just out of curiousity, what do you think of Twilight?


message 33: by Kimberlee (last edited Jan 31, 2010 09:07AM) (new)

Kimberlee To be honest, when I first read Twilight back in 2008, I was sucked in by the story right away and couldn't stop reading it. Then, after I finished it, I immediately tried to read New Moon and couldn't get into it. Later on, I began reading more YA paranormal romance and urban fantasy books, and the more I read, the more I realized that Twilight really wasn't that good. I re-read it to see if that would change my opinion of it and make me like it again, but I started nit-picking the characters, especially Bella, who I wasn't a huge fan of the first time around. I've came to despise the book, especially after all my friends became obsessed with it. I think there are much better books out there than Twilight. I can understand the appeal to teenage girls, considering the fact that I was pretty wrapped up in the story the first time I read it, but now, I don't see why I ever liked it myself. :/ Just not my kind of book, I guess. I do like vampires, but I prefer the evil ones, not the ones who sparkle in the sun lol.


message 34: by Liz (last edited Feb 05, 2010 09:21PM) (new)

Liz Woah, that's freaky. I read Twilight at about the same time as you did. My reactions were basically the same as yours, except my turning point came when I googled 'Twilight sucks'.


message 35: by Kimberlee (new)

Kimberlee lol I started Googling "Twilight sucks" after I started hating it to see if anyone felt the same way I did. I felt like it was taking over. When I found out I wasn't the only one fed up with it, I felt much less freak-ish. xD I thought something must have been wrong with me because everyone was saying "THIS IS A BEAUTIFUL LOVE STORY, DON'T YOU BELIEVE IN LOVE?!?" I was like "Yeah, but...not between a Mary-Sue and a Sparkly Vampire."
But it seriously HAS taken over. Even my guy friends went to watch New Moon--WILLINGLY. Lmao I couldn't understand, I mean I'm a girl and you couldn't pay me to go.
My best friend has stuck by me through the Twilight Craze, though. He feels the same way about it as I do; he hasn't turned to The Sparkly Side, thank God. xD


message 36: by Liz (new)

Liz Lol. Most of the people I know either laugh at it or like it a lot. There's no total obsession thing happening. Shops are selling 'i love Jacob' and 'i love edward' tshirts, but I don't think anybody's buying because I've never seen anybody wear one.

With Twilight, I had no objection to sparkles. But then I've never been a big vampire canon purist.


message 37: by Liz (last edited Feb 23, 2010 11:47PM) (new)

Liz Lol. We were talking about Breaking Dawn today at school to this one chick who hasn't read it, and we're like, "And then the baby breaks out of her ribs and Bella turns into a vampire because it's the only way to save herself, and Edward eats a pillow", and she's like, "you gotta be kidding me".

That's what I love about Breaking Dawn. IT'S ALL TRUE.


message 38: by Annie (new)

Annie I think this book was one of my favourites the sarcasim made me laugh out loud! I thought the story was well thought out and she did an excellent job. I didnt see how she was taking anything from star wars etc. I thought i was very original. Now may I say to throw a book on the ground is a very terrible thing! you may have hurt the poor thing! Books need to be treated like people. But we all have differnt opinons. But i'm sorry throwing a book to the ground!? Thats disgusting! Books are beautiful!!! you cant go around throwing them on the ground when they have not made you proud! They're like my children my many 50 or more children! I would never do that to them! Thats a disgrace!


message 39: by Claire (new)

Claire Johantges I am going to have to disagree. I did not think the villain was not motivated, he had continually shown interest in making the whole world into the Nephilim to make sure their race didn't die out. I also thought the characters were original and creative. In addition, I thought the reference to Tithe (by Holly Black)was super awesome (LOVE IT!). I respect your opinion in your review but am offended you would throw a book on the ground! Goodness, keep that hate to yourself. What is up with everyone on here talking about how they threw the "horrible" book on the ground once they were finished with it? Go ahead and take your frustration out on a purely harmless book that had been created for joy. That's totally mature.


Synesthesia (SPIDERS!) I'm more Team Carlise when it comes to Twilight which is rather entertaining, but I'm not obsessed with it.
This series here is FRUSTRATING ME though. She had some good ideas, but...

Am I alone in totally not liking Jace?


message 41: by SimBim (new)

SimBim No!!! I loved this book!!! Maybe if you try reading the rest of the books...


message 42: by SimBim (new)

SimBim Wait, you don't like Jace???


message 43: by Cara (new)

Cara This must be a fantastic book for adult to be aruging about it haha kids. Thanks.


message 44: by Mari (new)

Mari Heather wrote: "Megs wrote: "Number one... get a life... if you have to write a novel to review a book then you really need to find one and fast.


I completely agree with this review. The characters did way too much that made no sense to further the plot. Like Clary going through the portal just so they could discover things about Luke. She just walked through an unknown magic door just because...she missed her mom? her mom wasn't on the other side, and she knew that. So why?

Do you not understand what this website is about? To revie..."



message 45: by Mari (new)

Mari I totally, totally agree. The characters made no sense at all. I also don't understand just why Jace and Clary are so totally rude to everyone, and how that is likeable. Mostly Clary, but I started hating Jace after he yelled at the old lady who lived bellow Clary and her mom's townhome. Who yells at an old lady that is trying to help them?But there was no reason for Clary to go through the portal at the old psychic ladys home. There was no reason for jace to tell Clary that they were Shadowhunters on first meeting. I usually don't hate love at first sight, but here it makes no sense. NO ONE would like Clary the way she treats people. Not a person like Simon, or a person like jace. She is simply too childish and mean.


message 46: by River (new)

River Ok, well first of all I liked this book... but i also liked this review. It was well thought out and some parts of it were true. Clare did leave some holes in the book and many unexplained things.

Really people though, you either like the book or you love the book! Your opinion is your own! NO one needs to be leaving comments saying 'Your Wrong!'


message 47: by [deleted user] (new)

That's why there are more books!!! Not everything can be solved in one book unless it's meant to only be one book!


Lura (The Life of Serendipity) She writes fanfiction?


message 49: by Shayna (new)

Shayna L Thanks for this review. I was considering reading this just based on the fact that it was on one of the 'most read' lists here. Just knowing that it was written by a fanfiction author helped steer me away. I'm not knocking ff, but it's a type of writing that you do with an already-formed plot and fully developed characters. It's no surprise that someone used to having major story elements given to them would have trouble with plot, characterization, and consistency.


message 50: by Crystal (new)

Crystal I know you said you aren't going to read anything else by her but trust me. You're missing out if you don't read Clockwork Angel. It's much much better than the Mortal Instruments and the characters are intriguing. The main character is not bland and the book had truly funny moments.


« previous 1
back to top