Buggy’s review of Fantasy Lover (Dark-Hunter companion novel) > Likes and Comments

17 likes · like
Comments (showing 1-41 of 41) (41 new)    post a comment »
dateDown_arrow    newest »

message 1: by Becs (new)

Becs I've not read this series either Buggy but have been tempted. I see this is book zero - is it just a novella prequel?? Sometimes these are written a few books into the series and mean more if you've read the first few.

Glad you're going to carry on and I'll await your review for book 1


message 2: by Buggy (new)

Buggy Thanks Becs, I just assumed everyone had read this series or part of it. Glad to know I'm not alone.

I'm hoping someone will be able to answer if this book is really a part of the series and if it does in fact get better? I bought the box set of 4 (I think) a few years ago so I'll be continuing on.


message 3: by Steph (new)

Steph It is part of the series but its a bit of an unrelated prequel since Julian is NOT a Dark-Hunter. I find this series' book order to be a nightmare to deal with personally.

This series does get better, especially early on in the seires, but there are some misses throughout the many books released. I personally find since Acheron's book though, the series has not been very good.

My personal favs are Acheron (book 15 possibly), Vane (Night Play #6 I think) and Valerius' (Seize the Night #7) books - i have re-read those ones many a times... You should keep reading just to get to those ones :D


message 4: by Steph (new)

Steph Oh and great review :P... You cracked me up by calling Grace a dipshit, hahahaha... She really isn't a good heroine.... There are some much better ones in this series i can assure you!!!!


message 5: by Buggy (last edited Apr 22, 2012 02:01PM) (new)

Buggy Yay Steph, Thanks for all the info. One of the reasons I wanted to read this series was to get to Acheron's book- which I've heard so many good things about.

One of the things I really disliked here was the immaturity of the story and particularly the dialogue. It could just be that I'm used to (and adore) Ward's BDB style, and compared this just seemed juvenile.

I own the first 4 so I'll probably read those and then skip to the ones you mentioned.

Thanks!


message 6: by Kelly (new)

Kelly Baba, I totally agree with your review. It was also my first Kenyon book and I didn't care for a thing about it. Grace did act like a total dipshit. LOL.
I haven't read another one of her books since and don't plan to. Why does everyone think she's so great?


message 7: by Dina (new)

Dina Great review, Buggy! I don't get all the hype about the DH series either. This was also my first Kenyon book and her writing sounded too juvenile to me. That was strange because I liked her writing as Kinley MacGregor. Go figure.


message 8: by Buggy (last edited Apr 22, 2012 03:35PM) (new)

Buggy Kelly wrote: "Baba, I totally agree with your review. It was also my first Kenyon book and I didn't care for a thing about it. Grace did act like a total dipshit. LOL.
I haven't read another one of her books si..."


Glad to know I'm not alone Kelly although I think you've got me confused with someone else LOL. Baba is pretty good to get confused with though :)


message 9: by Buggy (new)

Buggy Dina wrote: "Great review, Buggy! I don't get all the hype about the DH series either. This was also my first Kenyon book and her writing sounded too juvenile to me. That was strange because I liked her writing..."

Thanks Dina, Why is there so much hype? Maybe I just went into this with unrealistically high expectations because of the hype?

I haven't read any of her stuff written as Macgregor but I have one on the shelf and I'm curious to give it a try now


message 10: by Dina (last edited Apr 22, 2012 04:40PM) (new)

Dina Buggy, some of my GR friends who like the DH books have told me that they had been reading the series since the beginning, I mean, since the first book was released, and that might explain why they enjoy it. I think PNR wasn't a big thing back then, so Kenyon was a breath of fresh air in Romancelandia with this book. Besides that, I have also been told that her writing has improved since then and we (late readers) might find the first books in the series somewhat dated.

Many of the DH fans say that Acheron is very well written, but they also say that we lose a lot if we don't read at least some of the books leading to it because we won't get to know and care for Ash the way we are supposed to.

I'm OCD about reading series in order and, at least for now, I'm not in the mood to "suffer" through a lot of so-so reads just to get to the one worth reading. Maybe some day...


message 11: by Steph (new)

Steph I tend to agree with you ladies that this series is for the most part overhyped. I have to say this is one series that is NOT worth the hardcover price for newer releases - and i've read all of them with the exception of some of the the dream-hunter books in the series (Dark hunters has two sub-series within it: Were-hunter and Dream-hunter; it's ridiculously confusing at times).

For me the reasons why your expectations are high as a DH newbie:
A) there are books in this series that to me are awesome and well worth it so i think it hypes up the duds at the same time since we look at the series as a whole
B) there A LOT of books in this series (20+ now) so a whole world has been developed beyond the main couple, and like other series', like say for example BDB, people who grow with the series and its characters are incredibly loyal even when the books aren't very good!!!!

Fantasy Lover is one of the worst. I gave it 3 stars too. But to judge the whole series based on this one, to me isn't really fair. Buggy if you read the first four and still don't like it, then don't continue. I would say I really enjoyed the first seven books in the series the most, then it was a book here and there that i really liked.


message 12: by Kelly (new)

Kelly Sorry about that Buggy! My bad . I did confuse you with Baba:)


message 13: by Buggy (new)

Buggy Dina wrote: "Buggy, some of my GR friends who like the DH books have told me that they had been reading the series since the beginning, I mean, since the first book was released, and that might explain why they..."

Dina I think you've hit the nail on the head. If I'd read this a few years back, when I first started reading Paranormals I probably would have enjoyed it a lot more. I never thought abut the series being dated now, good point.

I'm totally OCD about reading a series in order too but as much as I want to read Archeron I can't see myself going through this whole series.


message 14: by Buggy (last edited Apr 22, 2012 10:16PM) (new)

Buggy Steph wrote: "I tend to agree with you ladies that this series is for the most part overhyped. I have to say this is one series that is NOT worth the hardcover price for newer releases - and i've read all of t..."

Thanks for the insight Steph, I'll try not to judge the whole series based just on Fantasy Lover.

20 books the world must be like huge now, I can't even imagine


message 15: by Tammy (new)

Tammy Walton Grant Hey Buggy! I'm with you, I thought this book was mostly stupid and didn't quite get what all the fuss was about. I didn't continue on with the series.

I wouldn't have minded if Julian had showed up in my backyard after a few glasses of wine and pizza, though. ;D

Great review!


message 16: by Buggy (last edited Apr 22, 2012 10:21PM) (new)

Buggy Tamster!! A sad night in hockey tonight for Vancouver fans:( At least I can stop growing my playoff beard now!! LMAO

Yeah Julian, what a hunk, I loved the idea of this story, very unique. Imagine finding a gorgeous man in your backyard who just wants to...well pleasure you. Not too shabby. Of course explaining to the husband might be kinda tough


message 17: by Becs (new)

Becs I'm glad you're going to carry on Buggy and I am also very OCD about reading in series order too. I am going to give it a go one day because so many like it.

Keep us posted. :-)


Erin ㋡ is in a reviewing slump I need to retry her stuff, they get a lot of great reviews. The one I read was cute, as I remember, but it wasn't amazing I don't believe. Then again I'm an Urban fantasy addict and not the biggest PR fan. I also especially forget cute PR


message 19: by Steph (new)

Steph Buggy wrote: "Tamster!! A sad night in hockey tonight for Vancouver fans:( At least I can stop growing my playoff beard now!! LMAO."

Buggy.... On a totally unrelated note, i.e. not related to books whatsoever... I'm sorry for the Canucks loss, it's never easy!!!! Been there many a times.... But you can always cheer for Ottawa. My little Sens are still in it, and I never say no to extra support!!! Keep that playoff beard intact!!!hahaha... Game 6 tonight and we have a chance to knock off the stinky Rangers!!! :P


message 20: by Zeek (last edited Apr 23, 2012 01:26PM) (new)

Zeek Honestly? I've read the entire series.... Except this one. I Started the series with the next one- night pleasures- and never went back to FL because i heard it was "meh". I'd hate to think u missing out on the intirgue of Acheron if you dont read on. :/

(dont get me wrong she's incredibly lazy and scattered right now but srsly. Ash. Grrrrrr)


message 21: by Tammy (new)

Tammy Walton Grant Buggy wrote: "Tamster!! A sad night in hockey tonight for Vancouver fans:( At least I can stop growing my playoff beard now!! LMAO"

[image error]

Did your beard look like this one, Bugs? Ooops, sorry, wrong team.

LMAO. ;D


message 22: by Steph (new)

Steph Tammy: cruel.... but very funny!!! poor Buggy, hahaha!!! Who do you cheer for Tammy? Because you're not striking me as a Canucks fan with such a post, haha! :P

Zeek: I AGREE


message 23: by Buggy (last edited Apr 24, 2012 09:23PM) (new)

Buggy NOOOOOooooooooooooooooo!

Thanks for that Tamster. Yes thats exactly how my playoff beard looked only it was tear encrusted and supporting a big ole frown


message 24: by Buggy (last edited Apr 24, 2012 08:29PM) (new)

Buggy Steph, Whew you caught me mid shave.
Of course I'm cheering for Ottawa... wait are they still in? Nooboys talking hockey in Vancouver any more.I can't get any news except they're trying to trade our goalie and who's got the highest golf handicap. It's a touchy, painful subject right now. Did your Sens win last night?


message 25: by Buggy (last edited Apr 24, 2012 08:34PM) (new)

Buggy Zeek wrote: "Honestly? I've read the entire series.... Except this one. I Started the series with the next one- night pleasures- and never went back to FL because i heard it was "meh". I'd hate to think u mi..."

Thanks for the encouragment Zeek, Becs and Erin. How many books until I get to Acheron's ??? LOL


message 26: by Steph (new)

Steph Ya... when your team is knocked out, its tough. Unfortunately for Ottawa, if you lose, Ottawa fans will stop talkin hockey but then you have those bastard Leafs and Habs fans that like to rub it in.

No they did not win lastnight :( so Game 7 is Thursday night. Lets just say lastnight's game... well the 2nd period was atrocious, and my living room was not an appropriate place for small children or those averse to loud vulgar swearing. Wasn't pretty. But i'm keeping the faith they can win Thursday... Odds are against us since this past season was supposed to be Ottawa's rebuilding year, and the Rangers were 1st in the East and have Lundqvist for a goaltender. But i'm crossing my fingers and hoping for best. They can do it if they want it bad enough!!!! Thursday night, 4pm your time, send good vibes!!!!!


message 27: by Buggy (last edited Apr 24, 2012 09:21PM) (new)

Buggy I think it was especially tough for Canucks fans after last years awesome near Stanley cup win, and then of course we had the riot to atone for. I guess everyone just expected them to go further I mean out in the first round!!

I will definitely be watching tomorrow and sending my support your way. My brother works in Ottawa so I almost have to cheer, his wife is French though so we have Hab support in his family as well, sigh


message 28: by Tammy (new)

Tammy Walton Grant Steph wrote: "Tammy: cruel.... but very funny!!! poor Buggy, hahaha!!! Who do you cheer for Tammy? Because you're not striking me as a Canucks fan with such a post, haha! :P"

I couldn't help myself, Steph - I don't really cheer for anyone, I mostly heckle. LOL. I live with an Oilers fan, though, so I've been programmed to detest the Flames. :)


message 29: by Zeek (new)

Zeek quite a few b4 Ash's book, and there were hits and misses along the way. Just try the next one at some point and if it doesnt strike you, I guess its not for you. :/


Erin ㋡ is in a reviewing slump I agree with you, the ones I read I didnt see the huge rave either.


message 31: by Jennifer (new)

Jennifer Lane "Greasy grimy gopher guts"? I busted out laughing reading that. An unlikable therapist character? Oh. :( Too common, unfortunately.

I haven't read this series and we've already discussed my view of PNR so I doubt I will. But I did get BDB #4 out of the library so you might be hearing my view of Butch's story in a review soon!


message 32: by Buggy (new)

Buggy Now were talking Jennifer, there's a PNR series. Enjoy Butch, enjoy the read -I love him a little bit too! Oh and you get sexy, wanting V and annoying Marissa and drunk Butch. LOL have fun


message 33: by Steph (new)

Steph Buggy wrote: "...you get sexy, wanting V and annoying Marissa and drunk Butch..."

HA!!!! Buggy - this might possibly be my fav (accurate) one line description of a BDB book ever! :P


message 34: by Buggy (new)

Buggy Whenever I hear that someone is reading one of the BDB books for the first time I get all excited and just want to read them again remembering all that they get to enjoy. Mmm sexy wanting V and drunk Butch, now theres a fun time! LOL


message 35: by Steph (new)

Steph Aww I know! I get excited too when someone I know is discovering BDB for the first time. It's been so long since my BDB-cherry was popped... *sigh* I envy series newbies.
I think i'm due for a series re-read sometime in the coming months! I haven't read the early ones in a while. :)


message 36: by Buggy (last edited Apr 30, 2012 12:52PM) (new)

Buggy I reread Dark Lover right after Reborn and fell in love with Wrath all over again.

It was so much fun to go back and see everything at the beginning, in a simplier time LOL Well before we had so many subplots and POV's going.

I was actually surprised that Ward's world hadn't really changed that much over 10 books, her basic rules were still the same. Seeing Tohr/Wellsie still made me sad though and even Darius


message 37: by Jennifer (new)

Jennifer Lane I'm getting my BDB cherry popped! Ha ha ha.


message 38: by Steph (new)

Steph ;) I hope it's a truly magical experience Jennifer! hahaha

Buggy - My mom currently has my copy of Dark Lover (has had it for the better part of a year)so i have to STEAL it back!!!! It's one of the few BDB books where the details are a touch fuzzy because i don't re-read it as much as others :S

The world hasn't changed that much but Ward has definitely overcomplicated the world by adding way too many side stories. There are times where i sincerely do miss the simplicity found in the first 4-5 books. Phury's book is when Ward REALLY went side story crazy - out of all the brothers, Phury remains the one who got the shit end of the stick when it comes to his book and story.


message 39: by Buggy (last edited Apr 30, 2012 07:31PM) (new)

Buggy Steph, Dark Lover was the same for me -its the one I've reread the least that's why it was so much fun.Can't wait to hear how your reread goes

I agree about poor Phury, and I'd been so looking forward to his story too but that was when Ward made the big genre change from strictly romance to fantasy or whatever the hell you'd classify it as now?

I often wonder why she hasn't tried again with him? I mean V's had time in what 3 books now to get his and Jane's and Butch's story just right but we never go back to Phury. He barely even gets a mention; a conference call here and there a few words with the chosen. Its almost like she hates him.

So much more fun to talk BDB then Fantasy lover


message 40: by Steph (new)

Steph BDB has definitely morphed into a PNR/UF hybrid. After the Rhage/Mary novella, i really think Ward owes us a Phury/Cormia novella. I simply wish it didn't always take her years for these stories. How long have we been hearing about the Rhage/Mary adoption story now... close to two years *shakes fist* bahhhh.

(And to be perfectly honest, the V/Butch thing... enough. Let them be happy with their shellans and be tight best friends who are there for one another. Ward should really stop teasing loyal V/Butch fans with these homoerotic scenes that won't EVER go beyond that. Plus, I want to see other brothers/shellans at this point. It's one of the reasons I liked Reborn, although Phury and most of the shellans were once again mute background decorations. *sigh*)

So much better to talk BDB than DH right now... To boot, yesterday on facebook Kenyon answered some questions about her series' and managed to really annoy me a) with her non-answers, and b) with the fact she implied that DH is going to last what feels like forever, and i'm already concerned that this series has jumped the shark and should be winding down and not have another 20 books in the pipe.

At least with Ward, her books are a decent size and while there's almost too much going on at times, the opposite is happening with Kenyon. Kenyon's DH books which are also released ONCE a year, are TINY in comparison and totally not worth HC price. Her last two-three DH books I finished with a definite meh! feeling. The only thing worthwhile with last year's was the epilogue and it was about Ash and COMPLETELY unrelated to the book. ugh!


message 41: by Zarinah (new)

Zarinah Why why WHY did I start reading this book fantasy lover did start off on good start but now its totally getting chessy on me. Im actually missing kreseley coles immortals after dark guys. Maybe ill finish this book uggh and possibly see if the library has other books from this series just to see if gets better.


back to top