Traveller’s review of The Hobbit (Middle-Earth Universe) > Likes and Comments

138 likes · like
Comments (showing 1-50 of 52) (52 new)    post a comment »

message 1: by Christin (last edited Apr 29, 2012 05:13AM) (new)

Christin LOL... the award..

I saw it before but it's worth watching again. :-D


message 2: by Traveller (last edited Apr 29, 2012 01:16PM) (new)

Traveller Christin wrote: "LOL... the award..
I saw it before but it's worth watching again. :-D"


Yes, I loved it so much it has it's own little place on my hard drive. :)

I'm awaiting the movie of this book with anticipation, I must say. I suppose at that point, reviews of the book will explode again.

..and we'll see a bunch of spoof reviews as as well. c_c


message 3: by sckenda (new)

sckenda I love this review. I read the Hobbit as an adult and I celebrated the inner child. Later, when my girls were old enough, I read it to them aloud, and then we read aloud the entire LOTR. A magical experience that I will always remember.


message 4: by Traveller (new)

Traveller Thanks Stephen!
I hope you really hammed it up with your Gollum impersonations! I read some of The Hobbit with my kids, and my son loved my Gollum impersonation so much, that he started doing Gollum impersonations himself and has become a pro at it. Sometimes he has me in stitches with that!


message 5: by Will (new)

Will Byrnes One of life's great joys is reading to children. Thanks for reminding us. I read this one to mine, complete with different voices for all the major characters. What fun! It is an excellent introduction to the later, much more ambitious LOTR work. Read that one out loud as well, which was even more fun. I see this is the norm on GR-land. I had not seen the MTV award bit before. It is definitely preciousssssss!


message 6: by Richard (new)

Richard I'm getting this uncontrollable urge to start talking like Gollum. It just goes to show that old hobbitses dies hard, yes they does, preciousss! (Especially if they was the keeper of the Precious for so long.)


message 7: by Will (new)

Will Byrnes What has it got in its pocketses, preciousss.


message 8: by Richard (new)

Richard If it'sss jusssst a ssstupid Golden Popcorn award, we doesn't want it, precioussss, no we doesn't. Give usss nice fissshhh, rrraawwww!


message 9: by Will (new)

Will Byrnes I am already pining for the film.

We mussst see it, preciousss, we mussst see it, gollum.


message 10: by Traveller (new)

Traveller LOL, Will, and Richard, in our household Gollum is an endless source of entertainment. Glad to hear others also enjoy him. One of the best parts in the book is where where he and Bilbo have a riddle showdown .

That award clip is one of my faves....and don't you just love how they put Sméagol in as his alter ego, and he insults everyone, including even MTV before he exits tightly clutching his award in spite of his insults...


message 11: by Will (new)

Will Byrnes It was wonderful. Thanks for posting it, T.


message 12: by L.H. (new)

L.H. Thomson After reading that, I rather wish my parents had read it to me. Instead, my father tossed me a dog-eared copy at about age five and said "here, you'll enjoy this." He was reading The Silmarillion at the time, and I asked him about it. He was about half-way through, and he looked over at me and said "too complex for you right. Or just crap. I haven't decided yet."

Still haven't read The Silmarillion.

Are you looking forward to the movies, T?


message 13: by Traveller (new)

Traveller L.H. wrote: "After reading that, I rather wish my parents had read it to me. Instead, my father tossed me a dog-eared copy at about age five and said "here, you'll enjoy this." He was reading The Silmarillion a..."

I'm sorry to hear your regret, L.H. Admittedly, my own parents didn't read me this book, but my father did tell me lots of fairy-tales quite amazingly from memory, and we always had lots of books on supply.

I've only read some of the Silmarillion. I prefer not to comment on books i haven't read to the end.

About the Hobbit movies: well, i do like the LOTR movies, so, yes, i did largely anticipate it when it was announced, but i can't help wondering why there's going to be 3.
I guess it does make sense to make 3 shorter movies than one long movie if you're going to have a very young audience, but still- I do have some slight reservations.

And you?


message 14: by Mark (new)

Mark I love that reading out loud to children as well and giving free rein to the thespian inside with the voices. My problem is when I get so carried away and then can't remember which voice goes with which character and you can bet your bottom dollar the kid remembers and corrects you.


message 15: by Will (new)

Will Byrnes I have found that when there are many voices to handle, one solution is to do character for a limited number and read the others in one's natural voice.


message 16: by Mark (new)

Mark Will wrote: "I have found that when there are many voices to handle, one solution is to do character for a limited number and read the others in one's natural voice."

Now that would be the sensible thing to do my friend i would agree but my inner Alastair Sim, desperate to shine, can sometimes just not be controlled


message 17: by Traveller (last edited Aug 04, 2012 10:17AM) (new)

Traveller Mark wrote: "Now that would be the sensible thing to do my friend i would agree but my inner Alastair Sim, desperate to shine, can sometimes just not be controlled."

LOL, it sounds like this is just the book for you, Mark- I wonder what voice you'd give Sauron?

I must admit that I am less erm, ambitious, and didn't give all of the character interpretations too much energy for fear of not being able to keep it up. But i let my son share the burden of some of the reading, so it was fun all around!


message 18: by Mark (new)

Mark Traveller wrote: " I wonder what voice you'd give Sauron"

What a great party game....Off the top of my head, it would be a toss up between.....hmmmm, on second thoughts i had better be careful. I could be sued for defammation


message 19: by Traveller (new)

Traveller Mark wrote: "Traveller wrote: " I wonder what voice you'd give Sauron"

What a great party game....Off the top of my head, it would be a toss up between.....hmmmm, on second thoughts i had better be careful. I ..."


You never know... some people might actually be pleased to be likened to Sauron... :P


message 20: by L.H. (new)

L.H. Thomson Traveller wrote: "L.H. wrote: "After reading that, I rather wish my parents had read it to me. Instead, my father tossed me a dog-eared copy at about age five and said "here, you'll enjoy this." He was reading The S..."

Oh absolutely. I think the first reaction in the newsroom last week was "Huh?" Three books, three movies made a sort of sense.

My middle earth fantasy-that-takes-itself-seriously vibe is only good for about two hours of screen time, I think.

Now, a Pawn of Prophecy series with three movies (or six)? That I'd go to.

On narration, to me the question is always "English accent or not?", because let's face it, everything sounds better went narrated by Ian McKellan, Christoper Plummer (he's Canadian but sounds English) or Emma Thompson.


message 21: by Mark (new)

Mark L.H. Juliet Stevenson is a great english narrator too. Both the Virginia Woolf Audiobooks I have are narrated by her. Her reading of 'Mrs Dalloway' is just sublime


message 22: by Brandi (new)

Brandi I agree, this is a great book to read aloud. But you have to make sure the narrator can read the troll parts well. And Gollum, too. I tried and failed. ;)


message 23: by Traveller (last edited Aug 04, 2012 11:42AM) (new)

Traveller Brandi wrote: "I agree, this is a great book to read aloud. But you have to make sure the narrator can read the troll parts well. And Gollum, too. I tried and failed. ;)"

It takes a lot of practice! :)

On narration... Hmmm some British actor's accents can be a bit too over the top, but for me, since the Tolkien books are so English in character, i would also say a British narrator. I agree with that i like Ian Mc Kellen's voice for a narration.

I must check out L.H. Juliet Stevenson's voice acting/reading.


message 24: by Will (new)

Will Byrnes British, for sure
I made the trolls German


message 25: by Cecily (new)

Cecily But Ian McKellan is Gandalf, so wouldn't it be odd for him to be narrator who is NOT Gandalf?


message 26: by Ari (new)

Ari the movie is amazing. I vaguely remember hearing bits of the story when i was younger. And i loved the lord of the rings but never got a chance to read the hobbit. So yeah. I LOVED the movie.


message 27: by Katherine (new)

Katherine hehehehehe i loved the movie, can't wait for the next one though =D it will be mine XD


message 28: by Traveller (new)

Traveller I can never get enough of Tolkienesque movies. Apparently there were other movies made, and of course there's quite a bit of artwork done around his stories; if you like that kind of art, this is a nice book to have: Realms of Tolkien


message 29: by Lynne (new)

Lynne King I always loved The Hobbit...


message 30: by Fionnuala (new)

Fionnuala Enjoyed this review, Traveller.
I did read The Hobbit to one of my daughters followed by the entire Lord of the Rings over the course of a year. My older daughters had read it themselves but they used to listen in to the bedtime reading from time to time - picture it, four of us snuggled up together in one tiny bed - it was wonderful. Then the LotR movies hit the screens and they enjoyed them hugely, reruns and reruns until I couldn't stand any more shots of orks flooding the TV screen. But what they really loved was Gollum. They could do that back of the throat voice to perfection. The phrase, 'My Precious' eventually drove me crazier than the orks....


message 31: by Traveller (new)

Traveller Fionnuala wrote: "Enjoyed this review, Traveller.
I did read The Hobbit to one of my daughters followed by the entire Lord of the Rings over the course of a year. My older daughters had read it themselves but they u..."


He he--although I started out the role-playing and doing the Gollum voice with my kids, my son kept working on it and mastered that gollum-voice to a creepy point of perfection. In fact, some days he sounds more gollum-y than Gollum to me!


message 32: by Rhea (last edited Jan 07, 2014 03:55PM) (new)

Rhea Gollum DOES rule! I especially like his voice in the movies.


message 33: by [deleted user] (new)

I don't understand how you can rent children but i agree with you. :)


message 34: by Traveller (new)

Traveller Lucien wrote: "I don't understand how you can rent children but i agree with you. :)"

Thanks for pointing that out, Lucien. Fixed!


message 35: by Lynne (new)

Lynne King It was lovely to see your review again Traveller!


message 36: by Garima (new)

Garima Funny review, Trav. I just need to read this since I'm one of those who haven't *hangs head in utter embarrassment*


message 37: by Lynne (new)

Lynne King Actually Garima you would love this! It's such a wonderful tale.


message 38: by Traveller (last edited Jan 11, 2014 03:27AM) (new)

Traveller Garima wrote: "Funny review, Trav. I just need to read this since I'm one of those who haven't *hangs head in utter embarrassment*"
You shouldn't be embarassed, Garima, I've read very little Indian and other World Lit after all!

...but it should be a quick read for you, Garima! ..and as an adult you should be able to catch the more subtle themes and humor too! It's where the whole Lord of the Rings phenomenon started out, and since the latter has had such a large influence on Western (and possibly other) cultural tropes, it is therefore a bit of cultural history, so to speak...


message 39: by Garima (new)

Garima @Lynne: Oh I'm sure it is a wonderful tale. I'll read it soon. :)

@Trav: True, but this book is different...kind of universal in its appeal and popularity. And...umm..I haven't read LOTR too and watched the movie in parts only because I wanted to get familiar with the text first.

PS: Hope that 99 turns to 100 soon. I get restless when it doesn't :P


message 40: by Lynne (new)

Lynne King Yes I'm waiting for the 100 too Garima! Remember Lolita!


message 41: by Garima (new)

Garima Lynne wrote: "Yes I'm waiting for the 100 too Garima! Remember Lolita!"

Haha! yes.


message 42: by Traveller (last edited Jan 11, 2014 05:12AM) (new)

Traveller Heh, thanks, yes, I too, like a tidy number. The review doesn't really deserve so many likes, since one could write a much better review of TH, of course, but it was originally posted at a point in time when it occurred to me how well-done the movie character of Gollum was.

So let's hope another Gollum er.. fan? comes along and gives us our 100 ^_^.


message 43: by Traveller (new)

Traveller Ding-ding-ding-ding! Ema did us the the honor.

Thanks Ema! :D


message 44: by Ema (new)

Ema Yeeey, I am the 100th! Although I am not really a Gollum fan, but yeeey!
What's he eating there, a fish? What a pair of shiny, wet eyes he has, almost sad...


message 45: by Traveller (new)

Traveller What you didn't know, Ema, is that the 100th "like" clicker here, wins a book prize! :D


Yes, he is a water creature, so I guess he gets to eat fish... and I guess the rawness of the fish is to add to the 'ick' factor. Have you watched the LOTR movies or the first hobbit movie? His voice and everything about him is very well done.


message 46: by Ema (new)

Ema Yup, I was going to ask if there was a prize, but I got too carried away!
I haven't watched all the LOTR movies, but I liked the ones I saw. I was more into Harry Potter, though. :P
I'd rather read the books at this point, as my passion for movies has subsided considerably.


message 47: by Shaun (new)

Shaun I read this to my three older kids and enjoyed it immensely. What I found so amazing is that Gollum's dialogue is written exactly the way it sounds in the LOTR movies, and it was almost impossible not to slip into the character. Of course, as a family we've watched the LOTR movies so many times I've lost count, as well as the first of The Hobbit. And of course the kids insisted on seeing the second as soon as it came to a theater near us.

Great character, great book.


message 48: by Traveller (last edited May 30, 2014 03:19AM) (new)

Traveller Ema wrote: "I'd rather read the books at this point, as my passion for movies has subsided considerably...."

Ema, if you get around used bookstores a lot, do look out for an illustrated version!

Shaun wrote: "I read this to my three older kids and enjoyed it immensely. What I found so amazing is that Gollum's dialogue is written exactly the way it sounds in the LOTR movies, and it was almost impossible ..."

Yes, he's great fun, as are the Hobbits. He's even more fun to try and copy than Yoda!

The Hobbit riddles have always been firm favorites as well. Which, come to think of it, sort of refers to the 'riddle' trope often found in folklore. :)


message 49: by Ema (new)

Ema Oh, the drawings are beautiful, it's a pity not to read the illustrated edition! I'll keep an eye for it, we do have a second-hand chain of bookstores in Bucharest, which bring novels in English at affordable prices.


message 50: by Traveller (new)

Traveller The first and the last one are from illustrated versions, but I'm not sure if the third is part of a book or an artwork on its own. Now I'm tempted to put illustrations in the actual review... (and maybe beef the review up a bit--oh golly, so many reviews to be written...)


« previous 1
back to top