Matt’s review of The Catcher in the Rye > Likes and Comments

1968 likes · 
Comments (showing 1-50 of 167) (167 new)    post a comment »

message 1: by [deleted user] (new)

Yesterday I bought a copy of this at the Friends of the Library Giant Book Sale even though I have two other copies (with different covers).

On the way home, I read some of it and luckily I got to that line where Old Spencer reads his term paper outloud and then looks at him like he just beat the hell out of him at ping pong or something. Hahahahahahaha!!!!! Every time I pick up this book, I want to drop my current book. I think I will have to re-read it, soon.


message 2: by Matt (last edited Jul 12, 2009 06:26PM) (new)

Matt Ha ha! Thanks Montambo, that line had already slipped my mind. So many funny lines in this book.

My copy is one of the boring black and white covers (pictured above, I just learned about the whole "switching editions" thing...) that I have had since 1991. I really want to spring for this edition at some point:
[image error]
This may be some of my favorite cover art ever, right alongside The Great Gatsby's Francis Cugat painting.


message 3: by Félix (new)

Félix Bravo!


message 4: by [deleted user] (new)

I have the rainbow one (but I'm giving it to my friend), the all red cover and now this:




message 5: by Michelle (new)

Michelle Matt, I love your review! I love when Holden tells old Stradlater to give Mrs. Schmidt the time while he is on his way to the can.


message 6: by Jessica (new)

Jessica OMFG Tambo, that's amazing! I hope your house doesn't get robbed now that you've posted it -- David doesn't have your address, does he?


message 7: by [deleted user] (new)

He sure does, but he's out of astronaut diapers, so I don't think he's on his way, or anything.

50 cents!


message 8: by Bram (last edited Jul 13, 2009 11:51AM) (new)

Bram 'Complete and Unabridged'. Are there abridged versions of The Catcher in the Rye out there? I bet Walmart sells neutered books along with their edited CDs. Hmmm. I have a perverse desire to read an abridged Catcher now.

This review is awesome. I laughed out loud like 5 times and once more when I read Montambo's ping pong line.


message 9: by Matt (new)

Matt That cover is awesome, Montambo. I don't know the exact time period that this trend spanned, but I like how they would put a semi-lurid blurb on the front cover in an ugly rectangle...

Thanks Michelle and Bram!

I can't believe wal-mart hasn't done this already. I can just imagine Holden telling Sally that she is "a pain in his apple" and getting mad when he sees "flip chew" written on the wall...*cringe*


message 10: by Caleb (new)

Caleb Tankersley fuck you.

It's hard to talk about this book and not sound angsty, so just look past it: this book is very misunderstood. I know it's used as eternal fuel for the sorrows of teen-agers everywhere. I used it myself once. But in the end, by the end of the novel, it's more hope than fragility, more about righting the world than grumbling at wrongs, although there's plenty of that, too. Kudos for reading a book many people love at 16, shrug at 18, and burn at 21, with no real clue what they're doing.


message 11: by Matt (new)

Matt There's always one in every crowd, huh Caleb???

Something that I completely missed when I first read this novel was the death of Holden's brother. The event is scarcely mentioned, but I think the underlying story is that Holden is trying to work through that grief and is simulataneously in denial and also blaming himself for whatever happened and many readers take the angst as being only a symptom of disaffected youth. Still baking this thought in my head, so it may not be done yet.


message 12: by Caleb (new)

Caleb Tankersley tadpole wrote: "There's always one in every crowd, huh Caleb???

Something that I completely missed when I first read this novel was the death of Holden's brother. The event is scarcely mentioned, but I think th..."


I agree, that much of the angst in the novel is all about Seymour, but the end of the novel is all about the sister, how she's Holden's new hope, his successor. The title of the novel is one of the best parts, in my opinion. Holden mentions that he would like to just sit in a Rye field and try to catch children who are about to wander over a cliff. I think this is how he feels about Seymour, what Seymour did for him. And by the end of the novel, I think he feels like he can do/is doing this for his little sister, and in some strange way, retaining a part of his innocence through protecting her's. Brilliant.

I've heard tale that Salinger has continued to writer about the Caufields. I don't know if it's true or not, but I know many a literary enthusiast who is eagerly awaiting that man's death.


message 13: by Bram (new)

Bram The rumor is (spread by ex-wife or kids?) that he has drawers full of manuscripts but that they can only be published 50 years after his death. I may just make it.


message 14: by Matt (new)

Matt Caleb: Yes, very good thoughts here. Even though this review is written more or less as a novelty I was also very moved by his thoughts concerning the golden ring on the carousel and had to sneak it in.

Bram: That's an interesting rumor. I'm just curious if all of these eccentric years has had a negative effect on his writing? (I would assume that it has.)


message 15: by Bram (last edited Aug 04, 2009 01:46PM) (new)

Bram Yeah, I became obsessed with Salinger about a year ago and tried to find out everything I could about any potential future material. I think his daughter made the claim that I mentioned above, but I may be misremembering. Anyone else know?


message 16: by [deleted user] (last edited Aug 04, 2009 03:38PM) (new)

Yes, Bram, that rumor has been floating around for quite a while (RE: the house full of unpublished manuscripts, most of them, purportedly, about the Glass family). Maybe a few of the crackpot biographies have intimated this. But -- even if it were true -- I suspect that his mental state throughout these intervening may not have been conducive to great literature. (I think there was already a minor but perceptible step toward bonkers in "Seymour: An Introduction.") Whatever the case, I hope that nothing that comes out of his estate after his death tarnishes his legacy. Not that I'm comparing apples to apples here, but I don't want a Jar-Jar Binks Glass, y'know?

Incidentally, one of the absolute worst books I have ever read was a Salinger biography...

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/51...

Just horrible! Full of (admitted) speculation, juvenile writing, and quotes from people with axes to grind. (This one also alleged that Salinger drinks his own urine, as I recall.)


message 17: by Bram (last edited Aug 05, 2009 07:38AM) (new)

Bram Yeah, I agree that he was probably already losing it by the mid-60s. And I think if he had done something he knew was of really high quality, he would have published it. But I'm still hopeful. If that 50 year bullshit is true though, I think we should make a pact to do whatever's necessary to unearth (steal) those frail, yellowing 'scripts once he passes on. Or now. How tight is his security up there?


message 18: by Gary (last edited Aug 06, 2009 04:41AM) (new)

Gary hey tadpole! loved your review!!!! i voted for it! read my review for HITCHHIKER'S and all the posts following.... about 200! let me know what you think!

i had the cover that was all reddish. i am so jealous of the picture posted on here. i love it. love to find one like it. a friend of mine gave me a copy of THE HILLS OF AFRICA, a paperback that was 50cents. i imagine it's from the same era. anyway, i ended up giving my son my paperback copy. i had read it when i was 17,and loved it. laugh out loud. then,,,,,, the dread,of what if i reread it and hate it!!???


i bought the hardback copy after rereading my paperback, basically twice. we decided to do it for bookclub. i had forgotten all the language was in it,and again, i am laughing. then i read it out loud to my sons who were both early teens. (it was basically the last book they "let" me read aloud to them.) all three of us were giggling. found out , even in my 40's it was still a great book!


message 19: by Kim-kers (new)

Kim-kers After spending all morning wading through academic nonsense, I thought I'd see what you were up to on here. This review made my day. Hilarious.


message 20: by Angie (new)

Angie I have the rainbow covers for both CITR and F&Z. I like the conformity but I HATE white covers. They end up covered in black fingerprints and I'm a person who washes their hands a lot.

As others have said, maybe Salinger will end up being a reverse-Kafka and we'll WANT to burn the stuff that gets published after his death.

Anyways, I loved this review. You hit the voice square-on. :)


message 21: by Dmitry (new)

Dmitry i totally confused with all of you guys!! but i like this book.


message 22: by Rozanne (new)

Rozanne Very amusing review--I'll bet it was fun to write.


Books Ring Mah Bell Fuck you, crummy old guy!

(not really. I love ya, Tadpole. I do!)


Great review.


message 24: by Ellen (new)

Ellen Loved your version of Salinger's quotation at the end of the review.


message 25: by Caris (new)

Caris Fuck you, man. Great stuff.


message 26: by Matt (last edited Aug 17, 2010 05:44PM) (new)

Matt Bellsy and Caris are PHONIES!!! (j/k...)

Thanks everybody! Those same adjectives must be applied many times over to your own review of this book, Elizabeth.


message 27: by Lisa (new)

Lisa hated the book, but loved your review!


message 28: by Félix (new)

Félix I really enjoyed reading this and all.


message 29: by Tania (new)

Tania That is the funniest review I've read on goodreads - thanks for the chuckle!


message 30: by Elizabeth (new)

Elizabeth Franks this is the most amazing review for the most amazing book I have ever read.


message 31: by Trine (new)

Trine Tee hee, I love in the beginning when you write: I really was. Just like Holden says in the book :)


message 32: by [deleted user] (new)

Aaww. I loved this review. It was so cute - in the most intellectual way possible, obviously. I swear, I fell in love.


message 33: by Michelle (new)

Michelle Recommends it for: everyone but phonies and athletic bastards
Haha!


message 34: by Julia (new)

Julia That's the thing about funny book reviewers. You almost fall half in love with them, and then you don't know where the hell you are.


message 35: by Ellen (new)

Ellen I loved your review, Tadpole. Also really enjoyed the book. I never read it as a teen, read it now in my 40's, as the mother of a teen. And I will recommend it to him, too!


message 36: by Marley (new)

Marley I re-read Catcher in the Rye a couple yeas ago for the third time (1966, 1992) and found it more relevant to me now than it was either of those times.


message 37: by Ratan (new)

Ratan Rahul Gold!:D


message 38: by Aleks (new)

Aleks Haha


message 39: by Kaylene (new)

Kaylene Alie Great review. I've lost my book, makes me want to go out and buy another one. Just to have a chat with Holden again :-) Oh, how I love that boy...


message 40: by Doug (new)

Doug H Your goddamn review killed me.


message 41: by Alan (new)

Alan Sheinwald The book could be better.


message 42: by Nurkish (new)

Nurkish You kill me.


message 43: by Ceitidh (new)

Ceitidh Brilliant! It`s like Holden reviewing his own goddamn story!


message 44: by Stephanie (new)

Stephanie thank you! perfect just perfect.


message 45: by Katie (new)

Katie This is the best review that could be writen about this novel (in my opinion). I love it!


message 46: by Diron Rutty (new)

Diron Rutty I respect your experience that you share in your second read. I feel that if I re-read I might feel differently about the book.


message 47: by Donna (new)

Donna Lee schnitzius i read it fir the first time as ab adykt.. wondered what alk the hiooka was.. disapoibed.


message 48: by Cosmic (new)

Cosmic Arcata The Catcher in the Rye is about WW2. It is a story within a story. Holden (which is the name of a car) is just a vehicle to "understand" the WW2. See my review. I think you should read it again and realize there is more than meets the eye. Tell me what you think...but don't read it like a David Copperfield kind of book.


message 49: by Carol (new)

Carol Lmao!!! you had me cracking up while reading your review. I loved it.


message 50: by Andrew (new)

Andrew LMAO!


« previous 1 3 4
back to top