Ben’s review of Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close > Likes and Comments

291 likes · like
Comments (showing 1-50 of 180) (180 new)    post a comment »

message 1: by JSou (new)

JSou Oooooooh. This is the Foer I've been holding out on.


message 2: by Ben (last edited Feb 04, 2012 07:53PM) (new)

Ben I've never read him before. I'm only listening to this, but it has kind of irritated me so far. Not sure if I'll stay annoyed or not, but if so it'll put me in the minority -- most of my friends gave this 4 or 5 stars.


Jenn "Awww Yeaaahhh" This was my first Foer too and I liked it. I'm interested to see what you think!


message 4: by Kim (new)

Kim I don't know if it would translate well on audio... Not for me... but, I can't listen to books. Even the cover of this book makes me cry.


message 5: by Ben (new)

Ben Kim, your review for this was AMAZING. It's what caused me to friend you many-moons ago. It was the start of our friendship. : )


message 6: by Malbadeen (new)

Malbadeen I agree with Kim regarding this on Audio and I DO listen to audio but I think this one is not conducive to that format. If you're not loving it soon you should push stop and move quickly to print before you give up on it all together. It's worth the 2nd chance!


message 7: by Colin (new)

Colin McKay Miller Agreed on the audio version not translating well for this one. Come on, brah, the novel ends with a picture book. How's that gonna work for your eardrums?


message 8: by Ben (last edited Feb 04, 2012 07:54PM) (new)

Ben Still listening to it, very close to giving up. Can't take much more -- I appreciate the suggestion, but whether I give up the audio version or not I won't be picking up the print version. Not a chance. But I will remember and keep it in mind that perhaps the experience is better through print.


message 9: by Kim (new)

Kim That's such a shame, Ben.

Maybe you should read Everything is Illuminated?


message 10: by Matthieu (new)

Matthieu Maybe Ben has good taste?


message 11: by Kim (new)

Kim And there it is... it wouldn't be a Foer thread without Matthew. The Yin to my Yang.


message 12: by Ben (new)

Ben It made me laugh and smile a bit during my lunch break, Kim. I'm not going to give up just yet...


message 13: by [deleted user] (new)

It is a shame. It's a great book, and I've heard that the audio is terrible. Oscar's voice is all wrong in the audio recording. ALL WRONG!


message 14: by J (new)

J You want to borrow my copy, Ben?

I'm not reading it.


message 15: by Ben (new)

Ben No. I'm done with him after listening to this. It's made me giggle some so it may get 2 stars, but aside from that it grates on me like no fiction has since The Kite Runner.


message 16: by Kim (new)

Kim *sigh*

I'm going to start following The Book Huntress... maybe then I'll get some love.


message 17: by JSou (new)

JSou This review is hilarious. Despite loving Everything is Illuminated, I'm scared to start this now.


message 18: by David (last edited May 18, 2010 12:03PM) (new)

David How weird. Just because most of your friends like this book you assume that your taste is deficient? Wow. That must be why you're considered nice, and I'm considered... what am I considered again?

Whenever I disagree with the majority of my friends, I conclude that they are all incredible dumbasses and wonder why I allow myself to be associated with such bottomfeeders.

I have not read this book. But I have read Foer's Everything Is Illuminated, and if you don't like that, you're pretty much a bottomfeeding dumbass. In addition to being a minion of Lucifer.


Jenn "Awww Yeaaahhh" I voted for this review, but I am NOT voting for you, Ben. Because you may be a bottomfeeding dumbass.


message 20: by Kim (last edited May 18, 2010 12:13PM) (new)

Kim His taste is deficient. Go flog yourself.

I may forgive you in the morning.

Nope. Changed my mind.


message 21: by Kim (new)

Kim I cannot believe you.


Vegan cupcakes?


Really?


message 22: by Kim (last edited May 18, 2010 12:12PM) (new)

Kim

+



= Ben


(Thank you, Google Search)


message 23: by JSou (new)

JSou <------- loves Kim right now.


message 24: by D. (new)

D. Pow You're a stud, Mr. Harrison.


Jenn "Awww Yeaaahhh" Kim is my hero.


message 26: by Brad (new)

Brad Ben, I think you rock and you feed at the top.


message 27: by Colin (new)

Colin McKay Miller Nah, there're a lot of people who hate Foer (see the Wiki).


message 28: by David (new)

David There are a lot of people who bite the heads off human infants too, so what's your point?

Benji's comparison was with 'goodreads friends' (who comprise the 99th percentile*) not a lot of people. West Virginia is a lot of people, but I don't take literary advice from it.

* Except when they're bottomfeeding dumbasses.


message 29: by Kim (new)

Kim I always thought of Ben as a lover, not a hater... now I'll think of him donned in a diaper sucking algae...


message 30: by David (new)

David

I don't care if Benji is Satan. He's my bro-maine lettuce. Let's all lay off the dude for a while.


(Until we can organize a coordinated attack.)


message 31: by Kim (new)

Kim Ben, I expected more analogies....

I'm uterally disappointed.


message 32: by JSou (new)

JSou I don't think I'm ever going to get tired of the 'God Hates Ben' pic.


message 33: by Kim (new)

Kim I'm going to just get really drunk tonight, David. We can organize the full guilt ridden attack in the morning.


message 34: by Kim (new)

Kim I expect you Lloyd Doblering outside my house to this tonight, Ben... Then we can grill and talk summer internships...


message 35: by JSou (new)

JSou Kim, you are awesome. I was just listening to the DM & TR Live in Vegas album this morning.


message 36: by Kim (new)

Kim Thanks, Jessica! I was thinking I was just being manic and stalkerish, but I like your take better!!!


message 37: by [deleted user] (new)




message 38: by Paquita Maria (last edited May 18, 2010 03:28PM) (new)

Paquita Maria Sanchez I haven't read any of his stuff, but I had the same feeling of boiling cynicism when I saw Everything Is Illuminated. I just wanted it to leave and take its pretentiousness with it. And EVERYONE said it was "life-changing" or some shit, blah blah blah... and I just f*$%ing hated it. No, detested it for masking itself as something that I would "thoroughly enjoy." Yadda yadda yadda, vagina cupcakes!


message 39: by Kim (new)

Kim I hear that the movie is shit... compared to the book... but yeah... I'm a bit biased.


message 40: by Jessica (new)

Jessica love your review Ben.


I haven't read anything by JSF, have only heard him interviewed.


message 41: by Kim (new)

Kim Hi, Chairy! Why is it JSF and Coetzee always draws these types of threads? Huh?


message 42: by Jessica (last edited May 18, 2010 03:55PM) (new)

Jessica It's all about the animals* Kim!


no, I've no idea. they're very different.
except they're both vegetarians. wait, JSF isn't one, is he?


* except this book has none.


message 43: by Newengland (new)

Newengland I hated this book, too. Read it pre-GR, so it's not even listed among my books. I'll keep it that way.


message 44: by David (last edited May 18, 2010 04:57PM) (new)

David Kristi wrote: "I haven't read any of his stuff, but I had the same feeling of boiling cynicism when I saw Everything Is Illuminated. I just wanted it to leave and take its pretentiousness with it. And EVERYONE ..."

The film is terrible. But that has nothing to do with the book.

Completely different -- in tone, in style, and -- even to a great extent -- in content. The ending was altered to be more palatable (I suppose) to a popcorn-chomping audience. An entire parallel story (that occupies as much of the novel as the main narrative in the film, if not more) was completely omitted. And the whole thing was mis-directed with an eye toward droll quirkiness at the expense of real emotion. Plus, Elijah Wood... oy vey. He was just terrible.

So the movie: 1 star. The book: 5 stars. Different animals.


message 45: by Lisa (new)

Lisa Vegan Ha! The print edition really is better: pictures!!! But, I know it sounds as though it wouldn't make a difference for you. (I'm one of the brilliant readers who gave this - print edition of the -book 5 stars.)


message 46: by Cody (new)

Cody THis is a book you have to read I would think. I'm not sure that you'd get the same experience by listening to it.


message 47: by Ben (last edited May 19, 2010 05:22AM) (new)

Ben I'm having trouble focusing this morning. I think it was the vagina cupcakes.


message 48: by [deleted user] (new)

Ben wrote: "I'm having trouble focusing this morning. I think it was the vagina cupcakes."

Yeah, I had a comment, but I was blinded by the brilliant vag.

(I haven't read any Foer, so I have no feelings about the matter. Carry on excellent thread.)


message 49: by David (new)

David So is it just a reflection of the brave new googleworld we live in that people can now track down wittily appropriate cupcake-y images to provide sly commentary on the debate - in a matter of seconds, apparently - or does every female goodreader have cupcake images already stored on her desktop, just in case?

*wants non-vegan cupcake*


message 50: by Kim (new)

Kim I am still so very hurt by this review. I know I shouldn't take it personally, but....


« previous 1 3 4
back to top