K.D.’s review of The Sense of an Ending > Likes and Comments

177 likes · Like
Comments (showing 1-48 of 48) (48 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Sharon (new)

Sharon So is the one that you started instead of ?


message 2: by Sharon (new)

Sharon I was going to start Arthur and George by him, but Icy Sparks won the toss up. I'm rather enjoying too !


message 3: by K.D. (new)

K.D. Absolutely Oh yes, Sharon. This hardbound book is so thin as it is just a novella. And the title is very apt as a yearender so I thought I'd like to read this first!!!

Icy Sparks! I have a copy of that book since time immemorial ha ha! I will wait for your review....


message 4: by Emir Never (new)

Emir Never Nice review. Another review of this book I enjoyed was Veronika's.


message 5: by K.D. (last edited Dec 22, 2011 09:34PM) (new)

K.D. Absolutely I think you meant Aldrin's
Veronika and Angus both did not write a review.

All of them rated this with 5 stars.


message 6: by Emir Never (new)

Emir Never No, Veronika's thread is extremely interesting! Aldrin's review, as usual, is excellent. :)


message 7: by K.D. (new)

K.D. Absolutely Ah, just the thread... I will read that.


message 8: by Emir Never (last edited Dec 23, 2011 12:14AM) (new)

Emir Never The Sense of an Ending (A Review in Three Voices)

Angus Miranda: Wow, this is in the 2011 Booker shortlist. :) Sep 18, 2011 07:36pm

Veronica Mastrile: Angus, I absolutely loved this book. Beautifully written, poignant and thought-provoking. It took me a while to finish this short book only because Barnes had many wonderfully written sentences that gave me pause to ponder and reflect on my younger self. I'm pretty much close to Tony Webster's age so his experiences deeply resonated with me.

I hope you do get to read it. I'd be interested to know a younger reader's thoughts on Barnes'novel.(less) updated Sep 18, 2011 08:57pm

Angus Miranda: I think Julian Barnes deserves to win the Booker. He's been shortlisted a lot of times before. Do you think he stands a good chance this October? I haven't read a Barnes novel yet, so I can't say.(less) Sep 18, 2011 08:51pm

Kristel Autencio: Tangentially on-topic but did you guys know that Julian Barnes was part of the most scandalous love triangles in British literature? It was between him, his wife Pat Kavanagh (famous literary agent) and Jeanette Winterson.(less) Sep 18, 2011 11:33pm

Angus Miranda: Hmm. Now that I think of it, I never really bothered to know the personal lives of writers. I only get my share of chismis (which could be hardly called those) on forewords, afterwords, introductions, etc.

Is Barnes good-looking though? :D(less) Sep 19, 2011 12:17am

Veronica Mastrile: Angus, hindi si Barnes yun nangaliwa. :) If you click on the book title, you'll see his picture on the side.

Kristel, nakiki-chismis ka na rin ha! Hahaha.

This is the first Barnes novel I've read and it certainly won't be the last. I haven't read any of the other nominated books so I can't say either. But even if it doesn't win, I think it's a great read.(less)Sep 19, 2011 06:59am

Kristel Autencio: Chismosa talaga ako when it comes to writers, lol. I'm just really fascinated by Pat Kavanagh, she's so beautiful and so well-respected as an agent. Apparently Pat just up and left Julian to be with Jeanette for a year but came back--it was the thing that completely fractured the literary scene in the 80's. Julian was also involved in a very hush hush but devastating break up (as friends) with Martin Amis.

I read a New Yorker article that talked about how bereft Julian was after she died. There are people who claim that Winterson's Written on the Body is about Pat.

Ronnie: I have but haven't read Julian Barnes' historical fiction featuring Arthur Conan Doyle.(less) Sep 19, 2011 07:10am

Veronica Mastrile: Kristel, I guess that's the one called Arthur and George. I have it on my TBR, same with Flaubert's Parrot. I'm on a strange whim now. I'm alternately reading old classics and contemporary fiction. I'm now reading Parnassus on Wheels and later its sequel, The Haunted Bookshop. Maybe after, I'll get back to Barnes.

By the way, I've read some good things about The Last Child by John Hart and thought of you. It's right up your alley. I was going to send you a recommendation but I guess this is as good a time as any. :)(less) updated Sep 19, 2011 07:33am

Kristel Autencio: Thanks, Ronnie. Haven't even heard of John Hart (or Parnassus on Wheels.) Putting on my wishlist now. :) Sep 19, 2011 07:39am

Angus Miranda: Hmm, Jeannette sounds like a woman to me. If I understand it right, Pat left her man for a woman? That must be really devastating. Sep 19, 2011 06:07pm


message 9: by K.D. (new)

K.D. Absolutely Tsismis. Interesting!


message 10: by Emir Never (new)

Emir Never It has the elements of a great review: Serious analysis, educational/enlightening references, intrigue...

Did Kristel attend the Christmas party? I haven't had a good chance to hear her talk before, although she attended the meet-up prior to the party. I was seated a few seats away. Sayang, I bet she's a very good speaker and could give Jzhun (a regular trivia-related-to-books-and-authors guy) a run for his money. :)


message 11: by K.D. (new)

K.D. Absolutely She did not. But she, Jzhun and I had a dinner at Yamcha few weeks after the El Pueblo meet up. Kwesi tagged along with Jzhun. After that, she made herself scarce na. I sometimes she her online but she's not posting any messages in the threads and I have not been seeing any updates from her.


message 12: by Emir Never (new)

Emir Never And I have Winterson's Written on the Body, gathering dust somewhere. Perhaps I'll give it a push up my TBR pile.


message 13: by Emir Never (new)

Emir Never K.D. wrote: "She did not. But she, Jzhun and I had a dinner at Yamcha few weeks after the El Pueblo meet up. Kwesi tagged along with Jzhun. After that, she made herself scarce na. I sometimes she her online but..."

Oh. Naalala ko, she's one of our speakers nga pala during the El Pueblo meet-up, kaso di ko na maalala kung anong speech niya nun.


message 14: by K.D. (new)

K.D. Absolutely About not being from Vibal (I think) but from the e-book sister company. She also invited any of us who has any good idea in mind for possible publication or something. She is very knowledgeable in literature. UP Lit grad yata majoring in Anglo-Saxon lit (if I am not mistaken).


message 15: by Brad (new)

Brad Number 3 and Number 3 for me.


message 16: by K.D. (new)

K.D. Absolutely BRAD: Thanks for you first #3.

Really, you look younger in your picture!


message 17: by Tripster Guy (new)

Tripster Guy I'm really sorry. I'm not smart enough to understand it. Yes, I still don't get it. However, this book gave me an example on how to write a letter to your ex. hahahaha! Loved that part.


message 18: by K.D. (new)

K.D. Absolutely Oh Tripster. Agree, it is not easy to read. If I came across this book say 5 years ago, I would have felt the same. It takes time to get attuned to all styles by many many novelists.

But yes, that bitchy letter is a revelation. Complete opposite of what I though he is (based on his character in the Part I of the book). Har har.


message 19: by Dav'ne (Davney) (new)

Dav'ne (Davney) Yes, that line irritated me too!


message 20: by K.D. (new)

K.D. Absolutely Dav'ne: That means Julian Barnes is effective :)


message 21: by Andrew (new)

Andrew K.D. - Pretty much liked this book for all of the reasons you suggested, although would like to think I will never be so drily and anaemically middle aged that I will identify with Tony too much. Gotta love a Man Booker Prize winner. They do provide a much higher than average chance of an unputdownable read. Gotta love Julian Barnes as well. Although '10 and a half chapters' was my only previous experience of him, this bloke is now batting two from two with me. Thanks for your review. Your first para summed up my response to the book.


message 22: by K.D. (new)

K.D. Absolutely Thanks, Andrew. This is my first Barnes and I am planning to read more of his works.


message 23: by Mirvan (new)

Mirvan  Ereon kuya pahiram!


message 24: by K.D. (new)

K.D. Absolutely RA, sure. But how do you propose to get my copy from me? Show up on May 19th?


message 25: by Mirvan (new)

Mirvan  Ereon K.D. wrote: "RA, sure. But how do you propose to get my copy from me? Show up on May 19th?"

san po ba?


message 26: by K.D. (new)

K.D. Absolutely Eton Centris (corner of EDSA and Quezon Ave)

On the group homepage, click on "Events." Also, as member, you must have received an email invite to this event.


message 27: by Miss J (new)

Miss J Hey K.D.,

I just finished reading this amazing book. It was like a fresh breath, the writing is superb. But I wonder, why did Veronica's mom leave Tony (the protagonist) some money and the right to keep Adrian's diary? If you don't remember the details of this book anymore, no need to answer the question :)


message 28: by K.D. (new)

K.D. Absolutely I think that was discussed by my friends here. Wait, hmmm. If I am not mistaken, it was the mom's way of saying sorry to her attitude towards Tony. :)


message 29: by K.D. (new)

K.D. Absolutely Correct! I think that can be used to separate the brilliant works from the mediocre ones. :) Although this one is a brilliant work as that being just a little part of the whole scheme.


message 30: by Kim (new)

Kim A "If only these people....would sit down and discuss amongst themselves...." Yes, but how many people actually do that in real life? Nearly none! The characters behave just like real people. That's why one reason I like this novel so much.


message 31: by Hanako (new)

Hanako I felt that way about "Freedom" by Jonathan Franzen!


message 32: by Kedar (new)

Kedar 3. You are an old or middle-age man and you are fond of thinking of your what-ifs.

I strongly suspect that I am middle-aged, and I love thinking of what-ifs. Sold!


message 33: by K.D. (new)

K.D. Absolutely Kim: I agree and it is a very effective tool for storytellers.

Hanako: Thanks! Glad to know I am not alone.

Kedar: :)


message 34: by Srinivas (new)

Srinivas i am 22 and am sure that i am not a middle-aged. None of reasons u mentioned above are not the reasons i picked this fine novel to read.

I picked this book solely, after the Publicist's description on the inner side of front cover, its about memories. because i always liked to read books about memories where character's present is entangled with his past, so much, that his future is mystery.

The second para of ur's review is what i felt about this while and after reading this book.


message 35: by Srinivas (new)

Srinivas forgot to mention, thanks you for writing such a nice and straight-to-story review.


message 36: by K.D. (new)

K.D. Absolutely Thank you, Srinivas. Yes, you are an exception.


message 37: by Srinivas (new)

Srinivas K.D. wrote: "Thank you, Srinivas. Yes, you are an exception."

KD, the book is an exception, i think


message 38: by K.D. (new)

K.D. Absolutely Okay, both of you are.


message 39: by jocelynn (new)

jocelynn Are you related to the writer? It's the only reason I can think of that would have prompted such a glowing review. I hated the book and thought it was one of the most boring books ever.


message 40: by Sally (new)

Sally I thought the book was amazing. However, I had the same reaction you did. Why didn't Veronika just tell him what her problem was. I must confess, though, maybe because I read the book in bed in early, early morning, that I did not completely understand the ending. Obviously, I missed some important fact along with way: Maria? Sister? And so why did Adrian have to kill himself? And what did the title of the book mean? So, okay, I wasn't an English major.


message 41: by K.D. (new)

K.D. Absolutely Jocelyn, I am not. LOL.

Sally, thanks. I cannot comment on those now because what remains in me are just sketchy events about the book. There have been a least a thousand of books read since this one and now.


message 42: by Pam (new)

Pam Right!


message 43: by K.D. (new)

K.D. Absolutely Thanks, Pam.


message 44: by Hai (new)

Hai Giang ”You don’t get it. You never did.” This is a common use, when girl want to say that she still has feeling for a man. But Tony had did a terrible thing that sparked for broken family, and this is a reason why they just can't get back together, even she still loves him after all. That part is what Tony never understand.

After all, I think she just want to say: "You don't get it. You never did. I love you. But Tony, you're on your own".


message 45: by K.D. (new)

K.D. Absolutely Hai, yes. I think women in general would know that. Something that I do not understand as a man. :)


message 46: by Valentina (new)

Valentina Accardi Totally agree!


message 47: by K.D. (new)

K.D. Absolutely Valentina wrote: "Totally agree!"

Thank you, Valentina. :)


message 48: by Kurtz (new)

Kurtz Wait, what? How could you think Veronica dumped him? He in no uncertain terms dumped her immediately after they had sex leading her to call it "almost rape". And he wasn't holding back on having sex until they were ready, he's freaking obsessed about it happening until it does.


back to top