Samantha’s review of The Fallen Star (Fallen Star, #1) > Likes and Comments

113 likes · like
Comments (showing 1-50 of 106) (106 new)    post a comment »

Amelia, the pragmatic idealist I wrote a comment, then I had to delete it because I'm a dorkwad who was reading without her contacts.
How does somebody miss a mistake like that?!


message 2: by Samantha (new)

Samantha Souza Hahahaha. You crack me up. Most of the adverbs that she uses are used incorrectly unless she uses them in dialogue. Excuse my errors if there are any, I have to use my phone to type this crap in because my dumb ass forgot my laptop at home....arrrrg.


Amelia, the pragmatic idealist haha no it's not you. I read that sentence wrong, cause I guess I don't read good. haha :P It all makes sense now.


Brigid *Flying Kick-a-pow!* "She gave Alex an angrily look." .... lol. That's just ... Wow.


message 5: by Samantha (new)

Samantha Souza This author was the adverb queen. My creative writing instructor told me that if you use too many adverbs it can ruin the story. Apparently, it's also true if you use them incorrectly. This is how most of the book was written. All fragmented and awkward sentencing. Don't even get me started on the story line. Ugh.


Brigid *Flying Kick-a-pow!* Overuse of adverbs is one of my pet peeves. That plus misused adverbs sounds unbearable. Well, I think I'll be skipping this book then. :)


message 7: by MicMac (new)

MicMac Okay, I read the book and it SUCKED! So I agree, but dont you DARE insult The Mortal Instruments, if you read the whole sires Jace gave Clary more than everything, and Simon got his own girl! Anyway, the book sucked, dont bother with it (The Fallen Star I mean)


message 8: by Samantha (new)

Samantha Souza I have read every single one of The Mortal Instruments, and I loved them all with the exception of the latest one. This wasn't meant to be an insult on the book per say, more like an example. If I didn't like The MI then that is, in fact, my business and mine alone. Jace treats Clary like crap when a certain situation isn't in his favor. Both the third and the fourth books can attest to my statement. I'm just expressing my disgust with the fact that authors think it's ok to have a young girl fall for a guy because of his looks. No matter if he is possessive, demanding, entitled, arrogant, selfish, and insulting...as long as he has his good looks you're good to go. It sickens me.


Brigid *Flying Kick-a-pow!* I have to agree with Samantha here. I've also read all the Mortal Instruments books, and I adore them ... except the fourth one wasn't the best. But just because you love a book doesn't mean you necessarily think all the characters' actions are justified. And although I love Jace as a character over all, he does treat Clary rather horribly at times. He'll lead her on and then be like, "GO AWAY. I NEVER WANT TO SEE YOU AGAIN." And I know it has to do with all his inner turmoil and whatnot, but taking it out on your girlfriend isn't really the smartest thing to do.

As far as sexy male leads go, Jace is not that bad. But, I think Samantha is right about the trend. See books like Twilight, Hush, Hush, etc. It seems like the girl is always "falling in love" with a boy who is stalking her, controlling her, and/or wants to kill her. (I put "falling in love" in quotation marks because most of the time it's lust, not love.) But so what? He's sexy, right? Yeah ... It just doesn't make sense. And it's not a good message to be sending out.

Furthermore, even if Samantha hated Mortal Instruments, she would have every right to say so. So don't tell her she can't DARE insult them, because everyone has an opinion and a right to express it.


message 10: by Samantha (new)

Samantha Souza Jace was definitely not as bad as Patch. I think this is why I love Kelley Armstrong's Darkest Powers series. Derek's mood and actions reflect his on his looks, and even though he is a turd to Chloe in the beginning he tries very hard to rectify his actions to make her happy. That is what I like to see.
A character who is initially appalled by another characters despicable display of arrogance, and then actually gets to know the character and falling for him instead of falling for him right away because of his good looks. If that makes any kind of sense at all!


Brigid *Flying Kick-a-pow!* Yeah, I see what you mean. I also love Darkest Powers. Derek is awesome. <3


message 12: by Karen (new)

Karen DEREK <3<3<3<3<3 *enthusiastic fangirling*

Awesome review, Samantha! I actually bought this book a week ago and I'm planning to read it for the lulz.


Brigid *Flying Kick-a-pow!* ^_^ <3 <3

I look forward to your review of this, Karen. I will probably skip it myself, but I don't know ... Maybe for the lulz. Maybe.


message 14: by Samantha (new)

Samantha Souza Haha, you gals have fun with your lulz reading! I'm not even going to attempt to finish this one!


message 15: by Samantha (new)

Samantha Souza Glad I could help. =)


message 16: by juliana (new)

juliana Its a book. No need to get so worked up. I happen to like it, but hate twilight. If your would read the second book, all of those things that are so-called "similarities" seem similar in the beginning but get explained later on, y'know, more than 30-pages-into-the-book later on. No need to reply, getting all worked up at me, I am just stating my opinion, even though it clashes with yours, I may not be the only person who thinks like this, and they may be happy that someone posted something about this. I honestly am only concerned about prospective readers who read this review and then decide not to read the book, when they may have loved it.


message 17: by Samantha (last edited Nov 15, 2011 07:42PM) (new)

Samantha Souza If they have already read the book and loved it then why on earth would my review change their minds. And screw that...you wrote this shit to piss me off. I hated this damn book and I apologize if I don't like books that lack imagination or authors that lack the ability to spell or use punctuation properly. So the next time you give a high and mighty opinion remember that not everyone gives a flying rats ass about what I have to say. I certainly don't have so much influence that I can change someone's opinion. Furthermore, this is MY opinion of this book. Where do you get off telling me what I can and can not write or how I can or can not react. Take your opinion and shove it up someone else's ass babe.


message 18: by John (new)

John Egbert Anna wrote: "Its a book. No need to get so worked up. I happen to like it, but hate twilight. If your would read the second book, all of those things that are so-called "similarities" seem similar in the beginn..."

You should really, really, really rethink yourself. Bad reviews, if anything, encourage someone to read a book -- perhaps just to see how bad it is. And the notion that one bad review will stop someone from reading a book is so preposterous I can't even wrap my head around it. In conclusion: you failed. Epically. Just sayin'.

And furthermore, if you're so concerned about people seeing bad reviews and not reading the book why don't you write an email to GR and ask them to take down all the one star reviews on this website. Seriously. Nobody else is going to do it, or in fact do anything of the like.


message 19: by Anila (new)

Anila Anna wrote: "Its a book. No need to get so worked up. I happen to like it, but hate twilight. If your would read the second book, all of those things that are so-called "similarities" seem similar in the beginn..."

May I humbly suggest you do something marvelously proactive with your apparent frustration?
Write your own review. An empty five-star rating tells potential readers nothing; if you really love the book, you should explain to them why. Trust me, it will be much more effective than just posting inane comments on one-star reviews.


message 20: by Cait (new)

Cait Samantha wrote: "If they have already read the book and loved it then why on earth would my review change their minds. And screw that...you wrote this shit to piss me off. I hated this damn book and I apologize if ..."

Anna wrote: "Its a book. No need to get so worked up. I happen to like it, but hate twilight. If your would read the second book, all of those things that are so-called "similarities" seem similar in the beginn..."

BHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!
*wipes a tear*

Oh my God, Anna. You just crack me up so much it's not even funny.

No need to reply, getting all worked up at me, I am just stating my opinion, even though it clashes with yours, I may not be the only person who thinks like this, and they may be happy that someone posted something about this. I honestly am only concerned about prospective readers who read this review and then decide not to read the book, when they may have loved it.

See, this is why I think you're so damn funny, darling, because you can't possibly be serious about what you just said. It's so hypocritical and pointless. If this review makes them not want to read it because Samantha clearly states all of the problems with this book, then they most likely almost one-hundred percent would not like this book if they still picked it up. Most people are accepting of other's opinions and don't let it effect them on reading a book, but if they do and chose not read it, especially if it's just that horrible, then more power to them. If it still intrigues someone like me because I want to see the horribleness first hand, then I will pick it up, but most likely not because of its literary merit.

Oh, and b t dubs, don't bother commenting on someone's review like that if you don't want a discussion. It's practically pointless and you should just stay on people's reviews that like this book.


message 21: by Kelley (last edited Nov 15, 2011 09:10PM) (new)

Kelley Mello wrote: "Anna wrote: "Its a book. No need to get so worked up. I happen to like it, but hate twilight. If your would read the second book, all of those things that are so-called "similarities" seem similar ..."

You should really, really, really rethink yourself. Bad reviews, if anything, encourage someone to read a book -- perhaps just to see how bad it is. And the notion that one bad review will stop someone from reading a book is so preposterous I can't even wrap my head around it. In conclusion: you failed. Epically. Just sayin'."



I very much agree with Mello's point about a negative review changing my mind about reading a book. If I read a terrible review about a book that I had some interest in, I want to read it even more. I feel this way because I am capable of having my own opinions. I like to draw conclusions for myself, and I do not let others make decisions for me.

Anna, if you can honestly tell me that you have read a negative review about a book that you were interested enough to search reviews about, then I feel you need to find whoever you let make decisions for you and cut yourself loose from the Pinocchio strings they have on you, and please make your own decisions. Stop following the troll anthem and write your own review of how you feel, do not write how you feel on someone else’s review.


message 22: by John (new)

John Egbert Kelley wrote: "Mello wrote: "Anna wrote: "Its a book. No need to get so worked up. I happen to like it, but hate twilight. If your would read the second book, all of those things that are so-called "similarities"..."

I mean, for god's sake about a fourth of the books I've reviewed have been read just to see if it's really as bad as some say it is. So people saying that negative reviews discourage readers from books...yeahhhhhno.


message 23: by Stacey (new)

Stacey Lucky Ugh Anna people like you on this website piss me off!! Why in the hell would you disagree on someones review?? Its her opinion of the book not yours.


message 24: by Angel (new)

Angel I loved this book!!! I just wanted to let you know :) I have an awesome imagination, so I don't require a lot of detail. Here is an idea!!! Maybe you shouldn't read paranormal romances! :) You seem to have a lot of rage going on, so maybe you should look into some self help books. :) And yes this is your review of the book, but I don't think it is a good one at all. You are just out to hurt people. I'm sure the author looks at these reviews. Why not just give it one star and go on. Oh but you can't do that can you? NO, you have to step on people, so you can feel all smart and mighty. Well you just look stupid and pitiful. All you're doing is showing people how immature you are. Maybe it's time to grow up.


message 25: by John (new)

John Egbert Angel wrote: "I loved this book!!! I just wanted to let you know :) I have an awesome imagination, so I don't require a lot of detail. Here is an idea!!! Maybe you shouldn't read paranormal romances! :) You seem..."

Angel, I'm going to give you your own words of advice: maybe it's time to grow up.


message 26: by Kelley (last edited Dec 27, 2011 11:38AM) (new)

Kelley Angel wrote: "I loved this book!!! I just wanted to let you know :) I have an awesome imagination, so I don't require a lot of detail. Here is an idea!!! Maybe you shouldn't read paranormal romances! :) You seem to have a lot of rage going on, so maybe you should look into some self help books. :) And yes this is your review of the book, but I don't think it is a good one at all. You are just out to hurt people. I'm sure the author looks at these reviews. Why not just give it one star and go on. Oh but you can't do that can you? NO, you have to step on people, so you can feel all smart and mighty. Well you just look stupid and pitiful. All you're doing is showing people how immature you are. Maybe it's time to grow up."


So let me guess "Angel" You join Goodreads today and decide that since you have given 5 stars to all of the books in this series that grants you the power to come troll on someone elses review...no. Just write your own damn review and leave people to their own opinions.


message 27: by Hina (new)

Hina Angel wrote: "I loved this book!!! I just wanted to let you know :) I have an awesome imagination, so I don't require a lot of detail. Here is an idea!!! Maybe you shouldn't read paranormal romances! :) You seem..."

Hi, hello.

Good for you if you liked or enjoyed this book, but you are really having a hard time accepting that people don't always like the same book as you. You really should keep your 'awesome imagination' to yourself after failing to see that this is just a person's opinion on a book. I really can't see people getting anything out of this line: "'What the heck is your problem?' I ask."'

Putting a smiley face at the end of your sentences doesn't make your comment less rude. Maybe you should start reading better books. (: Maybe you should take your 'awesome imagination' away from this review. (: Maybe you shouldn't read this type of crap in the first place, because it really does sound awful. (: Just please take your nasty comments away from this review altogether since you are not respecting the reviewer who can say whatever the hell she wants, she spent money on the book so why shouldn't she?

Just because someone doesn't like the book you like it doesn't mean they're out to get the author or you. If a book is rubbish or good I would want to do something about it. As far as the author goes, maybe he/she could learn a thing or two from the reviews and produce better books.

Look, just go away if you have nothing nice to say about other people, you'll be doing everyone a favour. You're the one who'll be looking stupid after you've realised how horrible you've been.


message 28: by Angel (new)

Angel Aww!! That's so cute!! Look Samantha you have groupies!!!


message 29: by John (last edited Dec 27, 2011 11:52AM) (new)

John Egbert Angel wrote: "Aww!! That's so cute!! Look Samantha you have groupies!!!"

description

Why don't you just leave and stop embarrassing yourself?


message 30: by Kelley (new)

Kelley Angel wrote: "Aww!! That's so cute!! Look Samantha you have groupies!!!"

Aww, *Smiles* I actually do not know her. But, thanks for coming back! So now I know that you have actually read these words of advice and since you are choosing to ignore them, now I know you are just an ignorant bitch who was looking to try and weigh their opinion over another’s. Just do us all a favor and write your own review. If you think your opinion matters write it where it is warranted.


Mel (who is deeply in love with herself) *peeks in*

Um, hi guys. I see I have interrupted at a crucial time of this intellectual disagreement, but can I just throw my own opinion out there, even though I am not part of this discussion and most of you don't know me?

Hey Anna (and Angel):

description

*smiles sweetly*

See ya.


message 32: by John (new)

John Egbert Mel! Your appearance in these matters is always appreciated :D


Mel (who is deeply in love with herself) Hey Mello, buddy!

I saw your comment in the recent updates, and was intrigued as to who you were giving such valuable advice to...now I get it.

Anna and Angel- if you're reading this, I don't wish to be mean, but you really need to get to grips with human decency again; clearly you've both lost touch of it.


message 34: by Kelley (new)

Kelley Isn't this kind of situation just...
friends Pictures, Images and Photos

I agree with Mello, that is a good peek in.


Brigid *Flying Kick-a-pow!* I loved this book!!! I just wanted to let you know :)

You know what's a great way to let people know you loved a book? Go write your own review.

I have an awesome imagination, so I don't require a lot of detail.

Funny, for someone who has an "awesome imagination," you seem unable to imagine that someone would dislike a book you loved. Rather ironic, eh?

Also, there's a difference between lacking in detail and leaving things open to the reader's interpretation. I haven't read the book, but from reading Samantha's review I suspect it's more of the former. It's fine to leave some things to the reader's imagination, but you have to give them something. Otherwise, you're just being a lazy author.

Here is an idea!!! Maybe you shouldn't read paranormal romances! :)

Here's an idea! Maybe you should mind your own damn business and not tell people what they should and shouldn't read! And maybe you should not troll reviews! And maybe you should stop ending every sentence with three exclamation points and a smiley face!!! :) (Rather annoying, isn't it?)

You seem to have a lot of rage going on, so maybe you should look into some self help books. :)

And let me guess ... you've never gotten angry at something you thought was unbearably stupid? Somehow, I doubt that. It's not a matter of anger management or anything. If she went and physically punched the author in the face, then I'd be a bit worried. But this is just a review, for crying out loud. I don't see any rage problems here. I'd think you're the one who needs a bit of help, since you can't seem to accept others' opinions. And that you seem to think you're so cute just by using so many smiley faces.

And yes this is your review of the book, but I don't think it is a good one at all. You are just out to hurt people. I'm sure the author looks at these reviews. Why not just give it one star and go on. Oh but you can't do that can you? NO, you have to step on people, so you can feel all smart and mighty.

Well if you don't like it, I repeat: go write your own review if you think you can write a better one. And really, you think giving it one star and moving on will make the author happier? Somehow, I doubt that. I know that, if I were the author, I would want to know what caused the reader to dislike my book. Sure, criticism can be harsh but it's a part of an author's life. Writers have thick skins. So unless you're a professional writer yourself, I don't think you know what the heck you're talking about.

Well you just look stupid and pitiful. All you're doing is showing people how immature you are. Maybe it's time to grow up.

No, my dear. You look stupid and pitiful. All you're doing is showing people how immature you are. Maybe it's time for you to grow up. :)

Sincerely,
one of Samantha's "groupies" <3


message 36: by Karen (last edited Dec 27, 2011 01:12PM) (new)

Karen Angel wrote: "I loved this book!!! I just wanted to let you know :) I have an awesome imagination, so I don't require a lot of detail. Here is an idea!!! Maybe you shouldn't read paranormal romances! :) You seem..."

Angel darling, you really should learn how to take your own advice. Also, your broad generalization of liking or disliking "paranormal romance" is quite disturbing. One bad book doesn't affect the whole genre. That's like saying all humans like trolling just because you do (hint hint).

Not cool.

PS You amuse me


Mel (who is deeply in love with herself) I have this strange half-suspicion that Anna and Angel are one and the same..it's like, after the first comment of Anna's, she made another profile and changed tactic when she realised nobody else was buying it.

Anangel (i hope you don't mind, I made a new name for you)- please. Just- please. Please come back here and defend yourself. i'm pretty sure you're reading all these comments, and I hope you don't feel offended, but I REALLY can't see why anyone would make the kinda comments you have.

Common civility, anyone? Don't worry, have some off us! We have plenty!


message 38: by Samantha (last edited Dec 31, 2011 11:05AM) (new)

Samantha Souza Angel wrote: "I loved this book!!! I just wanted to let you know :) I have an awesome imagination, so I don't require a lot of detail. Here is an idea!!! Maybe you shouldn't read paranormal romances! :) You seem..."

Oh sweety. No that's not it at all.
See I am a very smart and intellectual person. I have a heart of gold, and I believe in the magic that books bring to people's imagination. MY heart of gold was crushed when I read this book. It seems to me that really only stupid and immature people would actually take the time to insult someone on their views ANGEL...but that's just me. And honestly, I don't think the author would take the time to sit down and read MY review and if she did she probably would just roll her eyes and go back to doing whatever it was that she was doing. THAT is how MATURE people handle criticism.

See like I'm doing now...I'm rolling my eyes at you and shaking my head and thinking: "POOR ANGEL, she must be so bored and lonely to have to go trolling through my reviews to make herself feel better and MORE MATURE."

It's not MY fault that you like this abomination of a book. Personally I like for the author to tell me the story instead of having to figure it out for myself, but that's just me. Perhaps it's because I don't have that "awesome imagination" that you're so fond and proud of. MAYBE when you grow a pair and learn to suck up your pride, we can have a decent conversation about our difference of opinions on this book. Until then try practicing not being a bitch!!! :)


message 39: by Samantha (last edited Dec 31, 2011 11:00AM) (new)

Samantha Souza Brigid *Flying Kick-a-pow!* wrote: "I loved this book!!! I just wanted to let you know :)

You know what's a great way to let people know you loved a book? Go write your own review.

I have an awesome imagination, so I don't require ..."


Pure Amazing-awesomeness-greatness-fantasticness-hilariousness! I literally LOLed Thank you everybody! I know I have been off the grid for a while but now I'm back!


message 40: by Kelley (new)

Kelley No problem, you know us being your groupies and all we had to step in and slay the troll.


message 41: by Samantha (new)

Samantha Souza I can not believe she said that. I'm not that likable :).


Brigid *Flying Kick-a-pow!* You're quite welcome!


message 43: by Stacey (new)

Stacey Lucky lol you have groupies...lol Angel this is a book website get over yourself


message 44: by LibraryFairy™ (new)

LibraryFairy™ This review is exactly how I feel. It causes me physical pain to try and read the book I mean honestly Gemma is one of the most pathetic charachters I've ever read about. This is possibly the worst book I have ever read I deleted it from my kindle too, I was 61% in hoping it would get better... it didn't. I honestly considered sticking toothpicks in my eyes so I wouldn't ever have to read such crap in my life again.


message 45: by Samantha (new)

Samantha Souza LibraryFairy™ wrote: "This review is exactly how I feel. It causes me physical pain to try and read the book I mean honestly Gemma is one of the most pathetic charachters I've ever read about. This is possibly the worst..."

I wish I could "like" your comment. You speak nothing but the truth my dear. I couldn't agree more with you!!


message 46: by LibraryFairy™ (new)

LibraryFairy™ Samantha wrote: "LibraryFairy™ wrote: "This review is exactly how I feel. It causes me physical pain to try and read the book I mean honestly Gemma is one of the most pathetic charachters I've ever read about. This..."


Thank you :) I really enjoyed your review, I thought I was the only one complaining about how awful the book was.


message 47: by Samantha (new)

Samantha Souza At least we know we aren't crazy!! :)


Mel (who is deeply in love with herself) Joleen wrote: "Wow Judge much? Geez. Why are you reading this style of book when it's obvious you don't like it?"

Cillian has already done the honours of telling you to toddle off away from here. I suggest you do what she says. She has a mean cyber back-hand, you know. *pats back of head sheepishly*

But, Joleen, seriously now. Just because you don't like a few books in a specific genre, doesn't mean you have to write it off for the rest of your literary life. I mean, look at me. I hate Mills&Boon stuff (*glances away*), but am more than ready to pick up any soppy romance from the aisle if it piques my interest. Sometimes, you want to find the exception to the rule.

And, really, I don't understand why you even made a comment here. Don't you understand nobody likes it? HAVEN'T YOU LEARNED FROM THE PAST FEW WEEKS OF HORROR??


Brigid *Flying Kick-a-pow!* Joleen wrote: "Wow Judge much? Geez. Why are you reading this style of book when it's obvious you don't like it?"

Giving an honest opinion is not "judging." If Samantha had just, say, stared at the cover of the book without reading it, and then written this review, that would have been judging. However, she read it, and she hated it for legitimate reasons.

And perhaps Samantha actually expected this book to be good and it disappointed her. How do you know what "style" she does and doesn't like? Also, some people don't judge books by their genre and actually give everything a chance. Is there something wrong with that?

Geez, yourself.


message 50: by [deleted user] (new)

OH, THE TROLLZ.




« previous 1 3
back to top