Stacia (out of inspiration)’s review of Vampire Academy (Vampire Academy, #1) > Likes and Comments

144 likes · like
Comments (showing 1-50 of 108) (108 new)    post a comment »

message 1: by Karla (new)

Karla Love this series! I was consumed by it. I haven't started Bloodlines, just too much wait in between books and I hear there are cliffhangers, just like VA. I'm waiting for the third book to be released and then I'm diving in. Nice job Stacia!


Amanda (.---.--.-...-) I haven't read this series but seeing how highly you recommend it, maybe I'll give it a try.


message 3: by Sandra (new)

Sandra VA #n was one of the first and greater cliffhangers I've tripped over so far. Lucky me VA #n+1 was already published by then.

That is, in English.

Did you know that the Spanish publisher stopped publishing the series precisely at VA #n?

Fortunately, they reconsidered it and it have been published in June. Thus, a lot of Spanish readers will be able to know what happened next to VA #n and enjoy my very fav in the series.



Stacia (out of inspiration) Do you mean the cliffhanger in number 3?


Stacia (out of inspiration) Amanda, I'm going to inbox you.

Karla wrote: "Love this series! I was consumed by it. I haven't started Bloodlines, just too much wait in between books and I hear there are cliffhangers, just like VA. I'm waiting for the third book to be relea..."

I understand. Bloodlines is pretty good too. I still like VA better, but I appeciate the differences.


message 6: by Rebecca (new)

Rebecca Espinoza Commenting so I can get updates as we go. Prob wont get too much into reading until tonight or tomorrow. :0)


Stacia (out of inspiration) Same. I haven't had a chance to start yet. I'll try to sneak a few chapters in later tonight, then will read more tomorrow.


message 8: by Kala (new)

Kala I re-read the entire series right before The Golden Lily came out.. still love it!


message 9: by Noémy (new)

Noémy I think the covers are to blame lol ! I read the VA series not that long ago in 2010 (and was lucky because I only had to wait for LS to be released when I started it – I would have gone insane waiting for each book to come out every year arrgh!) but I had seen it around at the bookstore and never felt in the mood to pick it up. Thanks to some rave reviews on Amazon, I finally decided to buy it, read the first three back to back and…the rest is history ;-) I fell in love with it and Richelle Mead’s writing even after finishing book 1, which I know people like but is not a fav among the fans. There’s just something about the characters and the setting that I crave even now, 2 years later. Thank god for Bloodlines ;D


Stacia (out of inspiration) Have you read any of her adult series? I LOVE her Succubus series. Mead can write a nice sex scene, and the story itself was bittersweet. I love Seth from that series almost as much as Dimitri from this series.

Kala wrote: "I re-read the entire series right before The Golden Lily came out.. still love it!"

I'm only doing book 1 right now because I had a friend who wanted to try out the series (Anna...she hasn't shown up yet, haha), but I might do a complete re-read of this series and Bloodlines before the last Bloodlines book comes out. I like the graphic novels too!


message 11: by Noémy (new)

Noémy Stacia ~ mistress of mediocrity wrote: "Have you read any of her adult series? I LOVE her Succubus series. Mead can write a nice sex scene, and the story itself was bittersweet. I love Seth from that series almost as much as Dimitri from..."

I've read them both. And I love love love her succubus series too: it's my favorite of hers ;-) (I read it around the same time as VA coz' I just couldn't get enough of RM's stories ;D) and Seth was just too adorable : I was always surprised to see that he wasn't very popular among readers...compared to Roman that is...


Stacia (out of inspiration) I know! Not that Roman wasn't attractive because he was definitely sexy, but there are SO many sexy alpha male types out there that he couldn't hold a candle to Seth imo. How often do you see a well-written and SEXY beta male? I loved Seth for not being the same as all of the other alphas out there.

I liked her Dark Swan series overall, but the last book sort of was "eh." The ending could have been better. Either way, I'll still read anything she writes. I can't wait for her next adult series - Gameboard of the Gods


message 13: by Noémy (new)

Noémy yeah that's exactly it! I love Seth because like you said, he's different from all the other male characters that populate the UF or PNR genre. He was sexy and cute without being the overly possessive or overconfident type we usually see in those books. He's not a walking cliche and is actually one of the most realistic male lead I've ever read about. Huge bonus points there ! ;D

Her Dark Swan series is good (Dorian's delightful he's in a league of his own that one !) but it never grabbed me the way Georgina and co did. Right now i'm going crazy waiting for The Indigo Spell but I'm also pretty impatient for Gameboard of the Gods : sounds epic and just very different from what she usually writes


message 14: by Stacia (out of inspiration) (last edited Sep 21, 2012 10:33AM) (new)

Stacia (out of inspiration) Okay, I'm a few chapters in and will get my one complaint about Mead books out of the way. She always throws too much info at you right off the bat. I'd rather see some of the character introduction and world building spread out somewhat. But I loved Dimitri and Rose's banter and tension right from the start!


message 15: by Noémy (new)

Noémy Love it when she calls him 'cheap foreign labor' ;D bad Rose tsk tsk tsk


message 16: by Stacia (out of inspiration) (last edited Sep 21, 2012 03:45PM) (new)

Stacia (out of inspiration) That was actually the first passage I highlighted. I missed that the first time I read the book (or at least don't remember it) and that made me grin. Even though Rose notices that he's attractive, she's still not going to just fall at his feet. I love that about her!

About Dorian from DS : I was one of the few people on the planet who had to warm up to him. Of course, I grew to love him but I think (view spoiler) in book 1 had me in such a girly state of mind. Plus Kiyo being half-mexican, half-japanese, and having chin length hair just sounded physically hot...not sure why Dorian sounded like he was pasty and washed out in book 1...and the robes? He was described as much sexier in the later books, and the sense of humor won me over of course.


message 17: by Anna (new)

Anna Hi Stacia! Are you done???? :D I'm about to start Shadow Kiss. I'm loving the series so far, hope it stays like that through the end. It's addicting and I can't get enough of Dimitri and Rose. :)


Stacia (out of inspiration) Wow, on to book 3 already? You are zipping through fast! Book 3 has a crazy ending, so have book 4 handy. Book 4 is actually my favorite of the series.

I'm only about 30% in right now. I'm sort of going slow because I don't know where everyone else is at. I haven't heard anything from Rebecca or Sarah today.

So who are you liking right now? Adrian or Dimitri?


message 19: by Anna (new)

Anna Ohh I definitely made sure that I have the complete series ready. I don't think I could handle waiting after reading each of these books. Gah! I'm excited esp you loving book 4. I think it would be great.

I hope I'm not going too fast since I still want to catch up with the discussions but Richelle Mead is killing me with her mad writing skills.

Dimitri ftw!! I wouldn't even though of Adrian but his appearance on frostbite was not that much so I'm holding on to the series for him.


Stacia (out of inspiration) Isn't she such a great writer? I really do love the crazy worlds and complex characters she creates. And EVERY single series is completely different, which makes me love her even more.


message 21: by Anna (new)

Anna I also wanted to check her Georgina Kincaid series ever since you mentioned it was very good. Pretty soon after I finish VA.


Stacia (out of inspiration) I sound like such a girl but my favorite sex scene of all time is in GK book 4, haha.


message 23: by Anna (new)

Anna Haha Stacia! You are so cute. I don't even know what to say but since you mentioned it, my hands are now itching to get a hold of the series. Soon. :)

I had a double take there with "favorite sex scene of all time" so that has to be beyond amazing.


Stacia (out of inspiration) It's not the most graphic, it's just the most meaningful when it comes to how and why it happened.


message 25: by Rebecca (new)

Rebecca Espinoza I am so far behind. Just beginning chapter 5. I forgot how much I love Rose and Dimitiri's banter. This thread is making me want to continue reading because book 4 is one of my all time faves too. Oh, I loved Dimitri in that one. Teeheehee.


message 26: by Stacia (out of inspiration) (last edited Sep 22, 2012 12:32AM) (new)

Stacia (out of inspiration) Yes. Book 4 Dimitri was epic. Won't say why of course because I don't want to spoil for anyone, but you know what I mean already.

No rush. I had a group read that started around the same time and everyone else is finished with that one, so I might slow down on VA for a day in order to finish that one up, then come back to this.

I think somewhere around chapter 4ish there was a mention of some sort of spectral wolf creatures out in the "universe" and I sort of went 'huh?' because when were these things mentioned anywhere else in the series? Do you know what I'm talking about? If not, I'll go get my reader later and look up where I'd highlightetd it.


Stacia (out of inspiration) Btw, I wonder if Sara got a chance to start. I haven't checked in on her.


Stacia (out of inspiration) Ahhh...sorry. One more comment. I'm spamming here.

Who do you picture as Dimitri?


message 29: by Rebecca (last edited Sep 22, 2012 01:15AM) (new)

Rebecca Espinoza I always pictured him as a young Johnny Depp with the long hair but cleaner looking phase. Yeah, it's funny you mention the wolves thing because I was expecting Mead to bring that out in the Bloodlines series. She already has witches working their way in and when I read the self defense instructor's last name was Wolf and the dude is missing an eye, I thought that has to be a werewolf or shifter!


message 30: by Noémy (new)

Noémy yeah! Her Georgina Kincaid series rocks ! A must read if you're a fan of Mead's writing. I just love her sense of humor in that one and its set of characters (every single one of them...err except Dante now that I think of it...yeah I really don't like him). My only complain regarding the series was that the last one was too short ! and book 4 is definitely a fav (we all know why he he he).

I know that everyone and their mothers want Ben Barnes as Dimitri but personnally I alway picture Henry Cavill ;D swooon!


message 31: by Stacia (out of inspiration) (last edited Sep 22, 2012 01:21AM) (new)

Stacia (out of inspiration) Maybe she was laying groundwork for the spinoff series? Either that, or she's bringing it back full circle to cover her flub from mentioning it in book 1 and never bringing it up again! I think she did something similar in the GK series that I caught on my second read but I don't remember what it is now.

You HAVE to read the VA graphics. Dimitri looks so HOT in those! I put some pics from book 2 in my Frostbite review here (there aren't really any big spoilers, other than showing a brief Dimka/Rose moment if people don't want to see that)
http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/..., but the best pics are in VA book 1, but I didn't screencap any, darn!

I fantasy cast Adrian, Eddie and Dimitri in my review for Golden Lily, but I don't want to link it because I don't want to spoiler anything, so one sec and I'll actually grab the pictures to post here instead of the review itself.


message 32: by Stacia (out of inspiration) (last edited Sep 22, 2012 01:27AM) (new)

Stacia (out of inspiration) Btw, Johnny Depp is a new one. I think I'd heard Henry Cavill before but now people have him stuck in my head as Alexander from The Bronze Horseman, so I can't picture him as anyone else.

Yup, Noemy. Book 4 - office scene. YES, YES, YES.

Okay, I did use to want Ben Barnes as Dimitri because of his gorgeous freakin hair and the fact that he did a Russian accent in a movie already, but after seeing him in Dorian Gray, he became far too soft for the part of a 6'7" lethal badass warrior. I do so love his face though. I would still take a mix of Ben Barnes and this guy if they could be morphed together:


My Adrian :


My Eddie (I didn't know he was lean and blonde until I read the graphics! I always pictured him brunette!) :
[image error]


Stacia (out of inspiration) (can you tell that I love fantasy casting?)


message 34: by Rebecca (new)

Rebecca Espinoza I love the image of Adrian. I picture him like that but a bit shorter hair. Yep, there are some character's that I have them pictured a certain way and I can never change it. Jamie Fraser will always be Gerard Butler and Colin Egglesfield IS Barron's to me. I also always pictured Rose as Megan Fox and Lissa is Dakota Fanning.

I'm going to have to see if they have the graphic novels at my library. They look really interesting.


message 35: by Stacia (out of inspiration) (last edited Sep 22, 2012 01:56AM) (new)

Stacia (out of inspiration) That is so true. Once you get that image stuck in your head, it's there.

I picked that guy because Adrian is described as having dark and stylishly messy hair and smokes a lot, so that fit my image (other than the tattoo of course). I have no idea who the guy is though. He was a random blog find.

Rose has light brown skin because of her Turkish background, so I'd want to stay true to how she looks (the book covers kill me because the girl pictured looks nothing like how Rose is described), but I don't have an idea of who I'd want. This pic strikes me as very Rose though if the actress were just a bit younger :



I don't have a set Jamie Fraser but a lot of people like Chris Hemsworth for him.

The graphics are very cheap in paperback. I think I paid less than 8 bucks apiece for them online.


message 36: by Anna (new)

Anna Stacia, your Adrian looks handsome! *blushes*


message 37: by Noémy (new)

Noémy Stacia (forced into working it) wrote: "Btw, Johnny Depp is a new one. I think I'd heard Henry Cavill before but now people have him stuck in my head as Alexander from The Bronze Horseman, so I can't picture him as anyone else.

Yup, Noe..."


<3 <3 <3 Seth haaaa! That picture of Adrian is spot on too I don't know who that guy is but he's hot ! Lots of people have also been talking about Max Irons for Adrian : he's very cute and charming, that would fit ;D and I think I need to check out The Bronze Horseman now that you've mentionned Henry Cavill would fit the description of one of the characters he he he


message 38: by Rebecca (new)

Rebecca Espinoza Yes, TBH is soooo good!


Stacia (out of inspiration) TBH is such a beautiful story! Max Irons is quite lovely. Did you know he's going to be in the upcoming movie version of The Host?

I have a Christian too, but I'm not at the computer.


message 40: by Kala (new)

Kala Your fantasy castings are all spot on to what I pictured too!


message 41: by Noémy (new)

Noémy Stacia (forced into working it) wrote: "TBH is such a beautiful story! Max Irons is quite lovely. Did you know he's going to be in the upcoming movie version of The Host?

I have a Christian too, but I'm not at the computer."


Yes. I first noticed him after it was announced that he would be playing Jared in the upcoming Host movie :-) can't wait ! I just added The Bronze Horseman to my tbr list btw : thanks guys ;D


message 42: by Stacia (out of inspiration) (last edited Sep 22, 2012 11:17PM) (new)

Stacia (out of inspiration) Kala wrote: "Your fantasy castings are all spot on to what I pictured too!"

I love seeing who everyone else picks as well.

Travis Caldwell is my Christian (although he would make a lovely Will from Infernal Devices as well).




Teresa Palmer as Lissa



Okay, question for the re-readers. Did anyone else look back on this series in retrospect and remember it being extremely mature for a YA? I honestly forgot how "teen-ish" the first book is because the later books are so much more dangerous and sexy and take place on the road and in other places outside of the school. I was sort of culture shocked by the high school drama in book 1 all over again because the rest of the series gradually progresses into something darker and more adventurous with all of the action and *cough* you know other sexy stuff. Even though I really like book 1, it's definitely not up to the same high standard that the rest of the series is.

I always loved that Dimitri and Adrian were 24 and 21...made me feel less pedo at drooling over them.


message 43: by Loederkoningin (new)

Loederkoningin I'm leaning towards how you felt about this one before having read it. However, it being in your top 3 now has made me curious!


message 44: by Kala (new)

Kala I'm really wanting to re-read the entire VA series again after reading this :P


message 45: by Stacia (out of inspiration) (last edited Sep 24, 2012 12:04AM) (new)

Stacia (out of inspiration) You should Kala! I am going to have to read the rest of the books sometime over the next few months because I enjoyed picking up on details I'd forgotten over time. I completely forgot that (view spoiler)

Loederkoningin wrote: "I'm leaning towards how you felt about this one before having read it. However, it being in your top 3 now has made me curious!"

Wait, say it isn't so! You haven't read this series yet? Have you read any of Mead's series? I love anything she writes.

...

I'll come back tomorrow and discuss more about the book when I'm less tired. For now I just wanted to get my review done before I forgot what I wanted to say. There's a few moments that I'm curious to see what you guys have to say about those.


message 46: by Loederkoningin (new)

Loederkoningin I've never read anything by her before Stacia. :-$ I quickly moved this one from 'Perhaps' to To-read'. :-D


message 47: by Anna (Bobs Her Hair) (last edited Sep 24, 2012 12:13AM) (new)

Anna (Bobs Her Hair) Oooooooooh, so you're saying I should try this YA because the series' name is an automatic turn-off (says the woman who once watched Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Roswell, Dawson's Creek and *cough* The Hills *cough*. Yes, I can laugh at myself.)

Is the series complete? :o)

Btw, great review, Stacia!


Stacia (out of inspiration) I go back and forth between this and Georgina Kincaid trying to put one on top. I love them both for different reasons. VA has better characters, more action/adventure and some of the best sexual tension I've ever read, while GK has a heart-wrenching (in a good way) story and of course yummier sex scenes because it's adult, so there's more detail in that area. Both are excellent, but I read this series first, so it probably has more sentimental value for me.


Anna (Bobs Her Hair) Stacia (forced into working it) wrote: "I go back and forth between this and Georgina Kincaid trying to put one on top. I love them both for different reasons. VA has better characters, more action/adventure and some of the best sexual t..."

So, which is the better series IYHO?


Stacia (out of inspiration) Anna wrote: "Oooooooooh, so you're saying I should try this YA because the series' name is an automatic turn-off (says the woman who once watched Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Roswell, Dawson's Creek and *cough* Th..."

Thanks! I was posting a reply to LK when you posted yours, so I just now saw this update.

Yes, the series is complete. And it is BADASS. Like I said in my review, book 1 is a bit fluffier/sillier (so expect that) than the rest of the series and there's a lot of unnecessary info dumping, but the rest of the books are excellent. I urge anyone to chalk book 1 up to "fun but weak" and then devour the rest of the series because it does become more 'adult' and less fluffy as it continues. And Dimitri is just too amazing for words. :)


« previous 1 3
back to top