Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Shapes” as Want to Read:
Shapes
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Shapes

3.44  ·  Rating Details  ·  16 Ratings  ·  5 Reviews
Youngsters are endlessly fascinated by animals, so what better way to teach them about the basic concepts? Animals of the ocean display both simple and complex shapes in this board book from the Learning with Animals series --- perfect for little hands.
Board Book
Published February 1st 2005 by Kids Can Press
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Shapes, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Shapes

Community Reviews

(showing 1-29 of 29)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Lisa Vegan
Of the four Watt “Learning with Animals” board books I’ve recently read (the other three are colors, alphabet, opposites) this is my least favorite.

Yes, her illustrations are beautiful, and colorful, although I don’t enjoy the art in these books as much as I do in her Chester and Scaredy Squirrel books. However, in a way I didn’t appreciate, she really stretches things re the shapes. Whales are not shaped exactly like rectangles, turtles not like pentagons, etc. So the pictures looked weird to m
...more
Alice
Jul 29, 2015 Alice rated it really liked it
Fans of Chester, Scardy Squirrel know you have to start somewhere. These board books is where Melanie Started! They are colorful and educational board books with great pictures
Lindy Groth
Picture Book # 13 - The book shows pictures of different animals and describes them by their shape. It is a concept book and a board book.
Samantha Penrose
In this adorable board book you will see how nine different shapes (triangle, square, rectangle, circle, oval, pentagon, star, crescent, and spiral) can become ocean critters (fish, sting ray, whale, puffer fish, crab, turtle, sea star, shrimp, and snail).
Clever idea. Cute illustrations.
This book is an art project waiting to happen!!!
Inspired Kathy
Feb 03, 2009 Inspired Kathy rated it liked it
Animals are a little odd shaped but cute.
Kian
Kian rated it liked it
Apr 25, 2016
Katie
Katie marked it as to-read
Dec 06, 2015
Susan
Susan marked it as to-read
Nov 05, 2015
Hope L. Justice
Hope L. Justice rated it liked it
Sep 14, 2015
Aiyah
Aiyah marked it as to-read
Aug 03, 2015
Kelvin
Kelvin marked it as to-read
May 11, 2015
Jireh Adalia
Jireh Adalia rated it it was amazing
Nov 01, 2014
Sarah
Sarah marked it as to-read
Aug 30, 2015
Wendi
Wendi marked it as to-read
Sep 23, 2014
Twila Washburn
Twila Washburn marked it as to-read
Aug 18, 2014
Sheryl B
Sheryl B marked it as to-read
Aug 11, 2014
Earicka
Earicka marked it as to-read
Apr 13, 2014
Marc Lucke
Marc Lucke rated it liked it
Mar 29, 2014
Michele Piccini
Michele Piccini rated it liked it
May 31, 2013
Hong_zhu_99yahoo.com
Hong_zhu_99yahoo.com rated it really liked it
Jan 26, 2013
Jason Beyer
Jason Beyer rated it liked it
Sep 15, 2012
Rebecca
Rebecca rated it liked it
Jul 19, 2012
Mandy
Mandy added it
Apr 07, 2012
Alison Clancy
Alison Clancy marked it as to-read
Mar 09, 2012
Sarah Coggins
Sarah Coggins rated it liked it
Aug 08, 2011
Athena
Athena rated it really liked it
May 08, 2011
Laura
Laura rated it it was ok
Mar 02, 2010
Alba
Alba rated it it was amazing
May 21, 2009
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
308542
It was in a design class taught by Michèle Lemieux at the University of Quebec in Montreal that author and illustrator Mélanie Watt created her first picture book, Leon the Chameleon, which was later published by Kids Can Press. Watt went on to create several more books, including the Learning with Animals collection and Augustine, which was named an ALA Notable Children's Book. Watt has also illu ...more
More about Mélanie Watt...

Share This Book



No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »