Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Noche Roja” as Want to Read:
Noche Roja
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Noche Roja (Vertigo Crime)

by
3.2  ·  Rating Details ·  119 Ratings  ·  24 Reviews
In the tradition of Chinatown and L.A. Confidential, writer Simon Oliver explores a hidden world of corruption where money, sex, politics and crime all add up to the same thing.In the desert just south of the border, young women are turning up murdered. No suspects. No clues. And authorities seem uninterested in uncovering any. When ex-private eye Jack Cohen is hired to ...more
Hardcover, 184 pages
Published February 22nd 2011 by Vertigo
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Noche Roja, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Noche Roja

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Titas (Emperor)
Nov 24, 2014 Titas (Emperor) rated it really liked it
La noche es de color rojo (The Night is Red)
Actually 3 + 1/2. Extra 1/2 is for the artwork!

Before I even start on the book, I want to talk about the art. Incredible! The play of black, white and many if their shades and prints are a visual treat for the eyes! The little looks, emotions, actions, shadows, motions, panels and details are drawn so smoothly as if its nothing but just stop and look back again to a page before turning to the next one; you'll feel the art is the hero of this book. Arti
...more
Andrea
Jul 14, 2011 Andrea rated it really liked it
Almost everything is corrupt, the only points of hope the women working in the maquiladoras trying to organize. So you know I liked it. It has always amazed me how every border town smells the same -- Nogales, TJ, Juarez -- and the town in this book smelled exactly the same fucked up way. I liked that too. However, I get tired of the gringo saviour motif . . . I feel like white American men have to be more interesting or eccentrically flawed character-wise in that setting as they can never and ...more
Gayle Francis Moffet
Jul 31, 2014 Gayle Francis Moffet rated it really liked it
Shelves: comics, 2014, july-2014
I've found the Vertigo Crime line to be a mixed bag. I love a hard-bitten detective story, and I enjoy noir, but the VC line seemed to forget the part of the whole idea where they were modernizing the genre. In most of the books I've read from the line, the women have been as marginalized (or close) as they were in the golden age of noir. Women were meant to be sexual conquests and props and love interest and so very rarely were they full-fledged characters.

In Noche Roja, the main character is a
...more
Felix Medina jr.
Jul 13, 2014 Felix Medina jr. rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: Mystery and noir readers
A noir mystery in graphic novel form, on the women being killed in maquiladoras in border towns. An interesting take, where an American detective is hired to figure out "whodunnit?" and soon finds out there's more to his employment and the murders themselves. I'm glad the maquiladora killings were given a graphic novel treatment, hopefully it reaches a wider audience. Characters with convictions, over past, seeking to right past and present injustices. Story moved along at a fast pace. In about ...more
John
Aug 28, 2011 John rated it really liked it
Nice noir graphic novel with a down on his luck detective looking for redemption in a u.s./mexico border town, trying to solve murders of factory worker.
Jacob
Sep 25, 2016 Jacob rated it it was amazing
re-reading after 4 years. Finished mid September.

A fantastic mystery noir with a setting in Mexico.
Sonic
May 13, 2011 Sonic rated it really liked it
Wow! Killer Noir! Kinda gave me goosebumps. Like the best noir it informs and entertains while raising hard questions about human behavior.
Geoff Sebesta
Mar 23, 2011 Geoff Sebesta rated it really liked it
good read, excellent source material, dull structure.
David
Nov 23, 2012 David rated it really liked it
Shelves: comix
Great read. Love the Vertigo crime graphic novel series. This one had some interesting plot twists.
Jon(athan) Nakapalau
Oct 13, 2016 Jon(athan) Nakapalau rated it it was amazing
A 'race to the bottom' noir tale about MNC footprints that step on people...literally and figuratively.
Guy Gonzalez
May 07, 2011 Guy Gonzalez rated it liked it
Shelves: graphic-novels
Simon Oliver spins a solid bit of noirish crime fiction and Jason Latour's black-and-white visuals complement it very well, but its overall impact is lessened a bit by Vertigo's schizophrenic packaging. Noche Roja sports a nice hardcover with a distinctive design, front and back, but the interior features cheap paper that can't handle Latour's liberal use of shadows and outright darkness, a bizarre oversight for an imprint dedicated to crime fiction.

What should be atmospheric and immersive becom
...more
Travis
Jun 28, 2016 Travis rated it liked it
Got this because of the subject material (femicide along the border) and because I'm reading Southern Bastards and really like Latour's artwork in that series. Noirs are kind of a guilty pleasure, I guess, and this one hit all of the plot points you'd expect. The protagonist, Jack Cohen, ends up being pretty flat, though, because his main function is to avenge a wrongful death by sacrificing his own life. if you go in with that expectation because it's such a convention of the genre, there's ...more
Robert
Jun 02, 2012 Robert rated it liked it
This one has a lot going for it. An ex cop turned private eye is called in to assist in investigating the murder of several factory girls just across the border in Mexico. Corruption, violence and greedy politicians all rolled into a dark black and white world. The only stumbling block I saw was that some of the panels were a bit dark and it made identification of characters a bit difficult, until they started speaking that is. Overall the story line itself was almost enough to launch one more ...more
Tanya
Dec 22, 2011 Tanya rated it liked it
Having just discovered the Vertigo Crime imprint, this is the first one I read. It was definitely a noir, with a brooding detective lead, a damsel in distress (multiple, actually), gritty crime, and a political conspiracy. However, something about it fell a little flat for me. Maybe I found the ending to be a little convoluted, or maybe I just wasn't reading it with the proper level of attention. It's not bad at all, and it's interesting in its setting (a small factory slum town in Mexico, with ...more
Andy
Mar 09, 2011 Andy rated it liked it
Shelves: graphic-novels, 2011
This graphic novel is so dark it's almost black. Literally! Other than the word balloons and the few scenes that take place in the daylight, the pages are either black or gray. The story itself is quite dark also: an American detective investigating the murders of several factory girls in Mexico. I wasn't very impressed with either the story or the art, but then again, I read this right before going to bed. Maybe I'll give it another shot, maybe not.
Eli
Sep 16, 2015 Eli rated it liked it
Recommended to Eli by: Gayle Francis Moffet
Kind of meh. Had a lot of good noir mood but suffered from a serious case of "What This Book Needs Is a White Guy" and was so loaded with overused noir tropes that I half expected it to end with someone saying, "Forget it, Paloma; it's Mexico Citytown." Add in art so dark I sometimes couldn't see what was going on, and it works out to a so-so read.
Rick
Apr 17, 2011 Rick rated it it was ok
One of the less interesting entries in the Vertigo Crime series. The art was extremely hard to decipher, the writing was cliche-ridden (although that's expected for this genre), and it was somewhat difficult to figure out what was going on a times. Top it off with a story that was only mildly interesting and you get a pretty subpar book.
Craig
Apr 02, 2011 Craig rated it really liked it
One of the best of this series, this would make a good movie if adapted carefully, by the right people.
Tobin
Jan 25, 2012 Tobin rated it liked it
Shelves: graphic-novels
A strong story playing off the numerous murders in Northern Mexico. A fact-paced noir with typical characters. Worth getting at the library.

I gave it a 7/10 on my personal scale.

-tpl
Adrianna
Jun 03, 2011 Adrianna rated it liked it
Interesting and complex story, but hard to follow. I felt like I was reading a sequel without reading the first book
Robert
Robert rated it liked it
Jan 24, 2016
Epepple
Epepple rated it liked it
Sep 07, 2011
Mara
Mara rated it liked it
Dec 06, 2012
Adam
Apr 19, 2011 Adam rated it liked it
Shelves: comic
I wish "noir" didn't mean "art that's too dark and hard to follow". Still, it wasn't too bad.
Brian Schmidt
Brian Schmidt rated it did not like it
Apr 12, 2011
Caleb
Caleb rated it liked it
Aug 12, 2013
Matthew Taylor
Matthew Taylor rated it liked it
Sep 08, 2011
Brian
Brian rated it liked it
Apr 05, 2011
Gregory
Gregory rated it really liked it
Dec 06, 2016
Rich Barrett
Rich Barrett rated it it was ok
Apr 26, 2011
« previous 1 3 4 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Other Books in the Series

Vertigo Crime (1 - 10 of 15 books)
  • Dark Entries
  • Filthy Rich
  • The Chill
  • The Bronx Kill
  • Area 10
  • The Executor
  • Fogtown
  • A Sickness in the Family
  • Rat Catcher
  • 99 Days

Share This Book