Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Malifex” as Want to Read:
The Malifex
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Malifex (Malifex #1)

3.71  ·  Rating Details ·  21 Ratings  ·  3 Reviews
In the Dorset, England, countryside on a family vacation, a video game fanatic reluctantly embarks on a quest to battle an ancient evil, aided by the daughter of a Wiccan and a man once apprenticed to Merlin.
Hardcover, 181 pages
Published 2003 by Carolrhoda Books (first published December 31st 2001)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Malifex, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Malifex

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-46)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Nick Foster
Apr 12, 2012 Nick Foster rated it it was amazing
Page 119 is a very sexual page!!!
Miriam
Jun 12, 2009 Miriam rated it liked it
Shelves: fantasy, ya, younger
Rather generic kid-accidententally-awakens-ancient-evil-and/or-discovers magic powers childrens fantasy. Waking ancient powers that have slumbered for millenia seems to be pretty easy! Defeating them isn't too hard, either. Alton's inclusion of Milesian mythology and the Wicca tradition are somewhat original for a YA novel, although pretty standard for adult fantasy. And given the richness of this corpus I felt he could have done a lot more with -- it seemed rather watered down. For instance, th ...more
Stefanie
Dec 22, 2016 Stefanie rated it really liked it
A fun middle grade novel about a boy who accidentally awakens a sleeping magician, and finds himself at the center of an endless battle between Good and Evil. It's a fun, quick read, perfect for fans of King Arthur, Merlin, ley lines, and spunky pre teens.
Ttom
Ttom rated it really liked it
Sep 28, 2012
Kevin Valestil
Kevin Valestil rated it liked it
Mar 08, 2011
Sarah
Sarah rated it it was amazing
Jun 28, 2007
Kaila
Kaila rated it really liked it
Apr 05, 2017
Robyn
Robyn rated it liked it
Oct 31, 2011
Isaiah Ortiz
Isaiah Ortiz rated it it was amazing
Sep 22, 2010
Lauren Lagana
Lauren Lagana rated it liked it
May 25, 2012
Samantha
Samantha rated it did not like it
Sep 24, 2009
Jessica
Jessica rated it really liked it
Aug 17, 2009
Dustin Easlick
Dustin Easlick rated it it was amazing
Dec 19, 2013
Shannon Rochester
Shannon Rochester rated it liked it
Jul 26, 2012
C
C rated it liked it
Jul 29, 2011
Joyce (The book worm)
Joyce (The book worm) rated it it was amazing
Sep 29, 2011
Kaylee
Kaylee rated it it was ok
Jan 08, 2011
Russ Hall
Russ Hall rated it it was amazing
Mar 25, 2016
Michael Sorbello
Michael Sorbello rated it really liked it
Jan 24, 2012
Jamie
Jamie rated it it was ok
Nov 09, 2008
Cindy
Cindy rated it it was amazing
Jan 30, 2010
Brenna Call
Brenna Call marked it as to-read
Nov 15, 2008
Chelsea
Chelsea marked it as to-read
Jan 04, 2009
Alexa
Alexa marked it as to-read
Mar 26, 2011
Julie
Julie marked it as to-read
Mar 29, 2012
Dawn cline
Dawn cline marked it as to-read
Dec 18, 2012
Tracy
Tracy marked it as to-read
Jun 05, 2013
Hollyann
Hollyann marked it as to-read
Aug 30, 2013
Daerenaidia
Daerenaidia marked it as to-read
Feb 03, 2014
Forum
Forum marked it as to-read
Mar 08, 2014
Mykel
Mykel marked it as to-read
Aug 13, 2014
Candi
Candi added it
Nov 04, 2014
Katherine
Katherine marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2015
Miniheart17yahoo.Com
Miniheart17yahoo.Com marked it as to-read
Oct 08, 2015
France
France is currently reading it
Dec 13, 2015
Annette Francis
Annette Francis marked it as to-read
Mar 07, 2016
Katelyn
Katelyn marked it as to-read
Jul 25, 2016
Misty
Misty marked it as to-read
Aug 16, 2016
Lila
Lila marked it as to-read
Aug 22, 2016
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
480962
Steve Alton is a writer and editor, author of the award-winning 'Gooey, Chewy, Rumble, Plop Book' and Deputy Editor of 'Bee Craft', the journal of the British Beekeepers Association. As well as producing children's books such as the ones listed below, he offers a specialist editing, proofreading, writing and research service, specialising in science, ecology, botany and horticulture topics for bot ...more
More about Steve Alton...

Other Books in the Series

Malifex (2 books)
  • The Firehills

Share This Book



No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »