An Embarrassment of Riches (Saint-Germain #24)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

An Embarrassment of Riches (Saint-Germain #24)

3.83 of 5 stars 3.83  ·  rating details  ·  103 ratings  ·  24 reviews

More than two decades strong, the Saint-Germain cycle is one of the most compelling works of dark fantasy and horror of our age.Historically accurate, often involving key events or figures from throughout world history, these deeply emotional novels have a devoted readership.Each novel is written as a stand-alone and they are not chronologically consecutive, so readers ma

...more
Hardcover, 384 pages
Published March 1st 2011 by Tor Books
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about An Embarrassment of Riches, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about An Embarrassment of Riches

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 276)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Anita
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Veerle
An Embarrassment of Riches
This 24th episode in the life of Saint-Germain, Rakoczy Ferancsi, Comes Santu-Germaniu in this book, takes place around 1270 at the court of Queen Kunegonda of Bohemia. At that time, Bohemia was a very rich country. And the count is moving through Kunegonda’s court with his usual grace and elegance, and so wealthy that his wealth is an embarrassment to the riches of the court.
But for the Comes, the bohemian court is not a pleasant place to be. He is very restricted is h...more
Chris
Yarbro's Saint-Germain series is the longest running vampire series today. The Count is used, in part, to explore various historical periods and places. The books have romance, action, and horror. Yarbro is a great writer, and unlike some writers I could mention, she does her research. The Count has a huge following consisting of men and women, and I am proud to count myself as one of thier number. This addition finds the Count in the Bohemian court, serving as jewel maker.

This is not a bad book...more
Jimyanni
Twenty-ninth in the Saint Germain series, twenty-fourth if you don't count the novels that center around Atta Olivia Clemens and Madeline de Montalia, Saint-Germain's two long-term lovers and fellow-vampires.

The Saint-Germain series is a series of "historical romances" set at various different times, in various different settings, featuring a main character who is functionally immortal. He is officially a vampire, although if you prefer your vampires to be traditionally super-powered, you may fi...more
All Things Urban Fantasy
A meticulous novel, AN EMBARRASSMENT OF RICHES brought to mind an elaborate version of THE HISTORIAN, told from the vampire’s perspective. As much a historical novel as anything else, the supernatural elements of the story were as realistically imagined as any other aspect of daily life. To further add to the feeling of reading primary source material, Yarbro intermixes letters between the chapters, a device that made me feel as threatened and engaged as any of the main characters trying to unwi...more
Eva
I was really looking forward to An Embarrassment of Riches by Chelsea Quinn Yarbro because it is set in Prague, where I lived for a couple years. The fore word suggested rich historic detail, but the book delivered only accounts of how to get rid of rat infestations and scores of descriptions of outfits the characters wore using language that left ALL to my imagination. Do you know what a “Short cotton bliehaut and braccae of braided leather” looks like? Me neither. Yet every time a character ap...more
Anna
Yet another brilliant novel in the Saint Germain series! These books are meticulously researched and all the effort definitely shows with the many historical details that are included on every page. It's almost like walking into the given time period and observing a piece of the past come alive.


This was probably one of the most tragic chapters in Saint Germain's existence and it is extremely sad that after so many years he finds himself once again at the whim of others. Rakoczy Ferncsi, as he i...more
Monster
An Embarrassment of Riches is the most recent book in Chelsea Quinn Yarbro’s saga of the vampire Count Saint-Germain. I decided to read it after reading a blog post the author wrote for us about libraries and researching for her books. It’s clear that she puts a tremendous amount of research into each novel, from the wider sweep of events in the historical period she writes of to the details of daily life, and her world-building is incredible. She creates atmosphere and provides vivid descriptio...more
Julia
A meticulous novel, this book brought to mind an elaborate version of THE HISTORIAN. As much a historical novel as anything else, the supernatural elements of the story were as realistically imagined as any other aspect of daily life. The letters intermixed with detailed "present events" created a compelling atmosphere, and I felt as threatened and engaged as any of the main characters trying to unwind the political and religious dangers around them.

The ultimate feeling upon completion was one o...more
Nicki Markus
It is no secret that I am a huge fan of Chelsea Quinn Yarbro's historical vampire series. In fact, if I could pick an author I'd most like to be, she would be high up the list if not the first choice.

This latest offering in the Saint Germain series more than lives up to my high expectations. Once more the Comte must carefully weave his way through court intrigues and plots, avoiding exposure of his true nature. There was no 'big romance' with one particular woman in this story unlike some of the...more
Stephanie
In all fairness, I had no idea this book is #24 in a series - perhaps if I had read from #1, I may have enjoyed the book more - as it was, while vividly researched and chock full of fine detail, I found it extremely difficult to stay with it - the storyline seems to move extremely slowly - I've read close to a third of the book and don't seem to have gotten anywhere with it. I plan to read on a bit more though at this point, it is highly likely that this one will be returned to the library unfin...more
Kathy
The Comes (Count) of Sant Germain is a complex man, not surprising considering that he has "lived" for 3200 yrs. And he lives under the complex pressures of feudal Bohemia while trying to not to reveal that he is a vampire. I will never read a vampire book the same way again. Amazingly vivid and unusual setting: 13th century Bohemia
Sandy
Although I've been a fan of the Saint Germaine books from the beginning I didn't enjoy this one. The amount of time spent describing everyone's clothing, the lack of any likeable secondary characters and, the lack of any real action until the very end of the book made this tough to get through.
Samantha Brady
I have all ready said that I love these books. This one is no exception. It was a really interesting read. I recommend it to all of the Saint Germain followers. If you love this series you will love this book.
Old Renton Book Exchange
I really like Chelsea Quinn Yarbro, I just wish she could think of a new way to end her Saint Germain novels other than the Comte and Roger are in peril, the Comte then fakes his own death and all is well, the end.
Nancy
I remembered why I didn't like these -- 10 pages on a pregnant queen and the ladies rubbing her feet. Tedious.
Mark
May 23, 2011 Mark rated it 4 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: Fans of Saint-Gernain, Fans of vampire romance, fans of historical
Recommended to Mark by: Sent to my by Tor
Madeleine
SO boring for a vampire book. A weird mismash of historical fiction and a vampire and a bodice-ripper.
Becky
May 17, 2011 Becky added it
I realized I was reading the 24th book in a series. Probably should read number one first.
Kay
Fans of St Germaine will definitely enjoy this one. I've never read one where I didn't.
Lisa Keipp
As always, her history is superb, the book reads quickly and well.
Alison
Really boring, couldn't get past the first few chapters.
Heather Domin
To be reviewed for HNR August 2011
Nichole
Nichole marked it as to-read
Aug 28, 2014
Margaret
Margaret marked it as to-read
Aug 27, 2014
Kelly Messick
Kelly Messick marked it as to-read
Aug 20, 2014
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
40173
Chelsea Quinn Yarbro is one of only two women ever to be named Grand Master, at the World Horror Convention (2003). She was given the Living Legend Award from the International Horror Guild at World Fantasy Con in 2006 (first woman to receive it). In 2009, she received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Horror Writers Assn. at their convention in Burbank CA. She is the recipient of the Fine F...more
More about Chelsea Quinn Yarbro...
Hotel Transylvania (Saint-Germain, #1) Blood Games (Saint-Germain, #3) The Palace (Saint-Germain, #2) Path of the Eclipse (Saint-Germain, #4) A Flame in Byzantium (Atta Olivia Clemens series #1)

Share This Book