Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Acquainted with the Night: A Parent's Quest to Understand Depression and Bipolar Disorder in His Children” as Want to Read:
Acquainted with the Night: A Parent's Quest to Understand Depression and Bipolar Disorder in His Children
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Acquainted with the Night: A Parent's Quest to Understand Depression and Bipolar Disorder in His Children

3.62 of 5 stars 3.62  ·  rating details  ·  88 ratings  ·  10 reviews
In the tradition of Kay Redfield Jamison’s An Unquiet Mind, Acquainted with the Night is a powerful memoir of one man’s struggle to deal with the adolescent depression and bipolar disorder of his son and his daughter.

Seven years ago Paul Raeburn’s son, Alex, eleven, was admitted to a psychiatric hospital after leaving his fifth-grade classroom in an inexplicable rage. He
...more
Paperback, 320 pages
Published June 14th 2005 by Broadway Books (first published May 11th 2004)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Acquainted with the Night, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Acquainted with the Night

The Bell Jar by Sylvia PlathGirl, Interrupted by Susanna KaysenAn Unquiet Mind by Kay Redfield JamisonSurviving the Fourth Cycle by Nathan DanielsThe Yellow Wallpaper by Charlotte Perkins Gilman
Memoirs of Madness
51st out of 211 books — 253 voters
The Asylum for Wayward Victorian Girls by Emilie AutumnAutistic blessings and Bipolar me. by E.J. PlowsGirl, Interrupted by Susanna KaysenAn Unquiet Mind by Kay Redfield JamisonMadness by Marya Hornbacher
Best bipolar/schizophrenia books
57th out of 79 books — 109 voters


More lists with this book...

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 237)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Emily
A few months ago, I read an advance copy of science writer Paul Raeburn's new memoir, Acquainted with the Night. In it, he chronicles how first his son, then his daughter, fell into the grip of violent and frightening manic depression. It's the print equivalent of Weezer's infamous Pinkerton album: something so raw and personal that you want to look away.

Raeburn and his wife Liz had three children: Matt, Alex, and Alicia. When the children were about 15, 11, and 9, Alex began to have behavior pr
...more
Emilia
Nov 29, 2008 Emilia rated it 4 of 5 stars  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: anyone interested in mental health issues, especially involving children/teens
Shelves: non-fiction
Raeburn is a skilled writer and his memoir of a family stricken with the pain of depression and bipolar disorder was hard to put down. His story hit very close to home, as my eldest daughter was also diagnosed bipolar while still quite young (10 yrs old) and I faced the same struggles he recounts. Reading his account infuriated me (the fights w/ insurance companies, the dearth of mental health services, esp. for kids, etc) but it was also somewhat cathartic. I wept for him and his family but als ...more
Margaret
I am grateful that Raeburn was willing to write the story of his family's struggle,but it is a difficult read. Not just because of the many sad things that happen, but because it is not told exactly chronologically or thematically, and includes memoir as well as information about mental healthcare for children. It's incredibly wrenching to read of his struggles in his marriage and in parenting. he doesn't pretty things up for the reader.
Rebs
Very honest and introspective with well done research on the state of mental health systems in the US
Frederick Bingham
This is a book about the author's children who became mentally ill. His son with biopolar disorder and their daughter from severe depression. It follows the children through stays in mental hospitals, medications, suicide attempts, etc. I stopped about halfway through because it was too depressing. The book also contains a subplot about the author's failing marriage. He and his wife were headed for a nasty divorce and this was obviously exacerbating the kids' problems.
Carrie
Did not finish, but liked what I read. It was too hard for me to read at the time as my own daughter had just been diagnosed. I plan to go back and finish it some time.
Melody Joy
A journalist's memoire about trying to decipher parenting his mentally ill children. Tough read, but insightful. Definately has a journalist's tone of voice throughout.
Donna
This one is hard for me to read with becoming overwhelmed with anxiety about raising my own children. He really brings you into his struggles.
Martha Phillips
To sum up: How to irretrievably f*ck-up your kids through your appalling parenting.

the end.
Vanessa
fascinating story.
terribly parenting.
Lilly71490
Lilly71490 marked it as to-read
May 19, 2015
Alexis
Alexis added it
May 01, 2015
Susie
Susie marked it as to-read
Apr 29, 2015
Amber Chapais
Amber Chapais marked it as to-read
Apr 25, 2015
Franziska Köppen
Franziska Köppen marked it as to-read
Apr 24, 2015
Alexis Meendering
Alexis Meendering marked it as to-read
Apr 09, 2015
Eric
Eric marked it as to-read
Mar 23, 2015
Kate
Kate marked it as to-read
Mar 13, 2015
Colleen
Colleen marked it as to-read
Feb 27, 2015
Tracy
Tracy marked it as to-read
Feb 27, 2015
Krista
Krista marked it as to-read
Feb 24, 2015
Mahad
Mahad marked it as to-read
Feb 22, 2015
Kendra Magelitz
Kendra Magelitz marked it as to-read
Feb 21, 2015
Anna Rose
Anna Rose marked it as to-read
Feb 02, 2015
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • A Mood Apart: The Thinker's Guide to Emotion and Its Disorders
  • Malignant Sadness: The Anatomy of Depression
  • On the Edge of Darkness: Conversations About Conquering Depression
  • Me, Myself, and Them: A Firsthand Account of One Young Person's Experience with Schizophrenia
  • Autopsy of a Suicidal Mind
  • Struck by Living: From Depression to Hope
  • The Day the Voices Stopped
  • The Bipolar Child: The Definitive and Reassuring Guide to Childhood's Most Misunderstood Disorder
  • The Ghost in the House: Motherhood, Raising Children, and Struggling with Depression
  • In the Kingdom of the Sick: A Social History of Chronic Illness in America
  • Henry's Demons: Living with Schizophrenia, A Father and Son's Story
  • Crazy in America: The Hidden Tragedy of Our Criminalized Mentally Ill
  • Twins: Dead Ringers
  • Out of the Blue
  • Night Navigation: A Novel
  • Get It Done When You're Depressed
  • Love, Sara
  • Parenting Children with ADHD: 10 Lessons That Medicine Cannot Teach
Do Fathers Matter?: What Science Is Telling Us About the Parent We've Overlooked Mars: Uncovering the Secrets of the Red Planet (National Geographic) The Last Harvest: The Genetic Gamble That Threatens to Destroy American Agriculture Why Fathers Matter: The New Science of Fatherhood

Share This Book