Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Philosophy and Opinions of Marcus Garvey, Or, Africa for the Africans” as Want to Read:
The Philosophy and Opinions of Marcus Garvey, Or, Africa for the Africans
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Philosophy and Opinions of Marcus Garvey, Or, Africa for the Africans

4.42  ·  Rating Details ·  170 Ratings  ·  8 Reviews
The most famous collection of Garvey's speeches and essays, in a special Centennial Edition. The Garveyites' Bible!
Paperback, 102 pages
Published November 1st 1986 by Majority Press
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Nnamdi Azikiwe
Jun 20, 2015 Nnamdi Azikiwe rated it it was amazing
Realized I had awakened when I heard someone mention "the bible" and had to focus my mind on knowing they were not referring to The Philosophy and Opinions of Marcus Garvey. How much energy has been put into concealing the contents of this book? Distracting us from it? Distorting its contents? Why? Could the answers be, in my opinion, the day I found Marcus Garvey was the day I found myself.

This edition is from the New Marcus Garvey Library. When I joined the Universal Negro Improvement Associat
...more
RK Byers
Jul 19, 2009 RK Byers rated it it was amazing
Sensational book! a must read for anybody that can (read)!
Erotic Horizon
The Philosophy and Opinions of Marcus Garvey, Or, Africa for the Africans (The New Marcus Garvey Library, No. 9) by Marcus Garvey (1986)
Karen
Jul 25, 2011 Karen rated it it was ok
Perhaps more Opinion then Philosophy, provides excellent insight into the 2nd Black Nationalism movement, their arguments, strategies, and goals.
Hakim
Jul 13, 2015 Hakim marked it as consciousness
can't even begin to tell you how powerful this reading is. very informative and increased my race pride exponentially. brilliant man, wonderful wife for assembling
James Hall
I was young at the time, but some of the quotes still remain with me to this day. Great Read for a young black man searching for answers.
Keithmclendon
Keithmclendon rated it it was amazing
Aug 05, 2014
Linda Jaffier
Linda Jaffier rated it liked it
Apr 21, 2016
Kweku Azikiwe
Kweku Azikiwe rated it it was amazing
Jul 01, 2012
Patrina Pink
Patrina Pink rated it it was amazing
Apr 06, 2014
Ty
Ty rated it really liked it
Feb 07, 2013
JAH RANU
JAH RANU rated it it was amazing
Aug 03, 2015
Nicole Finnie
Nicole Finnie rated it it was amazing
Dec 01, 2014
Najite Phoenix
Najite Phoenix rated it really liked it
Nov 23, 2014
Temple Obe
Temple Obe rated it it was amazing
Dec 11, 2015
Shayla
Shayla rated it really liked it
Jun 04, 2016
Queenof Queens
Queenof Queens rated it it was amazing
Jul 29, 2016
Negasi
Negasi rated it it was amazing
Jan 30, 2016
Marcus Sharp
Marcus Sharp rated it really liked it
Aug 15, 2015
Keyar Doyle
Keyar Doyle rated it it was amazing
Nov 07, 2013
Leroy Brown
Leroy Brown rated it it was amazing
Dec 30, 2015
Yusef Edwards
Yusef Edwards rated it it was amazing
Aug 10, 2015
Roslyn Navarro
Roslyn Navarro rated it liked it
Aug 11, 2016
Angela Grant
Angela Grant rated it it was amazing
Mar 27, 2013
Louan Hamilton
Louan Hamilton rated it it was amazing
Aug 28, 2012
Verbon Graves iii
Verbon Graves iii rated it really liked it
Sep 01, 2014
St.sya Academy
St.sya Academy rated it it was amazing
Oct 23, 2012
Mide Odulate
Mide Odulate rated it liked it
Nov 14, 2016
Hakim
Hakim rated it really liked it
Dec 05, 2014
Siafu
Jul 27, 2016 Siafu rated it it was amazing
Good read, and a must read for serious Conscious folk's
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Blueprint for Black Power: A Moral, Political, and Economic Imperative for the Twenty-First Century
  • The Black Panthers Speak
  • How to Hustle and Win
  • Toward the African Revolution
  • Breaking the Chains of Psychological Slavery
  • Die Nigger Die!
  • The N Word: Who Can Say It, Who Shouldn't, and Why
  • We Want Freedom: A Life in the Black Panther Party
  • Negro with a Hat: The Rise and Fall of Marcus Garvey and His Dream of Mother Africa
  • Destruction of Black Civilization: Great Issues of a Race From 4500 B.C. To 2000 A.D.
  • Yurugu: An African-centered Critique of European Cultural Thought and Behavior
  • Message to the Blackman in America
  • Stokely Speaks: From Black Power to Pan-Africanism
  • Blood in My Eye
  • Brainwashed: Challenging the Myth of Black Inferiority
  • Christopher Columbus and the Afrikan Holocaust: Slavery and the Rise of European Capitalism
  • Before the Mayflower: A History of Black America
  • Haiti: The Tumultuous History - From Pearl of the Caribbean to Broken Nation
28955
Marcus Mosiah Garvey, Jr., National Hero of Jamaica, was a publisher, journalist, entrepreneur, Black Nationalist, Pan-Africanist, and orator. Marcus Garvey was founder of the Universal Negro Improvement Association and African Communities League (UNIA-ACL).

Garvey was unique in advancing a Pan-African philosophy to inspire a global mass movement focusing on Africa known as Garveyism. Promoted by t
...more
More about Marcus Garvey...

Share This Book