Ray, Volume 1
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

Ray, Volume 1

3.57 of 5 stars 3.57  ·  rating details  ·  35 ratings  ·  9 reviews
Ray was bred and raised to be a living, breathing organ donor. After her own eyes were taken from her, a stranger bestows upon her the gift of sight and something extra - she has X-Ray vision! Ten years later, Ray works as a nurse and moonlights as an underground medical doctor performing for-profit, off-the-book medical procedures. But her daily routine is interrupted by...more
Paperback, 208 pages
Published November 1st 2004 by ADV Manga
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Ray, Volume 1, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Ray, Volume 1

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 55)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Dominick Cancilla
If you've read any of the old Black Jack manga about a rogue, mercenary doctor, imagine those. Now imagine that the doctor's a woman who (as a child) was rescued from an organ farm after her eyes were sold, that her replacement eyes give her x-ray vision, and that (as an aside) hospitals are staffed with martial-arts nurses who conveniently wear skirts for the benefit of those who find entertainment in gratuitous panty shots. Got that? Then you've pretty much got a perfect picture of Ray.

If you...more
Lois
Sep 05, 2008 Lois rated it 5 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: Dark Angel fans,medical manga fans
I fell in love with this manga instantaneously. For a while, I had been looking in vain for a series in the vein of Boogiepop Phantom and Serial Experiment Lain. So many mangas have romance or magic, I was looking for something dark and sci-fi. I found it in Ray. The story is about Ray, a girl who was born on a secret "farm" where people's organs were sold. Somehow, she was rescued and given a pair of eyes that have X-Ray vision. Ray is a capable surgeon. Working at a clinic as a nurse, she take...more
Jennifer
I picked up Ray because I really liked Eat Man. The story isn't as enjoyable as Eat Man, but the main characters were very similar. If you enjoyed Eat Man, than Ray should be up your ally.
David
I heard so much about manga, so I decided to try this one after reading about it in the NY Times Book Review, 18 Sept 05. Very disappointing, uninteresting and juvenile. I guess I just don't get it.
Dan
May 14, 2007 Dan rated it 4 of 5 stars
Shelves: manga
A completely over-the-top medical manga featuring a mysterious past, x-ray eyes, and kung-fu nurses. Very entertaining, but don't expect completely accurate medicine.
Christine
Over the top storyline that sounded interesting, but wasn't executed well. If I happen to run across the next volume, I might pick it up.
Peacegal
I liked the premise, but the hospital staffed entirely by super-genius kung-fu high school students was just too much.
Emmy Lou
Really interesting! Too bad there isn't more than one copy in the library system...
Astri
Feb 27, 2009 Astri marked it as to-read
Sadly, out of print...will have to order via ABE.
Courtney
Courtney marked it as to-read
May 20, 2014
Kat Hursh
Kat Hursh marked it as to-read
Mar 19, 2014
F.
F. added it
Jan 07, 2014
JJ
JJ added it
Aug 17, 2012
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
Eat-Man, Vol. 1 Eat-Man, Volume 2: Second Course Ray Volume 2 Ray Volume 3 Eatman Vol. 1

Share This Book

No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »