Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Ray, Volume 1” as Want to Read:
Ray, Volume 1
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Ray, Volume 1 (Ray #1)

3.63  ·  Rating Details  ·  38 Ratings  ·  9 Reviews
Ray was bred and raised to be a living, breathing organ donor. After her own eyes were taken from her, a stranger bestows upon her the gift of sight and something extra - she has X-Ray vision! Ten years later, Ray works as a nurse and moonlights as an underground medical doctor performing for-profit, off-the-book medical procedures. But her daily routine is interrupted by ...more
Paperback, 208 pages
Published November 23rd 2004 by ADV Manga
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Ray, Volume 1, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Ray, Volume 1

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 64)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Dominick Cancilla
Mar 05, 2014 Dominick Cancilla rated it liked it
If you've read any of the old Black Jack manga about a rogue, mercenary doctor, imagine those. Now imagine that the doctor's a woman who (as a child) was rescued from an organ farm after her eyes were sold, that her replacement eyes give her x-ray vision, and that (as an aside) hospitals are staffed with martial-arts nurses who conveniently wear skirts for the benefit of those who find entertainment in gratuitous panty shots. Got that? Then you've pretty much got a perfect picture of Ray.

If you
...more
Lois
Sep 05, 2008 Lois rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: Dark Angel fans,medical manga fans
I fell in love with this manga instantaneously. For a while, I had been looking in vain for a series in the vein of Boogiepop Phantom and Serial Experiment Lain. So many mangas have romance or magic, I was looking for something dark and sci-fi. I found it in Ray. The story is about Ray, a girl who was born on a secret "farm" where people's organs were sold. Somehow, she was rescued and given a pair of eyes that have X-Ray vision. Ray is a capable surgeon. Working at a clinic as a nurse, she take ...more
Jennifer
Aug 31, 2009 Jennifer rated it really liked it
I picked up Ray because I really liked Eat Man. The story isn't as enjoyable as Eat Man, but the main characters were very similar. If you enjoyed Eat Man, than Ray should be up your ally.
David
Aug 14, 2009 David rated it did not like it
Shelves: read-fiction
I heard so much about manga, so I decided to try this one after reading about it in the NY Times Book Review, 18 Sept 05. Very disappointing, uninteresting and juvenile. I guess I just don't get it.
Dan
May 14, 2007 Dan rated it really liked it
Shelves: manga
A completely over-the-top medical manga featuring a mysterious past, x-ray eyes, and kung-fu nurses. Very entertaining, but don't expect completely accurate medicine.
Christine
Dec 30, 2010 Christine rated it liked it
Shelves: ya, own-it
Over the top storyline that sounded interesting, but wasn't executed well. If I happen to run across the next volume, I might pick it up.
Peacegal
Nov 27, 2011 Peacegal rated it it was ok
I liked the premise, but the hospital staffed entirely by super-genius kung-fu high school students was just too much.
Emmy Lou
Really interesting! Too bad there isn't more than one copy in the library system...
Astri
Feb 27, 2009 Astri marked it as to-read
Sadly, out of print...will have to order via ABE.
Pots
Pots added it
Jul 19, 2016
Ellesharin
Ellesharin rated it it was amazing
Dec 19, 2015
Irene
Irene is currently reading it
Oct 09, 2015
Chelsy
Chelsy rated it liked it
Sep 10, 2015
Elvis
Elvis marked it as to-read
Jul 24, 2015
William Thompson
William Thompson marked it as to-read
May 14, 2015
Chloe
Chloe marked it as to-read
May 05, 2015
Phùng Trung Nghĩa
Phùng Trung Nghĩa rated it it was amazing
Mar 09, 2015
Reign
Reign rated it it was ok
Jun 14, 2014
Courtney
Courtney marked it as to-read
May 20, 2014
Fabi Rojas
Fabi Rojas rated it it was amazing
Apr 14, 2014
Kat Hursh
Kat Hursh marked it as to-read
Mar 19, 2014
Cristina Peral
Cristina Peral rated it really liked it
Jan 25, 2014
F.
F. added it
Jan 07, 2014
Miyusav
Miyusav rated it liked it
Dec 30, 2013
Jeejy
Jeejy rated it it was amazing
Oct 27, 2013
Michelle Graf
Michelle Graf rated it it was amazing
Jul 04, 2013
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Other Books in the Series

Ray (7 books)
  • Ray Volume 2
  • Ray Volume 3
  • RAY เรย์ ดวงตาปาฏิหาริย์ # 04
  • RAY เรย์ ดวงตาปาฏิหาริย์ # 05
  • RAY เรย์ ดวงตาปาฏิหาริย์ # 06
  • RAY เรย์ ดวงตาปาฏิหาริย์ # 07

Share This Book



No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »