Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “One True Sentence” as Want to Read:
One True Sentence
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

One True Sentence

by
3.81  ·  Rating Details  ·  74 Ratings  ·  16 Reviews
Paris, 1924. A city teeming with would-be poets, writers, and painters. Hector Lassiter, fledgling author and best friend of Ernest Hemingway, is crossing the Pont Neuf when he hears a body fall into the icy Seine — the first in a string of brutal murders of literary magazine editors that throw a shroud over the City of Light.

Frantic to stop the killings, Gertrude Stein ga
...more
Hardcover, 324 pages
Published February 15th 2011 by Minotaur Books (first published January 1st 2011)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about One True Sentence, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about One True Sentence

The Race for Paris by Meg Waite ClaytonRules of Civility by Amor TowlesLoving Frank by Nancy HoranThe Known World by Edward P. JonesThe Woman in the Photograph by Dana Gynther
Readalikes for The Paris Wife
9th out of 21 books — 12 voters
Les Misérables by Victor HugoA Tale of Two Cities by Charles DickensA Moveable Feast by Ernest HemingwayAnna and the French Kiss by Stephanie PerkinsThe Hunchback of Notre-Dame by Victor Hugo
Best Books Set in Paris
97th out of 189 books — 132 voters


More lists with this book...

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 202)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Karl
Sep 18, 2014 Karl rated it really liked it
Ah life in Paris during the Roaring 20's. At one point I was going to try and keep track of all the famous names that Prance and stumble their way through this book as either minor characters of pass by scribes, poets or painters. Then I cam to the conclusion that was just plane silly. I was a bit surprised how harshly McDonald delt with Aleister Crowley.

As this is the third Lassiter novel it was quite refreshing to find him introduce a fascinating love interest for Lassiter, an author named Bri
...more
Dan Ames
Jul 12, 2011 Dan Ames rated it it was amazing
I loved this book. Fast-paced action, great sex scenes, and an unforgettable setting. Hector Lassiter never lets me down - Craig McDonald makes sure of that. Highly recommended!
V.R. Barkowski
Feb 10, 2015 V.R. Barkowski rated it it was amazing
Set in 1924 Paris amidst a circle of expatriate American novelists and poets, including Ernest Hemingway and Gertrude Stein, McDonald's ONE TRUE SENTENCE is one true original. The novel's hard-drinking, pleasure-seeking protagonist Hector Lassiter is a pulp writer cum sleuth, searching for a serial killer who targets literary editors. Hector is a compelling hero, flawed but with a solid moral center. He understands there is not always a true right or wrong, and even when there is, it may not mea ...more
Jim
Mar 19, 2011 Jim rated it liked it
Shelves: first-reads, mystery
Hector Lassiter or “Lasso” as his best friend Ernest Hemingway calls him, is an American crime writer in 1920’s Paris. Gertrude Stein solicits Hector’s aid in solving a series of murders of literary magazine editors. He becomes a part of her team of sleuths, composed of crime and mystery writers. Lassiter interacts with many notables of the day—Sylvia Beach, Man Ray and Aleister Crowley all make appearances, which adds historical interest to the story.

The mystery was well done—a generally enjoy
...more
Chris Eirschele
Jun 06, 2015 Chris Eirschele rated it it was amazing
One True Sentence was not published first but chronologically it does introduce the main character, Hector Lassiter, and the friendship he has with Hemmingway. This story takes place in Paris in the 1920s when struggling American writers in the "City of Lights" were desperate for acceptance. Craig McDonald's series are set in the places Hemmingway lived, but the stories are pure writer meets detective. In One True Sentence someone is killing publishers and Hem and Lasso are in the thick of findi ...more
Jonathan
Mar 08, 2012 Jonathan rated it really liked it
The Hector Lassiter books by Craig McDonald get points for innovation if nothing else. Lassiter, a pulp crime writer living in Paris during the 1920s, is an invention wholly of McDonald’s own, but the cast of supporting characters are drawn from real life literary figures from the era. Gertrude Stein, Alistair Crowley, Ford Maddox Ford, William Carlos Williams, Ezra Pound—they all make appearances in the novel. Ernest Hemingway is even cast as Hector’s sidekick, a sure bit of revisionist Hagiogr ...more
Kylie Holcombe
Oct 07, 2015 Kylie Holcombe rated it it was ok
an average murder plot with a load of characters, much of whom swing between names, nicknames and aliases, it was quite hard to follow at times. I really didn't like the main characters and had to make myself finish the book.
Dylan
Mar 23, 2011 Dylan rated it really liked it
From the moment I began reading this book, the only thing I thought of was "The Sun Also Rises". I had previously read that book a few months ago and enjoyed it very much, so of course i felt the same about this book. While the writing to me seemed simple it definitely did the job, drawing me in to read page after page. I am not usually big on crime novels and had i not won this i never would've thought to pick it up. Glad I got to read it though, because it really was a good read, kept me on ed ...more
Betty
Apr 21, 2013 Betty rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: crime, france
This audio book was read by an actor who adds his dimension to this intriguing take on 1920s Paris and the literary scene. His pronunciation of French names was close but could have been better. Clever use of famous writers such as Gertrude Stein and Ernest Hemingway as well as using the poet William Carlos Williams as a doctor, which he was (altho I didn't think he spent any time in Paris but I haven't read a full bio so maybe he did). Also good that the author didn't glamorize Paris. Recommend ...more
Erik Deckers
Aug 19, 2014 Erik Deckers rated it it was amazing
My favorite Craig McDonald story, and it has made me a big fan of Hector Lassiter!
Martinet
Sep 15, 2011 Martinet rated it liked it
Fun little mystery, enjoyed the characters (protagonist is a crime writer who's best friends with Hemingway in 1924 Paris), interesting twists. It has made me want to read the others in the series (this is the 4th), as well as The Paris Wife (new novel about Hadley Hemingway). I just have to say, though, that this book had TERRIBLE proofreading--mixing up "your" and "you're" and repeating the misspelling "Madamoiselle" several times, among other sins? The firing of copy editors is not a good ref ...more
Linda
Sep 04, 2014 Linda marked it as to-read
Shelves: fiction
saw in a magazine
Lisaann
Dec 05, 2011 Lisaann rated it it was amazing
Absolutely brilliant. This is the 3rd novel in a series, and I can't wait to read the first two. Bohemian Paris...all the great writers...Hemingway, Stein, the list goes on. It is a bit racy, but a fun read. Craig McDonald keeps you guessing. If you like historicals...this should be on your list.
Rod  Norman
Jun 26, 2011 Rod Norman rated it it was amazing
Shelves:
This is Craig's masterpiece if you ask me, but go back & grab Head Games and then read all the Hector Lassiter's. When you're done go find Craig's book of interviews "Rogue Males" & "Art in the Blood" to see inside some of the best writers of our time.
Bean
Nov 25, 2010 Bean rated it it was amazing
Great mystery, and McDonald is a superb writer. Definitely pick this one up and be transported to 1920s Paris.
Laura
Aug 22, 2013 Laura rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
It started a bit slow, but ended up being very entertaining. I will probably read more of McDonald in the future.
Beiza
Beiza added it
Jan 19, 2016
Katie
Katie added it
Jan 16, 2016
Rosi
Rosi rated it it was ok
Jan 12, 2016
Jean-philippe Guyon
Jean-philippe Guyon marked it as to-read
Dec 23, 2015
Galyn Hembree
Galyn Hembree rated it really liked it
Dec 17, 2015
Jan
Jan marked it as to-read
Nov 17, 2015
David
David marked it as to-read
Oct 27, 2015
Steven West
Steven West marked it as to-read
Oct 13, 2015
Rebekah
Rebekah marked it as to-read
Oct 08, 2015
Kylie Holcombe
Kylie Holcombe marked it as to-read
Sep 14, 2015
JKK
JKK rated it liked it
Feb 05, 2016
Cynthia Kuhn
Cynthia Kuhn marked it as to-read
Aug 22, 2015
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Back to the Best Books
  • Beaufort 1849, a novel of antebellum South Carolina
  • Morning, Noon, and Night: Growing Up and Growing Old with Literature
  • Y is for Yorick: A Slightly Irreverent Shakespearean ABC Book for Grown-Ups
  • From Then to Now: A Short History of the World
  • Falling Sideways
  • Z 2 A
  • Pitchforks and Torches: The Worst of the Worst, from Beck, Bill, and Bush to Palin and Other Posturing Republicans
  • Art and Madness: A Memoir of Lust Without Reason
  • Drinking with Miss Dutchie: A Memoir
  • Struck by Living: From Depression to Hope
  • The Ballad of Bob Dylan
  • The Shakespeare Manuscript
  • Mostly Rapscallions: Salient Sillies about the Rich and Infamous in History
  • Finding Emilie
  • Juno's Daughters: A Novel
  • The Other Rembrandt
  • We Have Met the Enemy: Self-Control in an Age of Excess
824940
Edgar/Anthony-nominee Craig McDonald is an award-winning novelist, editor and journalist. His internationally acclaimed Hector Lassiter series includes "One True Sentence," "Forever's Just Pretend," "Toros & Torsos," "The Great Pretender," "Roll the Credits," "The Running Kind," "Print the Legend," "Three Chords & the Truth," "Write From Wrong," and "Head Games," which was a finalist for t ...more
More about Craig McDonald...

Share This Book