Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Great Wall of Lucy Wu” as Want to Read:
The Great Wall of Lucy Wu
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Great Wall of Lucy Wu

by
3.97 of 5 stars 3.97  ·  rating details  ·  1,470 ratings  ·  231 reviews
In this humorous and heartfelt debut about a split cultural identity, nothing goes according to plan for sixth-grader Lucy Wu.

Lucy Wu, aspiring basketball star and interior designer, is on the verge of having the best year of her life. She's ready to rule the school as a sixth grader and take over the bedroom she has always shared with her sister. In an instant, though, he
...more
Hardcover, 312 pages
Published January 1st 2011 by Scholastic Press
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Great Wall of Lucy Wu, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Great Wall of Lucy Wu

Okay for Now by Gary D. SchmidtA Monster Calls by Patrick NessWonderstruck by Brian SelznickDivergent by Veronica RothInside Out & Back Again by Thanhha Lai
Newbery 2012
36th out of 169 books — 694 voters
Divergent by Veronica RothUnearthly by Cynthia HandAcross the Universe by Beth RevisWither by Lauren DeStefanoAngelfire by Courtney Allison Moulton
2011 Debut Authors (Young Adult and Middle Grade Lit.)
121st out of 377 books — 2,235 voters


More lists with this book...

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 2,971)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Ms. Simeon
As a child I was an insatiable reader. I started reading very early and I have read nonstop ever since. Reading was an education, a comfort and an escape. In fact I passionately devoured so many classics from the British Isles that when I finally landed in Wales at the age of 16 it felt more like a homecoming than an adventure abroad! However, in all the thousands of pages I consumed in my youth and the millions of virtual miles travelled, I never once encountered a child like myself – one who w ...more
Ari
It was SO refreshing to read a middle grade book where the main character was so..so...normal, in the middle (although in the book she is the youngest), flawed but seriously lovable. Furthermore, it was a bit of relief to find a book where the Chinese parents weren't so strict, they had rules but they weren't trying to stop their kids from having a social life. The family life is realistic and heartwarming. I love reading about connections with older adults/older family members.

And surprise ther
...more
Wendy
Loved this. Surely one of the best, if not THE best, school stories I've read in ages. I liked it so much I'm actually going to blog about it.
Beth G.
Who did Regina think she was, telling me how or how not to be Chinese?

Lucy Wu is all set to have the best year of her life. Her older sister, Regina, is going off to college. Not only will Lucy get out of the shadow the Perfect Chinese Daughter, but she will also get their shared bedroom all to herself. She's looking forward to starting sixth grade and being among the oldest kids in the school, playing basketball, and having a big joint-birthday Halloween bash with her best friend, Madison.

And t
...more
Katie Lebkuecher
1. Text-to-Text Connection: In many ways Lucy reminds me of Auggie from Wonder. Both characters struggle with accepting who they are, and both characters get bullied by a peer. In The Great Wall of Lucy Wu, Lucy struggles to accept her Chinese ancestry and wants her family to be more like the families of her non-Chinese peers; in Wonder, Auggie struggles to accept his appearance and wants to be accepted by his peers. Both characters also get bullied by a peer. Lucy is bullied by Sloane as they b ...more
Audrey
I'm not done with this book because I can't finish it. Lucy is the most conceited, self absorbed brat ever. There was like a million cliques and it was so hard to get through! I just stopped reading.
Brandy Painter
Originally posted here.

It is rare for me to pick up a book anymore that I have no preconceived notions about. It is hard not to develop some about almost any book when I read so many blogs. I was very excited when I saw The Great Wall of Lucy Wu by Wendy Wan-Long Shang on the new arrivals shelf at my library. I had seen it mentioned in a couple of comments at Heavy Medal but knew nothing else about it. Just the title. It was a lovely experience going into the story not knowing what to expect. I
...more
Ms. Yingling
In this excellent realistic fiction novel, Lucy is going to have the best year ever in the 6th grade, but things get off to a rocky start. A great-aunt is going to come from China and live in her room, she has to go to Chinese school, and she has to deal with the evil Sloane who is challenging her to be captain of the 6th grade basketball team. Luckily, she has a great friend, a crush that just might work out, and a good sense of humor to get her through it all.

Strengths: After I finished readin
...more
Sara
Jun 03, 2011 Sara added it
Made me laugh? Yup.

Made me cry? Yup.

Made me want to use the words "Judy Blume" in this review? Yup.

Sixth-grader Lucy Wu is obsessed with basketball and hopes to play for legendary UT Lady Vols coach Pat Summit one day. But that's a long ways off. For now, she's short, being forced to go to Chinese school, and in an extended battle with mean girl Sloane---who puts crickets in Lucy's lemon chicken. To top it off, she has to share her bedroom with her non-English speaking, Vapor Rub odor-emitting,
...more
Cookav
I really loved this book! The beginning of the book starts off with Lucy Wu, an aspiring basketball player. But when her Great Aunt comes from China,her year starts off badly. She dislikes having to speak in Chinese all the time and hates when she has to trade basketball practices for Chinese school.

I really enjoyed the book because it was easy to relate to Lucy. I got attached to the cast of characters quickly, and the plot kept me reading on.
Melody
This book is so good on many levels. Unlike a lot of the MG stuff I've read in the last year or so, I think that this will actually appeal to the target audience. The characters are warm and believable and the sixth-grade narrator's voice is the most authentic I've come across in ... maybe ever. I bought it all, though I saw it all coming. Well, most of it.

There's a mean girl, and though I mostly don't like books with mean girls, this one felt way more real. I keep coming back to that, the realn
...more
Jamie
What a delight! This book is perfect for the older elementary age group, a group that kind of falls through the cracks as everything is for "tweens." Lucy and her family are totally assimilated Chinese Americans, but Lucy's parents want her to go to Chinese school, when she would rather play basketball. No stereotypes here at all, but real live people, even the secondary characters.

Can I also say that Lucy and her friend Madison are such well drawn characters that when their birthdays are mentio
...more
Abby Johnson
Relatable and realistic, this is a fresh, funny debut from an author I'm definitely going to be watching.

The style and realistic protagonist reminded me of the Judy Blume books I so loved when I was a kid (think Blubber or Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing, not Forever...). I think it would make a great readalike to Millicent Min, Girl Genius and Stanford Wong Flunks Big Time, both by Lisa Yee and I'd also try it on fans of Andrew Clements' realistic fiction.

More on the blog: http://www.abbytheli
...more
Deann
Apr 24, 2015 Deann added it
Shelves: multicultural
The Great Wall of Lucy Wu by Wendy Wan-Long Shang Intermediate book

Text to World: This is a great book there are so many different teaching points in this story. In the story The Great Wall of Lucy Wu, a girl, Lucy, is losing her native Chinese language. The book starts where she is going to a Chinese restaurant for dinner for a birthday party by her dad’s first cousin. Most of the people in the room are speaking Chinese. Lucy shows she does not know some of the Chinese customs by sitting in the
...more
M.
Lucy, age 11, is the youngest of the three Wu children. She’s very much looking forward to having her own room, to not being constantly disparaged, when her older sister leaves for college, and she’s looking forward to her basketball team and to 6th grade with her best friend Madison.

Everything changes when Lucy’s parents invite Yi Po, Lucy’s grandmother’s younger sister, to visit their family from China. Yi Po will share Lucy’s room for several months. Yi Po will speak Chinese. Yi Po will not b
...more
Evelyn Tapia
The Great Wall Of Lucy Wu by Wendy Wan-Long Shang
This book is appropriate for a 3rd grade classroom to read for fun. In here you learn Chinese and the brief history about the discrimination Chinese people faced such as war and famine. All this ties into the life of an 11 year old who learns to appreciate who she is and who she has in her life.

The story revolves amongst Lucy Wu a fifth grader going into sixth grade pretty soon. Her plans for the future is to become a basketball player and open a
...more
Alma D.
When i found this on Goodreads (I genuinely thank this website very much for the source of all my favorite books) i had two thoughts:

1) I MUST get this book now

and

2) I can totally relate to this girl.

Because for me, the recipe for a great middle grade realistic fiction book is a relatable character. And after the first page, I was hooked.

Being Asian-American myself, I found so many similarities between Lucy and me as a child. I didn't like all the Indonesian dishes i encountered. My parents enco
...more
Helen
This is a realistic fiction book about a 12 year old Chinese American girl. We follow along for 5 months in the life of Lucy Wu as she struggles with all the angst of middle school, with the additioal aspect of being Chinese American.

Lucy shares a room with her "perfect" older sister, Regina. Regina embraces her cultural heritage - speaks Chinese, enjoys authentic Chinese food, and single handedly starts the Chinese Language and Cultural Society at school. Lucy, on the other hand, likes Chinese
...more
Mehsi
I am not sure if I liked the book or hated it. So 2 stars for now.

Sorry, but Lucy was for most of the book a whiny, conceited little brat. She started to change around halfway, but sorry, that won't save the book any more for me.

I really wanted to slap Lucy and tell her to just look at the good things instead of focussing on everything that is OH SO BAD, boohoo.

Sure her parents also aren't that great, not telling Lucy about things, or having high expectations of her. And Regina, gosh I was so h
...more
Chelsea Cleek
Lucy Wu is a sixth grade Chinese-American but doesn't really care much about the Chinese aspect of her life. She doesn't like Chinese food, barely speaks Chinese and loves basketball when she is expected to excel in some subject in school. She thinks she is going to have the perfect year but then she finds out her great-aunt from china is coming to stay. In the story Lucy is discovering how she fits into her Chinese culture and basketball.

This story is a great story to learn a bit about the Chin
...more
Kailey
Remembering: Name two things that threaten Lucy's best year of her life?
Understanding:What was the main idea in The Great Wall of Lucy Wu?
Applying: Think of a situation that occurred in the story and tell what you would have done. Lucy is frustrated at sharing a room with Yi Po and builds a Great Wall down the middle of her bedroom to show how frustrated she is. What would you have done if you were in Lucy's situation? What are some other options that Lucy could have taken to signify her frustra
...more
Whitney Taylor
1. Describe a memorable scene or turning point in Lucy's school experience.

2. Give examples or quotes of how Lucy thought "the best year of her life" was turning for the worst.

3. In real life, how would you help prepare students like Lucy to overcome bullying and cultural issues?

4. Identify the different characters in The Great Wall of Lucy Wu and how they are affected by Lucy's growth as a sixth grader.

5. Write and develop a plan giving advice which can help you solve situations with bullying f
...more
Jennifer Nguyen
1. Describe a memorable scene or turning point in Lucy's school experience.

2. Give examples or quotes of how Lucy thought "the best year of her life" was turning for the worst.

3. In real life, how would you help prepare students like Lucy to overcome bullying and cultural issues?

4. Identify the different characters in The Great Wall of Lucy Wu and how they are affected by Lucy's growth as a sixth grader.

5. Write and develop a plan giving advice which can help you solve situations with bullying f
...more
Donalyn
I enjoyed this funny, sweet middle grade novel about Lucy Wu and her less than perfect sixth grade year.
Vcchen
Good read wether your Asian or not

This is a great book for Asian kids. especially chinese kids, they can relate to chinese school and being pressured to quit sports for something more academic. But you can also relate if your not chinese, how your must include people, or giving others a second chance. This is a GREAT book, I wish I could give it a ten star but the highest this goes is five, so I guess that's all I have t o show how much I love this book. 100% going on my favorites list. You shou
...more
Natalie
I think that The Great Wall of Lucy Wu was a great story. I read it in less than a weak and was easily able to enjoy the light story. Lucy is going into her sixth grade year and has high expectations. Her sister Regina is leaving for college so Lucy wants to decorate the room that is now her's. She also has high expectations for basketball. When she finds out that her great aunt Yi Po is coming, Lucy's year takes a turn for the worst. Lucy must learn to be proud of her Chinese culture. In the en ...more
Charlotte
I loved this book. I read it out loud to my 7, 9, and 11yo. It is about Lucy Wu who loves basketball, has a perfect sister, and Chinese immigrant family. She is about to have the perfect year, until she finds out she is being forced to go to Chinese school. And she will have to share her room with her Grandmother's sister who is visiting for the year from China.

This book is about discovering who you are and what is really important. Lucy is funny and written in a voice the kids can understand. I
...more
Julia
The Great Wall Of Lucy Wu follows Lucy Wu, basketball prodigy. Lucy has organized the perfect year, well how can it not be perfect? Her big sister Regina is leaving for college, so that means she has her own room! She's going to have the perfect party with her perfect best friend. And she can't wait for the perfect basketball season.

But then her long lost great aunt is coming all the way from China, and guess where she's sleeping? Lucy's room! And since her aunt is going to be at the house she c
...more
BAYA Librarian
Lucy Wu's sixth grade year is going to be the best. She'll finally have her own room, as her bossy older sister leaves for college. She and her friends will rule the elementary school and the basketball court. But nothing goes as planned. Yi Po, a distant relative, arrives from China and takes over part of Lucy's room. Her parents push her into Chinese school and away from basketball. And, to make matters worse, she draws the attention of the school bully. To illustrate her frustration, Lucy bui ...more
Doret
After Cal's parents get divorced, his mother gets full custody of Cal, Doran and Rachel. Cal a senior in high school is the oldest. The four move back to the Utah reservation Cal's mother grew up on. They move in with Raymond their grandfather. Cal is half native American. Though he has never been exposed to that part of his heritage. When Mona was a teenager, her sister Jackie died under mysterious causes. Cal is detemined to find out what really happened.

When they get to the reservation, Cal d
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 99 100 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Warp Speed
  • The PS Brothers
  • When Life Gives You O.J.
  • Summer at Forsaken Lake
  • Flying the Dragon
  • Dumpling Days
  • Saint Louis Armstrong Beach
  • Ghetto Cowboy
  • A Dog's Way Home
  • The Friendship Doll
  • Clara Lee and the Apple Pie Dream
  • Hound Dog True
  • The Unforgotten Coat
  • Marty McGuire
  • The Grand Plan to Fix Everything
  • Penny Dreadful
  • Wild Wings
  • Jeremy Bender vs. the Cupcake Cadets
4102055
My parents, who grew up in China, had no favorite books from their childhood to share with me, which left me to my own devices in the library. When I mentioned this to a friend, she was a bit stunned, and I understood this reaction. I certainly never felt deprived as a child, but as a parent, it's hard to imagine not having that link.

My own book is about finding the stories we discover about our f
...more
More about Wendy Wan-Long Shang...
The Way Home Looks Now

Share This Book