Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Dracula vs. Grampa at the Monster Truck Spectacular (Wiley & Grampa's Creature Features, #1)” as Want to Read:
Dracula vs. Grampa at the Monster Truck Spectacular (Wiley & Grampa's Creature Features, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Dracula vs. Grampa at the Monster Truck Spectacular (Wiley & Grampa's Creature Features #1)

4.10  ·  Rating Details  ·  146 Ratings  ·  23 Reviews
When Grampa and Wiley sneak out of the house on a stormy Halloween night to attend Colonel Dracula's Monster Truck Spectacular, they run into trouble from which only Gramma and an F5 tornado can save them.
ebook
Published December 14th 2008 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers (first published 2006)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

Be the first to ask a question about Dracula vs. Grampa at the Monster Truck Spectacular

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 255)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Chris
Excellent!
_____

"Wiley," said Grampa, "if we wanna make it to the truck show in time, we're gonna have to cut through those woods."

"You mean those dark, scary, wild animal-infested woods?" I asked nervously.

"Why, that's the best kind, my boy!"
_____

Inside, the place was a madhouse, stuffed to the brim with freaky people.

"Grampa," I said, "all these fans look pretty weird."

"It's Halloween, Wiley!" said Grampa. "Everyone's wearing costumes . . . or just really ugly."
_____

Vlad, the Impala!
_____

"Don't
...more
Monster
During a stormy Halloween night, overcoming a F5 Tornado and an angry Gramma, Wiley and his Grampa take a break from their monster movie marathon to go to the Monster Truck Spectacular, a monster truck show put on by Colonel Dracula. Once there they are invited by Dracula to visit his backstage lair where thrills and chills await them. Kirk Scroggs includes the proper mix of monster and humor in both story and art. While kids may not get all the jokes and references, the adults sure will, which ...more
Philip Virta
Nov 30, 2015 Philip Virta rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Just plain fun! Irreverent humor, monsters, and pork cracklins; who could ask for more?
Kathie
Jan 24, 2015 Kathie rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: kids-books
This will be an easy sell!
Tatia
Feb 10, 2014 Tatia rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Best book ever
Earline
Aug 12, 2015 Earline rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Scroggs writing is totally my style. I loved the over-the-top story and characters, and enjoyed reading this book out loud. With lots of pictures to compliment the text, it is a very quick read with lots of funny puns and jokes. It's nice to read a funny children's book that is witty rather than relying on potty humor.
Vonnegut
Apr 22, 2010 Vonnegut rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I looooooooooooove this book! It is soooooooo cool. If I could well, that is, if you could give them whatever stars you want, how many numbers there are, how much you can think of, I here would give that book 99 thousand and 99 thousand and 99 thousand infinity.
Molly
Great read alike for the Captain Underpants/ Lenny and Mel/ or any good funny boy beginning chapter book. Funny pictures great story and a cover that really does not need me to help sell it to any audience. Grades 2+
Jay
Oct 24, 2011 Jay rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: audiobook
Short, but very very funny. I have finally found a book series that might be able to run against the Junie B. Jones books. Oh, these books would still lose to Junie, but at least they'd try to compete.
Julie
The "Wiley and Grampa" series was recommended over and over to me by a third grade boy and i could TOTALLY see why. Fans of Captain Underpants will enjoy these short (sometimes gross) chapter books.
Tai Alexandria
Feb 16, 2009 Tai Alexandria rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
this book was very interesting you would think that the granpa being so old he would be aware of his surrounding and teach wiley that too
Umar
May 14, 2011 Umar rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
this book was a kind of freaky book. Dracula's married to i think gram pa's wife. it is so mest up

ps im married to a ghost
Trevor
Apr 20, 2008 Trevor rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: kid_lit
Pure fun through and through -- gives new meaning to the phrase, "monster truck" if you catch my drift!

Jami
Aug 14, 2010 Jami rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: childrens
Funny in a totally ridiculous way that gets my 8 year old son excited to read, and want to read more!
Yasmin
May 02, 2011 Yasmin rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This is a very funny kids' book with adorable characters and drawings.
I hope to read the whole series.
Kristin
Fans of Captain Underpants or American/Michigan Chillers will enjoy this one.
Darin
Feb 28, 2013 Darin rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
My seven year old twins loved listening to this one.
whitney
Oct 18, 2007 whitney rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: people with 14 minutes to kill.
shocking and wonderful. grandpa kicked that vampire's ass!
Tai
Mar 07, 2009 Tai rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
all i can say is this book was hilarious
Sisp4c_ryanlee
Sep 21, 2009 Sisp4c_ryanlee rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
great!It was a nice story
Erika
Aug 11, 2007 Erika rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
This was a funny book! :D
Erin
Apr 30, 2009 Erin rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: childrens
Kind of funny.
Karen Estevez
Karen Estevez marked it as to-read
Feb 08, 2016
Eddie
Eddie rated it it was amazing
Feb 07, 2016
Elsa
Elsa rated it it was amazing
Feb 02, 2016
Annalie Plaetz
Annalie Plaetz rated it it was ok
Jan 28, 2016
Filipina
Filipina marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2016
Sandy
Sandy marked it as to-read
Jan 22, 2016
Andrew Vickers
Andrew Vickers marked it as to-read
Jan 21, 2016
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Thuggin In Miami (The Family Is Made : Part 1)
  • The Hero Revealed (The Extraordinary Adventures of Ordinary Boy, #1)
  • The Fairies of Nutfolk Wood
  • My Life with the Lincolns
  • Under the Baseball Moon
  • So, You Want to Be a Chef?: How to Get Started in the World of Culinary Arts
  • The White Horse Trick (New Policeman, #3)
  • Stealing Air
  • Chasing Tail Lights
  • The Vampire Bunny (Bunnicula and Friends, #1)
  • House of Dance
  • Thieves Like Us (Thieves Like Us, #1)
  • My Life as a Cartoonist
  • Nurk: The Strange, Surprising Adventures of a (Somewhat) Brave Shrew
  • The Roy Stories
  • Second Impact
  • Jacob's Ladder
  • Super Chicken Nugget Boy and the Furious Fry

Other Books in the Series

Wiley & Grampa's Creature Features (10 books)
  • Grampa's Zombie BBQ (Wiley & Grampa's Creature Features, #2)
  • Monster Fish Frenzy (Wiley & Grampa's Creature Features, #3)
  • Super Soccer Freak Show (Wiley & Grampa's Creature Features, #4)
  • Bigfoot Backpacking Bonanza (Wiley & Grampa's Creature Features, #5)
  • Hair Ball from Outer Space (Wiley & Grampa's Creature Features, #6)
  • Night of the Living Eggnog (Wiley & Grampa's Creature Features, #7)
  • Phantom of the Waterpark  (Wiley & Grampa's Creature Features, #8)
  • Curse of the Kitty Litter (Wiley & Grampa's Creature Features, #9)
  • Jurassic Grampa (Wiley & Grampa's Creature Features, #10)

Share This Book