Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Molly: An American Girl : 1944 (The American Girls Collection)” as Want to Read:
Molly: An American Girl : 1944 (The American Girls Collection)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Molly: An American Girl : 1944 (American Girls: Molly #1-6)

3.94 of 5 stars 3.94  ·  rating details  ·  3,958 ratings  ·  97 reviews
Molly is a lively, lovable schemer and dreamer growing up in 1944. Her stories describe her life on the home front during World War Two. Molly doesn't like many of the changes the war has brought, and she especially misses her father, who is away caring for wounded soldiers. But Molly learns the importance of getting along and pulling together -- just as her country has to ...more
Paperback, 398 pages
Published September 1st 1990 by American Girl (first published 1986)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Molly, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Molly

Little House on the Prairie by Laura Ingalls WilderAnne of Green Gables by L.M. MontgomeryLittle Women by Louisa May AlcottThe Witch of Blackbird Pond by Elizabeth George SpeareThe Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett
Best Children's Historical Fiction
41st out of 501 books — 561 voters
The Magic of Finkleton by K.C. HiltonCharlotte's Web by E.B. WhiteThe Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson BurnettMatilda by Roald DahlNate Rocks the World by Karen Pokras Toz
Books for nine-year-olds
42nd out of 404 books — 274 voters


More lists with this book...

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 3,000)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Sarah Evans
To my husband's shock, the boys and I listened to this collection on audio. But she's not too girly and the boys love stories set in WWII. Not that the boys will be asking for her doll for Christmas or anything.

The writing and stories actually exceeded my expectations. I guess I was being snobby because of the whole doll tie-in and everything. But this is a solid early chapter book series. Molly's character is realistic and matures nicely over the course of the books. While we don't get to know
...more
Sara
I used this title to review a book my great-grandmother wrote and had published titled, "Just Molly." Her name was Marguerite Nye Bell and the book was published in 1980. You can actually search for it on Amazon and it will list some places you can buy it used. So, it is a real book, even if Goodreads says it isn't.
I have had a copy of this book in my possession for most of my life, although I never read it in its entirety until about five or six years ago. I just reread it on the heels of Half-
...more
Kathryn Herbert
Molly: An American Girl Doll is a children’s historical fiction book written by Valerie Tripp. Tripp, who is best known for her work with the American Girl series, wrote many of the books in the Felicity, Josefina, Kit, Molly, and Samantha series. Growing up in 1944, Molly is a 10 year old girl with a scheming but lovable personality. Molly: An American Girl Doll describes the ups and downs of life and lessons learned by Molly, who is living on the home front during World War Two. With Molly’s f ...more
Kayla Dunbar
All of the American Girl Dolls books are very interesting. They create a different type of book for readers. Each girl has her own story and many different things happen to them. They each have their own trials that they go through. The American Girl Collection gives readers someone that they can relate to. They represent girls from all over. The girl I chose to read in particular was Molly. I chose her because she is from Ohio like I am and I felt I could relate to her. I think that this will c ...more
Natasha
Of all the American Girl books, Molly's stories were the ones that bridged the generation gap between me and my mom. She and I cried together at Changes for Molly and laughed ourselves silly at Meet Molly. Changes for Molly still brings a tear to my eye with a re-read as a young adult. It probably always will.
Libby
I got this series intending to read it out loud to my 4-year old daughter, but my 6-year old son loved listening to it as well! (and I didn't mind reading it, unlike Magic Treehouse books. The dialogue is sooo annoying in those...) I was really surprised that he would enjoy them beforehand, but after reading it, it's not overtly "girly", despite being for "american girls". We are going to read the Felicity series next and he is looking forward to it just as much as she is. I think it's a great i ...more
Annalise
Sep 18, 2007 Annalise rated it 5 of 5 stars
Recommends it for: girls 7 to 15
Shelves: american-girls
Molly is just a fun girl trying to do her part to help with world war II.
Callie Stillion
This was one of the hardest books ever to rate. It had books I loved, and books that I didn`t like as much. But one of the best things was I can say "I`ve read all of the American Girl Doll Molly books!" and then explain it was in 1 book.
I think overall the way that they introduce Molly in the Molly series is creative, but a little rude. "You can`t leave until you finish your turnips!" And Molly`s response is autimatically no.
Overall the books were good, but it depended on the book, and that`s
...more
Taylor
Mar 15, 2009 Taylor added it
molly M.cintine life is full of change. her dad is at war, and her mom works at the red cross. The whole world is at war, so life is hard for molly. But she makes the best of it. Such as in the first book meet molly, molly and her family doesn't have much money so her halloween costume will have to do with what they already have. in molly learns a lesson, it is mostly about how her and her friends do a secret project for the schools lend a hand project. in molly's surprise, they face a disappoin ...more
Rachel
Molly was my favorite, my baby, my American Girl doll who actually brought me closer to my grandmother and her own experiences of growing up during World War II. When I was a young American Girl, Molly's story was the most contemporary, which made her the most accessible to me (though sometimes, I wished I'd chosen something with a little more of that fantastical, historical feeling!) Molly's life was a lot like mine, actually- her mother worked, she went to school to learn English and Math, she ...more
Allison Webster
This set of books belongs to the genre of junior historical fiction.

This set of books describes the life, trials, and lessons learned by young Molly, who is growing up during the times of the second world war. She lives a life with her father fighting the war abroad and her family and herself fighting the war at home.

The areas for critique is characterization. Molly is a young woman growing up in hard times. However throughout her series, she learns many life lessons and grows up a stronger wo
...more
Audrey
Man, the American Girls Collection was the shit when I was growing up. These books and the Little House books got me hooked on history starting from age seven. The nerding started early. I remember my mother getting pissed off at me because I kept re-reading these books over and over again, cycling through them. As soon as I finished the Felicity books, I would start the Kirsten books. After Kirsten, the Samantha books. After Samantha, Molly. (At the time, there were only four American Girls). T ...more
Heather McCormick
Genesis! What better way than get kids interested in books by marketing it along with a popular toy. These books were deeper than just the character and the doll, they were centered on a certain time period. The books had historical facts and told of the lives and troubles of the young women in that period.
Deepali Jain
I think My daughter loved it.. She is adding a collection of American Girl series each year to her collection for the last few years now.. Currently 10yrs old. I would highly recommend it for girls, all kids and to read a a family as well.. :-)
Maymuna
I liked this book because one of them is really funny. Molly's 12 year old brother, he had played a prank on Molly and her friends, so they were going to play a prank on HIM. So what they did was, they collected all his underwear, and then one of her friends has gotten her brother distracted by basketball and so he didn't know what was coming down. Her sister Jill and her friend left to go out, and then Molly and her friend said "I see England, I see France, I see Ricky's underpants!" and they t ...more
Cat
Maybe I'm Bias as a Brit,(although i don't think so because i loved Felicity and her story, and she was a traitor to the crown! :P haha! :) ) but i found the whole series patronising and inaccurate. I didn't like it as much as any of the other American Girl series and it went straight in the Bin, which is a shame because it was bloody expensive but i just found it no where near as good as the others and molly's view on the war was rediculous, and the idea that they would have had an english evac ...more
Kit
Oh, Molly. She got the short end of the stick in just about every aspect. Goofy glasses? Check. Middle child? Check. Attractive siblings who look nothing like her? Check. Sigh. I still liked her though. I remember putting my damp hair up in pin curls so that I could look like her when she transformed herself for some pageant. But did I look like a lovely young girl with flowing waves the following morning? Ha. All I ended up with was a very raw scalp and an uncanny resemblance to a young Medusa. ...more
Maggie Wiggins
I had the Molly doll growing up, but more because of her glasses than because of her era. I enjoyed Tripp's depiction of a large family (or what I thought of as a big family; I'm an only child), as well as how modern the setting was. She was most relatable to me because I thought of her as possibly a potential older relative. She and I both had modern appliances! We both had wire framed glasses and electricity! It's the little things here, people.

Readalikes: Dear America Series, American Sister
...more
Kristen
Molly was my favorite American Girl and she's the only one of the original three who won't be retired by the time Kate turns six (the magic birthday where she gets to pick out an AG doll.) I figured she was the natural girl to start with. At first, Kate and Lexi weren't that interested, it took the whole first book for them to get into it but they got hooked. Kate definitely picked up some residual knowledge of WWII. Happy Birthday, Molly (where Emily comes to stay) was probably their favorite o ...more
Teri
I've heard a lot of great things about the American Girl series--but I am quite disappointed. I REALLY disliked how cliquey and catty the girls in the book were. Isn't this exactly what we'd like our girls NOT to be? I appreciated the historical aspect of it all (this book takes place during WWII) but it doesn't compensate for the lack of good character I was expecting.

Our library has this on audio CD and my girls really loved listening to it--but I'm not going to be too anxious to pick up anot
...more
Ace
Oh my gosh! Love these books!
Sarah Sdr
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Rebekah
I loved this books as a wee girl. I think Molly's camping adventure was my favorite. I mean come on, she stuffed worms down her shirt to win and got poison ivy for it. I probably read it about once a month in 4th grade, mostly because I had read everything in the library after being in the same school for 4 years and there was nothing else to read. Felicity was also a favorite and, well I guess I really liked all of them. I own Kit.
Princess
I love these books! Molly is a 10 year old girl living during world war 2. I like it because there are all sorts of problems in her life, but she always finds a way through. There are shortages of everything, and her dad is a doctor working in England, She has two annoying brothers, and an older sister who barely pays any attention to her. Molly is an example to me, and I think Valerie Tripp is a great writer.
Gina
This was the first American Girl series I read, and I read it with my daughter. We loved it. There was a lot of good information about being a child during WW2 and what life was like on the homefront. It was really cool that my dad was the exact age Molly would have been. My 7 year old daughter was able to visit with her grandfather about his memories of that time.
Kristy
Of all the classic American Girls, I most connected with Felicity and Molly. Felicity had a dramatic streak to her though, so I dug Molly's sense of humor and freshness a lot. I like the way she bonds with other girls in a positive way and always tries to make a bad situation good. She doesn't shy away from her own frustration, and she's not embarrassed to shine.
Anne
Aug 12, 2008 Anne rated it 4 of 5 stars  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Trish
Just when I thought I had decided which American Girls to get for my young friends for Christmas! I adored these stories--Trish, I'm with you, Molly is the best (so far). Her adventures remind me of some of my own childhood hijinks, and I believe the way Tripp writes about WWII makes war sound as horrible as it really is without being too scary for young readers.
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 99 100 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
MCC Children's Li...: Molly: An American Girl 1 1 Feb 26, 2012 08:11PM  
  • Kirsten's Boxed Set (The American Girls Collection/Boxed Set)
  • Addy: An American Girl (Boxed Set) (American Girls Collection)
  • Rebecca: An American Girl (Rebecca #1-6)
  • Julie: An American Girl (American Girls: Julie, #1-6)
  • A Spy on the Home Front: A Molly Mystery (American Girl Mysteries)
  • The Curse of Ravenscourt: A Samantha Mystery (American Girl Mysteries)
  • The Night Flyers (American Girl History Mysteries, #3)
  • Clues in the Shadows: A Molly Mystery (American Girl Mysteries)
  • Welcome to Felicity's World · 1774: Growing Up in Colonial America (American Girls Collection)
  • Riddle of the Prairie Bride (American Girl History Mysteries, #12)
  • Under Copp's Hill (American Girl History Mysteries, #8)
  • Cecile: Gates of Gold (Girls of Many Lands, France)
  • Kathleen: The Celtic Knot
  • Meet Samantha: An American Girl (American Girls: Samantha, #1)
26735
Valerie Tripp is a children's book author, best known for her work with the American Girl series.

She grew up in Mount Kisco, New York with three sisters. She is a reading expert with a Reading Master’s of Education degree from Harvard University. Since 1985 she has lived in Silver Spring, Maryland. Her husband teaches history at Montgomery College. She has been a writer for reading textbooks for t
...more
More about Valerie Tripp...

Other Books in the Series

American Girls: Molly (7 books)
  • Meet Molly: An American Girl (American Girls: Molly, #1)
  • Molly Learns a Lesson: A School Story (American Girls: Molly, #2)
  • Molly's Surprise: A Christmas Story (American Girls: Molly, #3)
  • Happy Birthday, Molly: A Springtime Story (American Girls: Molly, #4)
  • Molly Saves the Day: A Summer Story (American Girls: Molly, #5)
  • Changes for Molly: A Winter Story (American Girls: Molly, #6)
  • Brave Emily (American Girls: Molly)
Meet Felicity: An American Girl (The American Girls: Felicity, #1) Meet Molly: An American Girl (American Girls: Molly, #1) Samantha's Boxed Set (The American Girls Collection/Boxed Set) Felicity: An American Girl (The American Girls Collection) Meet Kit: An American Girl 1934 (American Girls: Kit, #1)

Share This Book