Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Princess (Ascension Trilogy, #2)” as Want to Read:
Princess (Ascension Trilogy, #2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Princess (Ascension Trilogy #2)

by
3.89  ·  Rating Details ·  1,537 Ratings  ·  74 Reviews
Dear Reader,

I'm so proud to introduce Gaelen Foley, a captivating new writer who will sweep you away with this unforgettable story of forbidden love and wondrous destiny.

Darius Santiago is the King's most trusted man, a master spy and assassin. He is handsome, charming, ruthless, and he has one weakness--the stunning Princess Serafina. She is all he has ever wanted and eve
...more
Kindle Edition, 418 pages
Published (first published June 28th 1999)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Princess, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Princess

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Yolanda
Nov 28, 2016 Yolanda rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
4,5
me ha encantado, es precioso
Crista
May 19, 2010 Crista rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 4-star, historical, series
If I could give this book 4 1/2 stars I would. I rated the Pirate Prince a 5 star and this is not quite up to the first installation of this trilogy, however, it is excellent and worth your time.

We met Darius in the Pirate Prince and now 20 years have past. He is now the King's most trusted spy and almost "son". He has many "issues" from his past, but unfortunately they are only describe in about 1 page towards the end. It would've been great if Foley would've given more of Darius's history so
...more
Caz
Oct 17, 2014 Caz rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
I've given this a B for narration and a C- at AAR, which equated to a C+ overall, so I'm leaving it at 3 stars.

There may possibly be some snark within :P

Originally published in 1999, Gaelen Foley’s Princess is the second book in her Ascension trilogy and contains enough cheese to keep several branches of McDonald’s going for the next decade.

It’s very much a romance in the Old-Skool vein, set in an exotic location (an island off the Italian coast), with a youthful, impossibly beautiful yet schola
...more
Sophie ♥
There were so many things I loved about this book. I suppose it was one of those books that just worked for me. It's not one of those books I would heartily recommend to everyone, but one I enjoyed immensely because it seemed to contain all the elements that I look for in a historical romance. One thing worth pointing out is that the sex scenes were the most SENSUAL non-erotica ones I have ever read. Wow. Wow. Wow. I certainly wasn't expecting it since the rest of it was so tame, so fairy-tale l ...more
Rachel (BAVR)
3.5 stars

The angst! There is so much angst!

[image error]
GIFSoup
Quick! Pound your head against the nearest wall so you're up with the latest trend.

My second endeavor into Gaelen Foley's delightful world of romance, intrigue, murder and mayhem was a crazy good time. Princess is full to the hilt with sometimes insane plot devices that keep the story rolling on and on (and on and on and on and on) like the freaking Energizer Bunny. It opens with the heroine, Princess Serafina of the fictional islan
...more
Quinn
Jul 13, 2010 Quinn rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: library-book
In the interests of full disclosure, I haven't read the first book in this series. That said, I don't think it mattered, because as I understand it, this one is set 20 years after the first one. So I don't believe that impacted my enjoyment of, or rating for, this one, and I never felt lost or confused.

I've been really looking forward to reading this author for literally years. Unfortunately, I was a little disappointed. I expected more given this author's profile, but I didn't find this to be a
...more
Beth
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Vashti
Sep 22, 2011 Vashti rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: fans of galen foley,historical romance lovers,tortured heros ,
This is the 2nd book in Galen Foley's Ascension Trilogy and it was wonderful,so romantic.Parts of this book was so heartbreaking that you felt the torment of the characters.Ms Foley's heros are of the tormented and tortured variety and I like that,makes for a good read.All I can say is WOW!,will be reading more from this author .The ending was so beautiful and can truly say that this couple really deserved their HEA.
Lady Darcie Guenon
Sep 10, 2008 Lady Darcie Guenon rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: romance lovers
Recommended to Lady Darcie by: myself
My favorite out of this trilogy, it was so cute and romantic. it just makes your heart melt
Joy
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Oleta Blaylock
Jun 02, 2014 Oleta Blaylock rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I read this story a number of years ago and I had forgotten how heart wrenching the last third of the story is. Darius Santiago is one of the most tortured heroes I have read about. He is so full of hate and anger which is mostly directed at him. He has been told most of his young life that he is worthless and he has come to believe that. He has work tirelessly to build himself into a better person. Someone others would be able to love and care about. While there are a number of people that do l ...more
Shh I'm reading!
Aug 05, 2011 Shh I'm reading! rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: romance, historical
My first foray into romance, so I'll admit to be biased, but I absolutely loved this book! Intrigue, passion, and all consuming love that heals- be still my tortured teenage heart. It's been years since I've read it, and it may be time for a reread just to see if Santiago and his princesa still warm my heart.
Elizabeth (Liz)
Believe this could easily be my favorite book by Gaelen Foley! It's magical:)
Shawna
Nov 17, 2011 Shawna rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: historicals
I absolutely LOVE Gaelen Foley. I can't get enough of anything she writes.
Bushra
Jun 22, 2011 Bushra rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Great book!
Allison
Feb 12, 2010 Allison rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I LOVED, LOVED this book! It is one of my top three, for sure. I didn't read the first in the series. I am definitely going to read the third, though.
Lucie "a heart so wild"
Good very romantic, my first experience to read with 'bodyguard' theme. Excellent. Great chemistry with great tensions before the love-scene. Gaelen Foley is a great romance writer!
Madaii Rivera
Jun 29, 2014 Madaii Rivera rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Ay Darius!!!!
Fee♥
Mar 05, 2009 Fee♥ rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
i love this book it has a mixture of love and hate
Maggie
Princess is the second in Gaelen Foley's Ascension trilogy. I loved The Pirate Prince. Foley's books are what I call "classic, traditional" romance novels. Straight out the '70s (even though they were written near the end of the 90s). Rife with words like "manhood" and "woman's flesh." Things that make me simultaneously cringe and laugh. In The Pirates Prince, I could overlook it, because the story was so good. In Princess, I couldn't do the same. There was a teaser for Princess at the end of Th ...more
RamenGrrl
Jun 10, 2014 RamenGrrl rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Angsty hero. Check.
Unbelievably beautiful, spoiled heroine with heart of gold. Check.
"I've loved you forever" trope. Check.

In spite of (or maybe because of) these things, I still found myself fully engrossed in the story. I enjoyed the evolution of their relationship.

What kept this from being 5 stars was really the portrayal of Serafina's parents, for whom I felt a great affection after reading the first book of this trilogy. I realize it's hard to maintain the fully fleshed out characters of on
...more
Addicted2Luv
Jul 21, 2008 Addicted2Luv rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Loved the book. Gorgeous hero and heroine, hot lovin'. The side story/mystery was even exciting.
Tasha
Jun 04, 2009 Tasha rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: romance, historical
Okay, I just have one thing to say about this book: the breast suckling scene. Wow and wtf?
Annette Meier
Nov 22, 2013 Annette Meier rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Very tantalizing and adventurous story!
Solange Henry
Aug 23, 2013 Solange Henry rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
same thing with the 2 nd book
Jenny
Jan 10, 2016 Jenny rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Lame, this book wasn't absolutely horrendous. It was just a weak lame noodle.
Jenn
This is just what the doctor ordered for my book blahness lately. This was the perfect historical romance with just the right amount of adventure and romance.
Julianna
Apr 08, 2016 Julianna rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Fans of Steamy Historical Romance; Tortured Heroes
Reviewed for THC Reviews
There are a few of my favorite authors who’ve not yet failed me once (meaning I’ve not yet rated any of their books below four stars and the majority of them were keepers). Gaelen Foley is one of them, and Princess just became the latest book I’ve read by her that has earned keeper status from me. It was an incredible read full of adventure, passion, and romance. I’m always up for a tortured bad boy hero, and Darius is definitely one of those. His torment runs deep and th
...more
Marie
Buku 2 dari Trilogy Ascencion
Cukup 3 bintang saja, karena membaca buku ini membuat aku capek hati akan karakter Darius yang tidak berketetapan hati akan perasaannya terhadap Serafina. Dan tidak seperti buku pertamanya yang banyak menggambarkan sisi petualangannya, buku kedua ini penuh dengan intrik, ekspansi, tokoh tokoh yang kuat dan berkuasa.

Kisah dimulai dari usaha penculikan trrhadap putri Serafina, permata kerajan Ascencion oleh pihak Perancis dalam usaha menguasai armada laut kerajaan Asce
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
  • Married to the Viscount (Swanlea Spinsters, #5)
  • Fairest of Them All
  • The Prince Kidnaps a Bride (Lost Princesses, #3)
  • Give Me Tonight
  • The Naked Marquis (Naked Nobility, #3)
  • The Devil's Waltz
  • The Beautiful Stranger (Rogues of Regent Street, #3)
  • Scandal of the Season (The Spinster Club, #4)
  • An Unexpected Gentleman
  • Breathless
  • Revealed (The Blue Raven, #1)
  • The Swan Maiden (Celtic Nights, #2)
  • A London Season (Regency Duo, #1)
  • Texas Glory (Leigh Brothers Texas Trilogy, #2)
  • Delicious
83086
Gaelen Foley is the New York Times, USA Today, and Publisher's Weekly bestselling author of twenty historical romances set in the glittering world of Regency England. Her books are available in sixteen languages and have won numerous genre awards, such as the Bookseller's Best, the NJRW Golden Leaf (three times), the CRW Award of Excellence, the National Reader's Choice Award, the Beacon, and the ...more
More about Gaelen Foley...

Other Books in the Series

Ascension Trilogy (3 books)
  • The Pirate Prince (Ascension Trilogy #1)
  • Prince Charming (Ascension Trilogy #3)

Share This Book



No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »

“You saved me again," she told him with a starstruck gaze.

He cupped her cheek and gave her a tender smile in the dark. "Because you are my princess and I am your knight.”
33 likes
More quotes…