Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Darwin's Nightmare” as Want to Read:
Darwin's Nightmare
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Darwin's Nightmare (Wilson Mystery #1)

3.65  ·  Rating Details  ·  31 Ratings  ·  9 Reviews
Wilson has spent his entire life under the radar. Few people know who he is and even less know how to find him. Only two people even know his real occupation, carrying out confidentialand illegaljobs for a very bad man. But one day he crosses the line, saving his friends and earning the hatred of a vengeful mob boss. He survives only by delving even deeper into the underwo ...more
ebook, 183 pages
Published October 1st 2008 by ECW Press (first published January 1st 2008)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Darwin's Nightmare, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Darwin's Nightmare

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 72)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Lukasz Pruski
The term “action novel” does not seem to be widely used, anyway not as widely as “action movie”. Mike Knowles’ “Darwin’s Nightmare” is almost a clinically pure action novel, which means that virtually the entire text describes action - beating people up, getting beaten up, killing other people in order not to get killed by them, and performing various evasive maneuvers. There is virtually nothing else in the book; no characterizations and no psychological or sociological observations. This may s ...more
Philip
Jul 09, 2014 Philip rated it it was ok
OK BUT? I've had this book sitting around for a while as I chose it in my quest to read crime novels by Canadian authors and with the bonus of the Hamilton setting I really wanted to like it but I've been reluctant to start it as, after reading the synopsis, I had doubts about liking it. Now I think those doubts have been realized. Actually I think the book is quite well written, the story moves along quickly and smoothly and there is enough back story provided to describe and explain Wilson wit ...more
Tim Niland
Dec 25, 2012 Tim Niland rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2012-reads
When I read the jacket for Knowles' most recent book where a reviewer compared his writing to Richard Stark and Andrew Vachss, two of my favorite writers, I was very excited. So I went back to the beginning of the series with this, the first novel in the series, about the enigmatic loner and reluctant mob enforcer Wilson. Fans of Stark's Parker or Vachss' Burke series will feel right at home here as the hard boiled noir and clipped dialogue were a joy to read. Wilson is dispatched to the airport ...more
Corey
Aug 07, 2009 Corey rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
As the pages flip by, and bones break, and tendons rupture, and blood spurts, and bullets pierce flesh, the crunchy dialogue and pungent narrative drives Darwin’s Nightmare to new heights of hard-bitten cynicism. Knowles’ world is one unrelieved by humour or compassion. Wilson is a monster, but he has become one to survive the other, far worse monsters that populate his world. This is kill or be killed, Darwin’s theory put into brutal practice.

Such tales of unrelieved pessimism can easily wear o
...more
Dave
Jan 23, 2015 Dave rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
It was ok. Kept my attention right the way through. Unlikeable characters who blaze away at each other without a cop in sight. May be worth reading another of Mr Knowles books
Freda Labianca
Jan 29, 2010 Freda Labianca rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Not only is the author from the city I come from, but the story is also. It was fantastic reading a book, and knowing the neighborhoods being discussed. That was a first for me.
I loved the characters in this book! I was anxious to keep reading until the end. I just couldn't put the book down! That good!!!
If you love a scary story with action, and some graphic parts, then grab a copy! I am definitely putting this on my annual recommendation list!
Simon
Apr 22, 2011 Simon rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
A pretty good crime thriller, although the hero is a little too cool for school. My only complaint is that the story's hero is a little cold blooded, especially with the high body count.
John Paterson
Dec 24, 2013 John Paterson rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: canada
A violent and fast-paced novel about organized crime, set in Hamilton, Ontario. Must read other books by Mike Knowles.
Frances
Jun 26, 2013 Frances rated it liked it
A bit didactic at times, and not a particularly sympathetic protagonist, which made it a bit less exciting than it could have been. Still, solidly plotted, and decent pacing.
P
P rated it liked it
Jun 27, 2016
Alyssa Mcleod
Alyssa Mcleod marked it as to-read
May 25, 2016
Kathy
Kathy marked it as to-read
Feb 26, 2016
J
J marked it as to-read
Feb 13, 2016
Lori
Lori marked it as to-read
Jan 16, 2016
Emily
Emily rated it liked it
Aug 20, 2016
Olivia
Olivia marked it as to-read
Oct 28, 2015
Bo
Bo marked it as to-read
Jul 14, 2015
Jim Tobias
Jim Tobias marked it as to-read
Jun 29, 2015
Vesra (When She Reads)
Vesra (When She Reads) marked it as to-read
May 16, 2015
Tanis
Tanis rated it really liked it
Jun 19, 2015
Terri Wino
Terri Wino rated it liked it
Feb 25, 2015
Geoff
Geoff marked it as to-read
Feb 07, 2015
Nancy Yob
Nancy Yob marked it as to-read
Feb 04, 2015
Ian
Ian marked it as to-read
Dec 30, 2014
Katie
Katie marked it as to-read
Dec 30, 2014
Paul Shelestowsky
Paul Shelestowsky marked it as to-read
Dec 29, 2014
Brian Herring
Brian Herring rated it really liked it
Dec 15, 2014
Joan Fisher
Joan Fisher marked it as to-read
Dec 15, 2014
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Other Books in the Series

Wilson Mystery (4 books)
  • Grinder
  • In Plain Sight
  • Never Play Another Man's Game

Share This Book