Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Genesis Plague” as Want to Read:
The Genesis Plague
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Genesis Plague

3.61  ·  Rating Details  ·  301 Ratings  ·  28 Reviews
MESOPOTAMIA, 4004BC: THE DAWN OF CIVILISATION

An exotic stranger appears in a Mesopotamian village. Mesmerising in her beauty and command, she is venerated as a goddess, until she unleashes a horror beyond anything humankind has ever known.

IRAQ, PRESENT DAY: THE SUNSET OF CIVILISATION

A mercenary unit in northern Iraq, led by Sergeant Jason Yaeger, has trapped radical Islam'
...more
Paperback, 421 pages
Published May 27th 2010 by Simon & Schuster Ltd (first published May 8th 2010)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Genesis Plague, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Genesis Plague

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 991)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Christopher Gordon
Apr 27, 2011 Christopher Gordon rated it it was ok
Not yet finished this book so my review may change. However, so far it comes across as the script of a big dumb Hollywood action movie. And as a movie I would think fine I'll switch off my brain and enjoy the ride. But this is not a movie, it's a book. And as such I expect a little more from the story telling.

I don't mind that minor characters are a bit sketchy, cliched or stereotypical but I do expect the main protagonist and antagonist to have something compelling about them. Unfortunately th
...more
Kate
Jan 13, 2012 Kate rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: thriller, fiction
This book is easy to read, and you will read it really fast. But afterwards it doesn't leave any mark of reflection.
The characters are clear, there are only good or bad guys. There is a woman and predictable "falling in love", at least author speared the soup-opera part with hero fighting to save his beloved woman.
Author keeps his book in the mood of "24 hours". Short period of time, jumping between the action places speeds up its action.

Generally book was ok. But I might not read his next boo
...more
The Cats Mother
Predictable thriller about a team of elite US mercenaries in Iraq who discover an ancient cave and a sinister plot to use an ancient plague to wipe out the middle-eastern population. I cannot understand how it made number 17 in last years Whitcoulls (NZ) Top 100 - it was OK but I had such high hopes that I feel very let down by a fairly average story.
Troels
Mar 19, 2012 Troels rated it liked it
Typical fast paced adventure, thriller, action book, with a twist of history added in the mix. Well written and easy to read. Recommended for long flights and vacations on the beach were a easy page turned is more recommended.
Ashish Jaituni
A good read! No where close to the best in the genre but still it is good for a read!
Angie
Aug 25, 2011 Angie rated it it was ok
Holiday reading only!!! Bit ashamed to admit to this one.
Sambasivan
Dec 23, 2015 Sambasivan rated it really liked it
Read a fiction similar to that of the lost symbol after a long time. The author did not disappoint. Fertile imagination and a credible plot.
Abbie Ennis
Mar 24, 2013 Abbie Ennis rated it really liked it
Mr Byrnes you have done it again.

In his third novel 'The Genesis Plague' Mr Byrnes delves into the world of deamons and serpents and the root of evil and how evil can spread through one amn into destroying a nation of people.

One academic is the only member left alive from a team who went to Iraq and explored a cave and is now a target for something that is being released onto a large population with a fatal intention... no survivors.

Through his raw writing and strong characters, Mr Byrnes portra
...more
Bill Meehan
Not bad, kept me turning the pages.
Recommended as a quick enjoyable read.
Ard
May 30, 2011 Ard rated it really liked it
Shelves: fiction, thriller
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It's an exciting action story blended in with a mystery from the dawn of history. Although it will probably be compared to the books of Dan Brown, this book deserves more credit. It's well written, easy to read, pretty well researched and reads like it could easily become a pretty awesome movie. Although rather a book to bring to the beach than aspiring to the literary shelve, this was definitely good fun.
Crystal
Jan 25, 2014 Crystal rated it really liked it
3.5 -4 stars.
Anandh Sundar
Mar 25, 2011 Anandh Sundar rated it really liked it
At first glance, this book seems a poor James Rollins ripoff with the same theme of 'world threatening' events in exotic places. It also feeds into the present Biblical frenzy(exposing some deep cover up within the Bible). But the book's plot is tightly and well written. The novel method of world threat(sorry no spoilers read the book for that) is alone enough to justify a buy
Beth Riches
Feb 20, 2016 Beth Riches rated it liked it
I would prefer to give this three and a half stars.

Very enjoyable thriller, with elements of religion, history, and microbiology. I could find nothing majorly wrong with the microbiology/infectious disease portion of the book (something that can really spoil a book for me), and I found the writing very good, and the action gripping. Recommended!
Adrian Anderson
Mar 27, 2011 Adrian Anderson rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: crap
Long, drawn out, and somewhat convoluted. For some reason the book failed to captivate me. I disliked his usage of expletives TOTALLY without need and some pretty crass too. Radical Islam, constant swearing, biblical references, militant, the gang rape mentioned at the beginning of the book...might probably stem from the mind of a redneck hick...
Nurture Waratah
This was an excellent novel, though it could have been better. I am the kind of person who likes a graphic description of the gradual progress of the plague. Unfortunately, this really doesn't concentrate on the plague very much. It is more about the politics of crating a new armageddon. Not what I expected, but still a good read.
Helen Aistrop
Feb 05, 2012 Helen Aistrop rated it really liked it
I really enjoyed reading the book but felt you couldn't properly connect with the main character. A bit more background into the characters would have been great especially Jason. It hinted he was after revenge constant but no explanation why he had a heart at the end so as not to exterminate a nation? xxx
Lizzie
Jul 17, 2011 Lizzie rated it did not like it
This was a great idea for a book but I really didn't like it very much. It didn't really keep my interest and I kept putting it down. I have completion issues, so I did finish it but there are a few hours I can't get back. Probably would make a great movie.
Pooja Naidu
Oct 10, 2014 Pooja Naidu rated it really liked it
Shelves: favorites
Wish there was more supernatural element than a mere subject of war and archaeology. But not all books in this genre would draw a reader more rooted in fantasy. Almost till the end, it was nail biting when it was hardly the genre i like.
Stone
Mar 25, 2011 Stone rated it it was ok
Poorly written, with some of the flattest and greyest characters I've come across in I-don't-know-how-long. After having just finished Dan Simmons' "Drood", which is luminous by comparison, "The Genesis Plague" was painful.
Aritra Sen
Jul 27, 2013 Aritra Sen rated it liked it
Its amazing what Dan Brown did to authors! Bringing symbology and old artefacts into picture does give an interesting touch. This one belongs to that category. Only the limits are not pushed to that extent. Its a nice light read!
Ken Rowe
Sep 09, 2011 Ken Rowe rated it did not like it
I was done with it after 50 pages. This is the second Byrnes book I have read and abandoned. I don't know why I bother with this author. Extremely simplistic - if you enjoy children's comics you will probably love this.
Karen
Jul 24, 2010 Karen rated it liked it
Lots of action ans a fairly plausible plot. I can quite believe that one group of fanatics would look for a way to use a plague to wipe out those they consider to be their enemies.
Trine
Thought-provoking mix of archaeology, history, religion and science, likely to appeal to readers of Steve Berry and James Rollins. Great read!

Ineke
Nov 21, 2013 Ineke rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: archeo-thriller
Heerlijk boek om te lezen. Er zit veel vaart in en het thema van het boek vond ik erg interessant.
Henrik Löfqvist
Jul 28, 2013 Henrik Löfqvist rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Very enjoyable and compelling, like Byrnes' two previous titles. Perfect for reading on your vacation!
Martijn Onderwater
Hmm, I think I am getting tired of these bog standard books. It is just not special ...
Linda
Aug 10, 2012 Linda rated it it was amazing
Michael Byrnes never disappoints and The Genesis Plague is no exception.
Amy
Oct 15, 2012 Amy rated it it was ok
Matthew Reilly does this style of book better.
Efwolf
Efwolf marked it as to-read
May 26, 2016
Deborah Hutmacher
Deborah Hutmacher rated it did not like it
May 25, 2016
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 33 34 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Newton's Fire
  • The Genesis Key
  • The Babylonian Codex
  • The Nosferatu Scroll (Chris Bronson, #4)
  • Treasure of Eden (Eden Thrillers #3)
  • Bible of the Dead
  • Red Templar (Templar, #6)
  • On the Fifth Day (Thomas Knight, #1)
  • The Illumination
  • The Lazarus Vault
  • Pyramid
  • The Atlantis Revelation (Conrad Yeats Adventure, #3)
  • The Bonaparte Secret (Lang Reilly #5)
  • Equinox
  • The Thirteenth Apostle
  • The Geneva Deception (Tom Kirk, #4)
  • The Mask Of Troy (Jack Howard, #5)
  • The Medusa Amulet

Share This Book